Malls · Tennessee
Oak Ridge Mall
Oak Ridge Mall opened as a shopping center, later rebranded and converted to a mixed-use development, with current status unknown. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/103839513017098 overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://stores.gnc.com/tn/oak-ridge/5530 overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.81 cdc-svi · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $42,418 census-acs · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 76% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +129% fhfa · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +71% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikipedia reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Oak Ridge Mall” and “Oak Ridge” (54 hits, first 54 sampled, 4 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | CROWN AMERICAN REALTY TRUST | 32 | 2001-02-14 to 2003-11-07 | 10-Q 12, 8-K 12, 10-K/A 5, 10-K 3 |
| Public owner (strong) | PENNSYLVANIA REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT TRUST | 17 | 2003-05-22 to 2003-12-04 | 8-K 17 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 10: A-MARK 1 HR. DRY CLEANERS; CITY OF OAK RIDGE; CVS PHARMACY #3723; MAIN STREET APARTMENTS; O'REILLY AUTO PARTS STORE #931EPA FRS |
| Census tract 47001020100 | 3,172 people, 595 per sq mi; median household income $42,418; median gross rent $874; 76% renters; 18.2% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 8.7 of 20; 34 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.87; 39,890 jobs within 45 min by car; 14% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 3 schools, 21 parks or playgrounds, 5 health, 10 civic, 30 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 66 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Anderson County (TN), 2024 | 91 units in 5+ unit buildings, 30 in 2–4, 277 single-family; 2023: 127 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.81; socioeconomic 0.74; housing and transport 0.90; 32% below 150% of poverty; 13% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: TriCounty Mall (5.6 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place oak ridge mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.77, from Foursquare, Overture); building footprint 8,530 m², 5.194683074951172 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | stores.gnc.com (down or redirecting, status 404) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 8,469 since 2015; 990 in the last 12 months (+17% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-07 with 142Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +4% (3,055 → 3,172); median income +71% ($24,798 → $42,418); renters 77% → 76%; median home value +222% ($111,800 → $359,800)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 47.4); expected annual loss $1.1M; high: winter weather, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 56 units: Kareday Terrrace Apts (56 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 3,690 jobs in 245 establishments; average annual pay $39,869; employment location quotient 0.80; employment +0.3% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 3,546 jobs; 1,044 in retail trade, 1,010 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 47001020100)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 33th income percentile as adults; 3.0% incarcerated at the 2010 count (275 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 5% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 21.8%; median family income $48,973; 438 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Oak Ridge City School District (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: Oak Ridge High School; Woodland ElementaryNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 886 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 62 county-logged events: 37 thunderstorm wind, 14 hail, 8 flash flood, 3 flood; $604,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 37830, 2026-09 | median list price $399,500 (+4.7% on the year); 117 active listings; median 51 days on market; 24% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 266 establishments (+10%); 3,864 jobs (+7%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $313,013 (+3% 1 yr, +40% 5 yr); typical rent $1,621/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2024 | 380 (2000 = 100), +84% 5 yr, +129% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 24,626 vehicles a day on 95 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,258 trucks; 11 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Oak Ridge Mall was originally built as a large indoor shopping mall. It was later rebranded as Oak Ridge City Center and is now known as Main Street Oak Ridge, a mixed-use development.
Why. The record does not state any specific causes for the mall's decline or transformation.
Where it stands. The site's current status is listed as unknown in the draft record, and no owning entity or controlling party is identified.
For a planner
- - Precedent of mall-to-mixed-use conversion observed.
- - No policy tools or incentives are documented in the record.
- - Open questions include current ownership, zoning designation, and any entitlements in place.
- - Need to verify timeline and reasons for transition.
For a developer
- - Site size, ownership, and control are not specified in the record.
- - Entitlement stage and any approved development plans are absent from the record.
- - Context-layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) and market signals from tract data are not provided.
What we do not know yet
- - Exact opening date and original anchor tenants are missing.
- - Reasons for the mall's decline or conversion are not stated.
- - Current ownership, controlling entity, and any deed restrictions are unknown.
- - Site dimensions, parcel count, and zoning classification are not provided.
- - Floodplain, transit proximity, environmental constraints, and local market data are absent.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Sky City: Retail History: Oak Ridge Mall: Oak Ridge, TN skycity2.blogspot.com
- Oak Ridge Mall Tennessee fity.club
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county grew 3.2% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| County | Anderson County |
|---|---|
| Census division | 6 · East South Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Main Street Oak Ridge, formerly known as Oak Ridge City Center and Oak Ridge Mall, is a mixed-use development in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. It was formerly constructed as a large indoor shopping mall.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Sources
- Wikipedia: Oak Ridge Mall · 2026-08-09 · CC BY-SA 4.0
More in Tennessee
100 Oaks MallNashville, TN · 2010Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: healthcare
Bellevue MallNashville, TN · 2015Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streetsEastgate MallChattanooga, TN · 2000Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: office
Hickory Hollow MallNashville, TNRedeveloped · Reinhabited · Reinhabitation, education and civic Redevelopment, recreation and…
Hickory Ridge MallMemphis, TN · 2010Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: mixed use community centerPeabody Place MallMemphis, TN · 2017Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: office