Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Texas

River Drive Mall

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedLaredo, TX

River Drive Mall in Laredo, TX, is an outlet mall with over 50 stores; its status and ownership are unknown. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

River Drive Mall
Exterior view of a former shopping center with red buildings and palm trees under clear sky. · verified by a vision model. Photo: AMAPO, CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/1452361128412163 overture · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 34 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
FEMA special flood hazard areaThis site: AE fema-nfhl · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 5 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High heat wave riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 1.00 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $21,837 census-acs · all sites with this
National Register place within 500 mThis site: U.S. Inspection Station--Laredo, Texas nps-nrhp · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 82% census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -1.6% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 13.0 epa-walkability · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikipedia reported

Site context

FEMA flood zoneAE · special flood hazard areaFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m3: MARIA C LONGORIA; MARIO PENA; TEX CHEM CORPORATIONEPA FRS
Census tract 484790019002,669 people, 2,084 per sq mi; median household income $21,837; median gross rent $661; 82% renters; 26.4% vacant units; 0.8% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 13.0 of 20; 173 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.96; 27,693 jobs within 45 min by car; 70% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 5 grocers, 4 schools, 16 parks or playgrounds, 4 health, 5 civic, 24 food and drink; 34 cycleway segments, 279 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
National Register places within 500 m1: U.S. Inspection Station--Laredo, TexasNPS
Housing permits, Webb County (TX), 2024245 units in 5+ unit buildings, 49 in 2–4, 1,154 single-family; 2023: 406 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 1.00; socioeconomic 1.00; housing and transport 0.99; 62% below 150% of poverty; 33% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace River Drive Mall/ Rio Grande (river, confidence 0.97, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 3,153 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialno website listed · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views9,817 since 2015; 830 in the last 12 months (+5% vs the prior 12); peak 2017-12 with 322Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -21% (3,369 → 2,669); median income +54% ($14,211 → $21,837); renters 66% → 82%; median home value +4% ($72,100 → $74,800)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 48.3); expected annual loss $826,780; high: heat wave, cold wave; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 165 units: Hamilton (165 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)12,373 jobs in 762 establishments; average annual pay $33,973; employment location quotient 1.15; employment -1.1% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20229,119 jobs; 792 in retail trade, 367 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 48479001900)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 37th income percentile as adults; -0.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (976 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 81% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 41.6%; median family income $33,385; 451 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsLaredo Independent School District (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: BRUNI EL; MACDONELL ELNCES EDGE
Elevation398 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025131 county-logged events: 49 hail, 32 flash flood, 28 thunderstorm wind, 17 heavy rain; $22,757,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 78040, 2026-09median list price $149,250 (+0.4% on the year); 39 active listings; median 85 days on market; 7% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023761 establishments (-3%); 13,446 jobs (+6%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $215,260 (+2% 1 yr, +10% 5 yr); typical rent $1,129/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)3,824 vehicles a day (major collector, 2 lanes); 202 trucks; 15 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

The record describes River Drive Mall as the Outlet Shoppes at Laredo, an outlet mall in downtown Laredo, Texas, featuring over 50 name-brand stores. No opening date, closure, or further operational details are provided. The site's current status is listed as unknown.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall's status is unknown and no ownership or control information is provided in the record.

For a planner

  • No prior redevelopment precedents are mentioned in the record.
  • No policy tools or incentives are cited.
  • Open questions include current ownership, zoning designation, and potential future uses.

For a developer

  • Site size and parcel boundaries are not specified in the record.
  • Ownership and control entities are unidentified, leaving control status unclear.
  • Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are not documented.
  • No context‑layer data (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) or tract‑level market signals are provided.

What we do not know yet

  • Opening date and original developer are missing.
  • Anchor tenant list and any subsequent losses are not recorded.
  • Current ownership, management, or controlling party is unknown.
  • Physical site dimensions, parcel count, and layout details are absent.
  • Environmental, flood‑plain, transit, and zoning constraints are not provided.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: River Drive Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

History and original facts

CountyWebb County
Census division7 · West South Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

The Outlet Shoppes at Laredo is an outlet mall in downtown Laredo, Texas, featuring over 50 name-brand stores.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Sources

More in Texas