Retrofit Atlas

Malls · West Virginia

Middletown Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedFairmont, WV

Middletown Mall opened 1970 in Fairmont, WV; 471,000‑sf, 31 stores; now closed; no further details on cause, ownership, or dates. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/103144926413832 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …https://sites.google.com/site/middletownmall/ overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 41,000 on I 79 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: I 79 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.8% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km132, 133OpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m20: ADVANCE AUTO PARTS #6099; AMERICAN TRAILERS; BIOSCRIP INFUSION SERVICES LLC; C.W. STICKLEY INC.; DOLLAR GENERAL STORE #900EPA FRS
Census tract 540490212014,018 people, 456 per sq mi; median household income $94,063; median gross rent $1,037; 23% renters; 7.2% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Marion County (WV), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 6 single-family; 2023: 5 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.40; socioeconomic 0.23; housing and transport 0.65; 16% below 150% of poverty; 4% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Middletown Mall Shopping Center (shopping_mall, confidence 0.91, from Overture, meta); building footprint 43,415 m², 3.7532155513763428 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialsites.google.com (alive); archived 2007–2022 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 57.7); expected annual loss $1.7M; high: inland flooding; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)2,149 jobs in 202 establishments; average annual pay $37,910; employment location quotient 1.25; employment -0.4% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20221,875 jobs; 565 in retail trade, 245 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 54049021201)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 48th income percentile as adults; 0.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (337 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 68% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 8.2%; median family income $84,375; 174 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsMarion County School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: White Hall Elementary SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation1,129 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025158 county-logged events: 69 thunderstorm wind, 63 flash flood, 10 hail, 9 flood; $1,726,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 26554, 2026-09median list price $262,400 (+9.0% on the year); 81 active listings; median 51 days on market; 16% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023185 establishments (-3%); 2,166 jobs (-5%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $167,401 (+2% 1 yr, +18% 5 yr); typical rent $1,171/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2024222 (2000 = 100); +7.5% 1 yr, +44% 5 yr, +48% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)41,000 vehicles a day on I 79 (Interstate, 4 lanes); 5,067 trucks; 28 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Middletown Mall opened in 1970 in Fairmont, West Virginia. It operated as a regional mall with approximately 471,000 square feet of gross leasable area and 31 stores at its peak. The record shows the mall is now closed, with no further dates or events listed.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not specify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No documented precedents or reuse examples in the record.
  • No policy tools or incentives mentioned.
  • Open questions include the timeline of closure, reasons for decline, and current ownership.

For a developer

  • Site size: 471,000 sf GLA.
  • Control and ownership unknown per record.
  • No context-layer data (flood, transit, environment) or market signals provided in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Closure date unknown; only status 'closed' given.
  • Reason for closure not stated in record.
  • Current owner or controlling entity not identified.
  • No information on zoning, entitlements, or physical constraints (flood, transit, environment).

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Mountaineer Mall, Morgantown, WV · Malls · opened 1975; also in WV; 28 km away
  • Mall 205, Portland, OR · Malls · similar GLA (477,000 sq ft); opened 1970
  • New Harbour Mall, Fall River, MA · Malls · similar GLA (385,000 sq ft); opened 1971
  • Signal Hill Mall, Statesville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (357,900 sq ft); opened 1973

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Middletown Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1970Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area471,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak31Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsAce Hardware, Shop and Save, Save A Lot
AddressRts. 250 & 79
CountyMarion
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1970 Opened

Sources

More in West Virginia