Malls · Tennessee
Three Star Mall
Opened 1981.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/172235769644661 overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://www.shopthreestarmall.com overture / http check · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +116% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 5: CNW212 MAGNESS DRIVE WASTE AREA; DEA CHATTANOOGA OFFICE; KROGER #0892-26; NEW CINGULAR WIRELESS PCS, LLC DBA AT&T MOBILITY; STATE INDUSTRIAL ACCESS SERVING MOTLOW ADVANCED ROBOTICS, PIEPA FRS |
| Census tract 47177930600 | 3,796 people, 247 per sq mi; median household income $51,129; median gross rent $736; 42% renters; 14.0% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 8.5 of 20; 12 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.82; 6,133 jobs within 45 min by car; 32% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Warren County (TN), 2024 | 12 units in 5+ unit buildings, 11 in 2–4, 259 single-family; 2023: 68 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.71; socioeconomic 0.72; housing and transport 0.77; 38% below 150% of poverty; 8% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Three Star Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 21,591 m², 6.091120719909668 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.shopthreestarmall.com (down or redirecting, status 0); archived 2007–2018 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +1% (3,745 → 3,796); median income +116% ($23,673 → $51,129); renters 38% → 42%; median home value +130% ($81,400 → $187,300)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 79.5); expected annual loss $1.7M; high: tornado, inland flooding, strong wind, winter weather, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 1,537 jobs in 147 establishments; average annual pay $33,232; employment location quotient 1.21; employment +0.5% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,104 jobs; 284 in retail trade, 44 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 47177930600)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 37th income percentile as adults; 6.8% incarcerated at the 2010 count (507 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 67% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 26.7%; median family income $40,889; 498 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Warren County School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 952 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 64 county-logged events: 49 thunderstorm wind, 9 hail, 3 tornado, 3 flash flood; $2,000,160 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 37110, 2026-09 | median list price $319,975 (+4.9% on the year); 170 active listings; median 66 days on market; 25% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 148 establishments (-5%); 1,591 jobs (-2%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $254,138 (+2% 1 yr, +27% 5 yr); typical rent $853/mo, 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2024 | 242 (2000 = 100), +50% 5 yr, +95% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 14,945 vehicles a day on 1 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 997 trucks; 16 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Three Star Mall opened in 1981 in McMinnville, Tennessee, operating as a regional mall with a peak of 17 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed.
Why. The record does not specify any reasons for the mall's closure, such as anchor store loss, competition, debt, or demolition.
Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed, but the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- No prior redevelopment precedents are mentioned in the record.
- No policy tools or incentives are documented for this site.
- Open questions include future land use, ownership, and potential zoning changes.
For a developer
- Site size is approximately 227,025 square feet of GLA.
- Current control and ownership are not specified in the record.
- Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are unknown.
- No context-layer data (flood, transit, environment) is provided in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
- Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
- Any existing zoning, land‑use, or entitlement status is missing.
- Environmental constraints, flood risk, and transit access are not documented.
- Market signals or tract‑level data are absent.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Columbia Mall, Columbia, TN · Malls · similar GLA (282,272 sq ft); opened 1981; also in TN
- Auburn Mall, Auburn, ME · Malls · similar GLA (297,915 sq ft); opened 1979
- Copper Country Mall, Houghton, MI · Malls · similar GLA (257,866 sq ft); opened 1981
- Hutchinson Mall, Hutchinson, MN · Malls · similar GLA (284,115 sq ft); opened 1981
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Three Star Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- THREE STAR MALL - Updated July 2026 - 10 Photos - 1410 … yelp.com
- Sky City: Retail History: Three Star Mall: McMinnville, TN skycity2.blogspot.com
- DEAD MALL: THREE STAR MALL - MCMINNVILLE, TN: A Wooden Wonderland youtube.com
- Three Star Mall : r/deadmalls reddit.com
- THREE STAR MALL - McMinnville TN - … loc8nearme.com
- Three Star Mall | LinkedIn linkedin.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1981Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 227,025 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 17Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Kroger, Roses |
| Address | Sparta Street & Hwy. 70 |
| County | Warren |
| Census division | 6 · East South Central |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1981 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Tennessee
100 Oaks MallNashville, TN · 2010Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: healthcareBellevue MallNashville, TN · 2015Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streetsEastgate MallChattanooga, TN · 2000Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: office
Hickory Hollow MallNashville, TNRedeveloped · Reinhabited · Reinhabitation, education and civic Redevelopment, recreation and…Hickory Ridge MallMemphis, TN · 2010Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: mixed use community centerPeabody Place MallMemphis, TN · 2017Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: office