Retrofit Atlas

Malls · West Virginia

Foxcroft Towne Center at Martinsburg

Imported, unreviewedPartial RedevelopedPartly retrofittedMartinsburg, WV

Opened 1991. Closed 2016. Partial Redeveloped.

Status nowPartly retrofittedextracted, unreviewed
documented
This was demolished, leaving The Bon-Ton, JCPenney, and Walmart.

en.wikipedia.org

What it becameretail, hotelextracted, unreviewed reported
Site size552,000 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Walkability8.7 of 20 · 15-minute 4 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNo · Opportunity ZoneOpenStreetMap, HUD
Claim this site Ask who owns this
More

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Foxcroft Towne Center at Martinsburg
Exterior view of a shopping center entrance with signage and landscaping. · verified by a vision model. Photo: Mike Kalasnik from Oakville, CT, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile14 elements · what this site is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/113001125421031 overture · all sites with this
Ownership
Public bodyThis site: Mountain State University county-parcels · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 70,500 on Interstate 81 NB fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Fast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)This site: 11% census-acs · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 5 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.83 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: Interstate 81 NB fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $47,670 census-acs · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 54003971700 hud-oz · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: The anchors are Walmart, Hobby Lobby, and Grand Home Furnishings. extraction · all sites with this
New use
HotelThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Retail (continued)This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusPartly retrofittedextracted, unreviewed
documented
This was demolished, leaving The Bon-Ton, JCPenney, and Walmart.

en.wikipedia.org

StrategyPartial Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed
documented
The property was redeveloped into an outdoor shopping center.

en.wikipedia.org

New usesretail, hotelextracted, unreviewed reported
What is there nowThe anchors are Walmart, Hobby Lobby, and Grand Home Furnishings.extracted, unreviewed
documented
The anchors are Walmart, Hobby Lobby, and Grand Home Furnishings.

en.wikipedia.org

DeveloperParamount Development Cooperationextracted, unreviewed

History and original facts

Now called / also known asMartinsburg Mall
Opened1991Esri 2014 layer
Closed2016extracted, unreviewed
documented
On September 7, 2016, owners announced that the interior portion of the mall would close on November 1, 2016.

en.wikipedia.org

Gross leasable area552,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak58Esri 2014 layer reported
Original developerCrown Americanextracted, unreviewed
documented
Martinsburg Mall was developed and owned by Crown American.

en.wikipedia.org

AnchorsJCPenney, Sears, Walmart, Hess's
AddressWest King St. & I-81 (Exits 12 & 13)
CountyBerkeley
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Planning

Entitlement year2012extracted, unreviewed

Deals and debt

DateEventPricePartiesSource
2013Sold—Paramount Development Cooperation ← Mountain State UniversityWikipedia
2010Sold—Mountain State University ← LightstoneWikipedia
2004Sold—Lightstone ← PREITWikipedia

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m14: CENTRAL PA EQUITIES 32, LLC; FOXCROFT TOWNE CENTER FITNESS CENTER; FOXCROFT TOWNE CENTER HOTEL TRU; GIANT FOOD STORE #6107; HOBBY LOBBYEPA FRS
Census tract 540039717006,281 people, 3,996 per sq mi; median household income $47,670; median gross rent $984; 40% renters; 9.6% vacant units; 0.9% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 8.7 of 20; 67 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.78; 20,695 jobs within 45 min by car; 13% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)4 of 6 daily needs: 5 grocers, 0 schools, 9 parks or playgrounds, 7 health, 0 civic, 33 food and drink; 4 cycleway segments, 0 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 54003971700 (rural)HUD
Housing permits, Berkeley County (WV), 202416 units in 5+ unit buildings, 11 in 2–4, 1,433 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.83; socioeconomic 0.91; housing and transport 0.85; 33% below 150% of poverty; 13% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Foxcroft Towne Center at Martinsburg (shopping_mall, confidence 0.93, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 19,183 m², 3.933042049407959 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialno website listed · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views24,754 since 2015; 2,645 in the last 12 months (+32% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-09 with 687Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +10% (5,705 → 6,281); median income +56% ($30,577 → $47,670); renters 55% → 40%; median home value +67% ($121,900 → $204,100)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 50.8); expected annual loss $1.3M; high: strong wind; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)4,667 jobs in 292 establishments; average annual pay $33,170; employment location quotient 1.22; employment +1.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20225,560 jobs; 1,365 in retail trade, 1,285 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 54003971700)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 35th income percentile as adults; 3.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (638 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 27.2%; median family income $45,861; 521 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsBerkeley County School District (PK-12); 5 public schools within 1 mile: Martinsburg South Middle School; Martinsburg High School; Rosemont Elementary School; Winchester Avenue Elementary SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation501 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025211 county-logged events: 99 thunderstorm wind, 77 flood, 27 hail, 5 flash flood; $478,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 25401, 2026-09median list price $291,200 (+2.5% on the year); 43 active listings; median 47 days on market; 16% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023244 establishments (-3%); 4,644 jobs (+15%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $321,823 (+4% 1 yr, +30% 5 yr); typical rent $1,757/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025278 (2000 = 100); -8.7% 1 yr, +50% 5 yr, +71% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)70,500 vehicles a day on Interstate 81 NB (Interstate, 6 lanes); 18,716 trucks; 14 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Opened in 1991 as a regional mall with anchors including Walmart, Hobby Lobby and Grand Home Furnishings, the site operated until 2008 when an $80.9 million debt default led to receivership. Ownership shifted to Mountain State University in 2010 and then to Paramount Development Cooperation in 2013; the interior was closed in November 2016 and the property has since been pursued for partial redevelopment into retail and hotel uses.

Why. The record shows a 2008 debt default and receivership as a primary financial stress, followed by successive ownership changes that preceded the 2016 interior closure. Specific anchor losses or competitive pressures are not stated in the record.

Where it stands. The site is currently in partial redevelopment status, controlled by Paramount Development Cooperation since its 2013 purchase.

For a planner

  • City approved a redevelopment plan for the former Sears in 2012 (entitlement_year).
  • The strategy is listed as redevelop with intended new uses of retail and hotel.
  • Open questions include the timing and scale of the hotel component and how remaining interior vacancy will be addressed.

For a developer

  • Site size: 552,000 sq ft GLA.
  • Control: Paramount Development Cooperation has owned the property since 2013.
  • Entitlement stage: city‑approved redevelopment plan (phase one) dating to 2012.
  • Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not stated in the record.
  • Market signals: large site, county grew 11.2% 2018‑23, but opp_score is 0.0 due to retrofit already built.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact post‑2016 anchor tenant changes and current vacancy levels are not detailed.
  • Floodplain, transit access, and environmental constraints are not mentioned in the record.
  • The verified field is 'draft', indicating the data may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.
  • Scope and timeline for the planned hotel use remain unspecified.
  • Ownership timeline after 2013 is clear, but any joint‑venture or financing arrangements are unknown.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Ballston Commons, Arlington, VA · Malls · similar GLA (580,000 sq ft); closed 2016; same strategy: redevelop
  • Fashion Mall, Plantation, FL · Malls · similar GLA (660,000 sq ft); opened 1988; same strategy: redevelop
  • Frederick Towne Mall, Frederick, MD · Malls · similar GLA (602,000 sq ft); closed 2013; same strategy: redevelop
  • Laurel Mall, Laurel, MD · Malls · similar GLA (663,289 sq ft); closed 2012; same strategy: redevelop

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Martinsburg Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • 552,000 sq ft GLA (large site)
  • county grew 11.2% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

Background

Foxcroft Towne Center at Martinsburg was a regional shopping mall in Martinsburg, West Virginia, situated off of Interstate 81 and Route 45. It was a retail hub for the eastern panhandle of West Virginia. The property was redeveloped into an outdoor shopping center.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1990 Construction began
  2. 1991 Opened (Wikidata)
  3. 1991 Mall opened
  4. 1995 Hess's converted to Bon-Ton
  5. 1998 Walmart expanded to Supercenter
  6. 2004 Lightstone purchased mall from PREIT
  7. 2008 Default on $80.9 million debt leading to receivership
  8. 2010 Mountain State University purchased the mall
  9. 2012 City approved redevelopment plan for former Sears (phase one)
  10. 2015 Name changed to Foxcroft Towne Center at Martinsburg
  11. 2016 Announced interior closure effective November 1, 2016

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Foxcroft Towne Center at Martinsburg · supports: after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
    15 quoted sentences
    On September 7, 2016, owners announced that the interior portion of the mall would close on November 1, 2016.
    Martinsburg Mall was developed and owned by Crown American.
    The anchors are Walmart, Hobby Lobby, and Grand Home Furnishings.
    This was demolished, leaving The Bon-Ton, JCPenney, and Walmart.
  • Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02

More in West Virginia