Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Virginia

Staunton Mall

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedStaunton, VA

Staunton Mall opened 1968, closed 2020, demolished 2023 except Belk anchor; current status unknown, ownership unspecified for future reuse planning · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Staunton Mall
Staunton Mall. Photo: Mike Kalasnik, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …http://ntelos.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -22% census-cbp · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: 262 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikidata reported

Site context

FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m5: GREENVILLE AVENUE EXXON; MCDONOUGH DODGE; OBAUGH FORD INC; STAUNTON MALL DEMOLITION PLAN; TRACTOR SUPPLY #391EPA FRS
Census tract 510150709005,491 people, 99 per sq mi; median household income $66,213; median gross rent $1,098; 31% renters; 1.6% vacant units; 0.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 7.2 of 20; 18 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.79; 13,090 jobs within 45 min by car; 32% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)5 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 1 schools, 1 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 2 civic, 3 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 0 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Augusta County (VA), 202450 units in 5+ unit buildings, 7 in 2–4, 300 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.51; socioeconomic 0.35; housing and transport 0.83; 21% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby0 within 10 km, 2 within 25 kmcomputed
Overture Mapsplace Staunton Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Foursquare, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 5,047 m², 6.80462121963501 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialntelos.com (down or redirecting, status 0); archived 2000–2017 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views32,836 since 2015; 3,127 in the last 12 months (+1% vs the prior 12); peak 2022-02 with 1,073Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +16% (4,725 → 5,491); median income +32% ($49,972 → $66,213); renters 30% → 30%; median home value +32% ($223,600 → $294,000)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 68.9); expected annual loss $1.5M; high: inland flooding, strong wind, winter weather, lightning; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)2,115 jobs in 168 establishments; average annual pay $47,074; employment location quotient 0.69; employment +0.5% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20222,142 jobs; 634 in retail trade, 239 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 51015070900)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 43th income percentile as adults; 4.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (376 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 65% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 11.1%; median family income $69,507; 256 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsAugusta County Public Schools (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE
Elevation1,531 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025286 county-logged events: 162 thunderstorm wind, 87 flood, 21 hail, 13 flash flood; $1,161,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 24401, 2026-09median list price $379,995 (-0.6% on the year); 178 active listings; median 40 days on market; 15% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023166 establishments (-22%); 2,128 jobs (+5%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $369,272 (+6% 1 yr, +25% 5 yr); typical rent $1,637/mo (-0% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025232 (2000 = 100); -3.0% 1 yr, +42% 5 yr, +59% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)16,763 vehicles a day on 262 (freeway or expressway, 4 lanes); 757 trucks; 27 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Staunton Mall opened in 1968 as Staunton Plaza and operated as a regional shopping center. It closed on December 24, 2020, and was demolished in 2023, with the Belk anchor store remaining open as a freestanding outlet.

Why. The record does not specify reasons for the closure or demolition.

Where it stands. The site’s current status is listed as unknown and no owner or controlling entity is provided in the record.

For a planner

  • County population grew 4.0% from 2018‑2023, indicating regional growth.
  • No policy tools or reuse plans are documented in the record.
  • Open questions include the cause of closure, future zoning, and potential adaptive reuse.

For a developer

  • Site size and parcel boundaries are not specified in the record.
  • Ownership and control are unknown; no deed or lease details are provided.
  • Entitlement stage, zoning, and any approved plans are not mentioned.
  • Context‑layer constraints (flood risk, transit access, environmental conditions) and tract‑level market data are absent.

What we do not know yet

  • Key facts missing: exact site acreage, parcel configuration, and current ownership.
  • Cause of closure and demolition is not stated in the record.
  • Zoning, entitlements, and any pending approvals are unknown.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, contamination) are not documented.
  • Transit proximity and access details are absent from the record.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • county grew 4.0% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1968Wikidata
CountyAugusta County
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Staunton Mall was a shopping mall in Staunton, Virginia, United States. Opened in 1968 as Staunton Plaza, it closed on December 24, 2020. and was demolished in 2023, except for the Belk anchor store, which remains open as a freestanding store.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1968 Opened (Wikidata)

Sources

More in Virginia