Malls · Pennsylvania
North Hanover Mall
North Hanover Mall opened 1967 anchored by Rural King; its later status, ownership, and condition are unknown in the record. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Attention rising (Wikipedia views +50% y/y)
This site: 3,983 views, +75% wikimedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/295044200690945 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.northhanovermall.com/ overture / http check · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 59% census-acs · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +65% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 17.7 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “North Hanover Mall” and “Hanover” (121 hits, first 100 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | PENNSYLVANIA REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT TRUST | 92 | 2003-05-22 to 2017-02-28 | 8-K 60, 10-Q 16, 10-K 13, 8-K/A 2 |
| Public owner (strong) | CROWN AMERICAN REALTY TRUST | 4 | 2001-02-14 to 2003-05-15 | 8-K 2, 10-Q 1, 10-K 1 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Pennsylvania Real Estate Investment Trust 10-K, 2010-03-16 | North Hanover Mall Hanover, PA match: exact | 356,491 in-line 356,491 | 89.6% occupied | built 1967 / renovated 1999 | 100.0% | Dick’s Sporting Goods JCPenney Sears |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 14: 100 EISENHOWER DRIVE; ADVANCE AUTO PARTS #1267; BUBB INC DBA SIR SPEEDING PRINTING; CALLEN TIRE; CHAMPION CHEVROLET-GEO INCEPA FRS |
| Census tract 42133022300 | 4,232 people, 4,839 per sq mi; median household income $70,509; median gross rent $1,106; 59% renters; 6.0% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 17.7 of 20; 122 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 123 m; land-use mix 0.84; 22,233 jobs within 45 min by car, 3,204 by transit; 13% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 0 schools, 4 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 0 civic, 26 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 124 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, York County (PA), 2024 | 338 units in 5+ unit buildings, 45 in 2–4, 952 single-family; 2023: 146 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.60; socioeconomic 0.69; housing and transport 0.38; 23% below 150% of poverty; 10% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place North Hanover Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 1.00, from Overture, meta); building footprint 42,234 m², 6.262828826904297 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.northhanovermall.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 30,109 since 2015; 3,983 in the last 12 months (+75% vs the prior 12); peak 2025-11 with 1,056Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +14% (3,705 → 4,232); median income +65% ($42,667 → $70,509); renters 47% → 59%; median home value +15% ($146,600 → $168,800)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 39.7); expected annual loss $957,219; high: winter weather; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 20,035 jobs in 1,115 establishments; average annual pay $35,515; employment location quotient 1.11; employment +0.3% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 3,568 jobs; 535 in retail trade, 373 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 42133022300)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 42th income percentile as adults; 3.4% incarcerated at the 2010 count (339 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 11.7%; median family income $57,833; 251 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Hanover Public School District (KG-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Clearview El SchNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 563 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 285 county-logged events: 211 thunderstorm wind, 37 flash flood, 28 hail, 5 tornado; $6,657,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 17331, 2026-09 | median list price $359,975 (+4.0% on the year); 144 active listings; median 39 days on market; 19% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,183 establishments (-8%); 23,030 jobs (+6%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $309,136 (+3% 1 yr, +33% 5 yr); typical rent $1,380/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 277 (2000 = 100); +1.5% 1 yr, +58% 5 yr, +80% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 21,972 vehicles a day on CARLISLE ST (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 2,499 trucks; 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
North Hanover Mall opened in 1967 and was anchored by Rural King. The record provides no further events after opening, and the mall's current status is listed as unknown.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The mall's current status is unknown and no owner or controlling entity is indicated in the record.
For a planner
- Limited historical data prevents assessment of past policy interventions or redevelopment attempts.
- Opportunity score is based solely on county population growth (3.4% 2018‑23), suggesting a potential market signal.
- Open questions include the mall’s closure timeline, ownership changes, and any zoning or incentives that may apply.
For a developer
- Site size, parcel boundaries, and current ownership are not specified in the record.
- Entitlement stage, existing approvals, or pending applications are unknown.
- Context layers such as flood risk, transit access, and environmental constraints are not provided.
- Market signals beyond the county‑wide growth figure are absent, limiting demand assessment.
What we do not know yet
- Current status (open, closed, demolished) is unknown.
- Ownership and controlling entity are not documented.
- Timeline of anchor tenant changes, closure date, or redevelopment attempts is missing.
- Site‑specific data on size, parcels, zoning, floodplain, transit proximity, and environmental conditions are absent.
- The opportunity score relies on a single model‑extracted factor (county growth) without verification.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- York Mall, York, PA · Malls · opened 1968; also in PA; 32 km away
- Harrisburg Mall, Swatara Township, PA · Malls · opened 1969; also in PA
- Neshaminy Mall, Bensalem Township, PA · Malls · opened 1968; also in PA
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- North Hanover Mall Hanover, PA April 2018 (40462145970) commons.wikimedia.org
- North Hanover Mall - Mason Asset Management masonam.com
- North Hanover Mall | Hanover, PA. April 2022. --------------… … flickr.com
- A Visit to North Hanover Mall youtube.com
- North Hanover Mall (Hanover, PA) : r/… reddit.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county grew 3.4% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1967Wikidata |
|---|---|
| County | York County |
| Census division | 2 · Mid-Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
North Hanover Mall was a shopping mall in Hanover, Pennsylvania. It was anchored by Rural King.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1967 Opened (Wikidata)
Sources
- Wikipedia: North Hanover Mall · 2026-04-20 · CC BY-SA 4.0
More in Pennsylvania
Exton Square MallExton, PA · 2020Partial Redeveloped · Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: healthcare, civic Partial redevelopment:…Granite Run MallMiddletown, PA · 2013Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: demalled plus residential
Station MallAltoona, PA · 2010Reinhabited · Reinhabitation, healthcare435 Devon Park Dr.Wayne, PA · 2024Regreening · Reinhabitation, under construction · 162 apartments across the existing two-story buildings. Three acres…Abbey Gardens office complexReading, PAReinhabitation, approved · 92 apartments, made up of 84 one-bed and eight two-bed flats