Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Pennsylvania

York Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedYork, PA

Opened 1968.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size603,435 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability14.2 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile3 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Place
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 14.2 epa-walkability · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “York Mall” and “York” (3 hits, first 3 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (strong)CBL & ASSOCIATES PROPERTIES INC (CBL)12009-11-05 to 2009-11-058-K 1
Public owner (weak)GENERAL GROWTH PROPERTIES INC12001-03-19 to 2001-03-1910-K 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail station; 1 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km19, 19A, 19B, junctionOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m12: ADVANCE AUTO PARTS #5823; EAST YORK APARTMENTS; GLIDDEN CO DBA ICI PAINTS; HECHINGER 30; HOME DEPOT STORE 4125EPA FRS
Census tract 421330102103,385 people, 1,635 per sq mi; median household income $77,838; median gross rent $1,162; 33% renters; 3.2% vacant units; 0.8% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 14.2 of 20; 48 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 437 m; land-use mix 0.87; 61,175 jobs within 45 min by car, 26,349 by transit; 13% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, York County (PA), 2024338 units in 5+ unit buildings, 45 in 2–4, 952 single-family; 2023: 146 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.33; socioeconomic 0.22; housing and transport 0.33; 17% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby2 within 10 km, 2 within 25 km: Briarwood Golf Club (5.0 km); West Manchester Mall (8.5 km)computed
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 32,984 m², 7.7564568519592285 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Tract change 2013–2023population +1% (3,343 → 3,385); median income +24% ($63,015 → $77,838); renters 22% → 33%; median home value +42% ($151,200 → $214,200)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 55.1); expected annual loss $1.8M; high: inland flooding, winter weather; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)20,035 jobs in 1,115 establishments; average annual pay $35,515; employment location quotient 1.11; employment +0.3% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20228,530 jobs; 2,160 in retail trade, 834 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 42133010210)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 42th income percentile as adults; 6.3% incarcerated at the 2010 count (148 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 8% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 9.9%; median family income $67,167; 99 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsYork Suburban School District (KG-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: York Suburban MS; Yorkshire El SchNCES EDGE
Elevation424 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025285 county-logged events: 211 thunderstorm wind, 37 flash flood, 28 hail, 5 tornado; $6,657,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 17402, 2026-09median list price $385,675 (-5.6% on the year); 35 active listings; median 39 days on market; 11% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20231,183 establishments (-8%); 23,030 jobs (+6%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $309,136 (+3% 1 yr, +33% 5 yr); typical rent $1,380/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025370 (2000 = 100); -7.4% 1 yr, +34% 5 yr, +71% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)18,765 vehicles a day on MARKET ST (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 617 trucks; 33 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

York Mall opened in 1968 as a regional mall. It operated until it closed, with no further events recorded in the source. The site is currently listed as closed.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall is closed; ownership and controlling entity are not specified in the record.

For a planner

  • Large site size (603,435 sq ft GLA) offers potential for adaptive reuse or redevelopment.
  • County population grew 3.4% from 2018‑2023, indicating regional growth pressure.
  • Current status is 'closed' with only a single source and draft verification, requiring further data on ownership, zoning, and environmental conditions.
  • Open questions include the cause of closure, any existing entitlements, and suitable reuse options given local market trends.

For a developer

  • Site area: approximately 603,435 sq ft GLA (large footprint).
  • Control/ownership unknown from the record; due diligence needed to identify title holder.
  • Entitlement stage not documented; verify zoning, land‑use approvals, and any pending permits.
  • Context layers (flood, transit, environment) are not provided; assess these through external surveys.
  • Market signal: York County grew 3.4% 2018‑2023, suggesting modest demand for new development.

What we do not know yet

  • Ownership and controlling entity are not stated in the record.
  • Reason for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) is not documented.
  • Environmental constraints, flood risk, transit access, and zoning designations are unknown.
  • The record is marked 'draft' with only one source, indicating thin data quality.
  • Any existing deeds, liens, or encumbrances are not captured.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Mall 205, Portland, OR · Malls · similar GLA (477,000 sq ft); opened 1970
  • West Manchester Mall, York County, PA · Malls · similar GLA (702,000 sq ft); also in PA; 9 km away
  • Greeley Mall, Greeley, CO · Malls · similar GLA (577,200 sq ft); opened 1973
  • Washington Square Mall, Evansville, IN · Malls · similar GLA (550,000 sq ft); opened 1963

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: York Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • 603,435 sq ft GLA (large site)
  • county grew 3.4% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1968Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area603,435 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak18Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsBurlington Coat Factory, Wal-Mart, Sam's Club
AddressE. Market St. & Northern Way
CountyYork
Census division2 · Mid-Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1968 Opened

Sources

More in Pennsylvania