Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Ohio

Chapel Hill Mall

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedAkron, OH

Chapel Hill Mall opened 1967 with over 100 stores, anchors Sears, JCPenney, O'Neil's; later status and ownership details are unknown. · summary, model-written

Reach the owner Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Chapel Hill Mall
Chapel Hill Mall. Photo: Larry Hachucka, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile14 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/143997655614070 overture · all sites with this
On InstagramThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/143997655614070 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.chapelhillmall.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Ownership
Single-purpose entityThis site: AKRON CHAPEL HILL DE LLC county-parcels · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -12% census-cbp · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.80 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $37,739 census-acs · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 39153502102 hud-oz · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 71% census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.7% census-acs · all sites with this
Scale
Building footprint 50,000+ m²This site: 69,919 m² overture · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikidata
Owner of recordAkron Chapel Hill De LLCcounty assessor

Parcels, tax and title

Parcels within 40 m of the site point, as published by the county (layer); county terms apply; unverified here. Mortgages, liens and deeds are recorder records, not assessor data: Summit County Fiscal Office, Recording.
ParcelOwner of recordAcresUse · zoningValue (appraised · assessed · taxable)Last sale · deed
6862122
all 26 county fields
lowparcelid6862122
parcelid6862122
statedarea37.96 a
lglstartdt1715299200000
cvttxcd68
cvttxdscrpAKRON
usecd427
NGHBRHDCD30100405
classcdC
siteaddress1907 BUCHHOLZER BLVD
prprtydscrpTR 5 LOT 3 W OF BRITTAIN RD & E OF BUCHHOLZER BLVD 37.9653AC SPLIT DIST SEE 0220036
ownernme1AKRON CHAPEL HILL DE LLC
pstladdress4020 KINCROSS LAKES PKWY STE200
pstlcityRICHFIELD
pstlstateOH
pstlzip544286
lndvalue4134380
bldgvalue2639770
cntmarval6774150
cntassdval2370950
cnttxblval2370950
altid0201734C1002000
oldtaxmap02-01734
Akron Chapel Hill De LLC—$6.8M (appraised)
assessed $2.4M · taxable $2.4M
—
6862122T
all 25 county fields
lowparcelid6862122T
parcelid6862122T
statedarea37.96 a
cvttxcd68
cvttxdscrpAKRON
usecd720
NGHBRHDCD30100405
classcdE
siteaddress1907 BUCHHOLZER BLVD
prprtydscrpTR 5 LOT 3 W OF BRITTAIN RD & E OF BUCHHOLZER BLVD 37.9653AC SPLIT DIST SEE 0220036
ownernme1AKRON CHAPEL HILL DE LLC
pstladdress4020 KINCROSS LAKES PKWY STE200
pstlcityRICHFIELD
pstlstateOH
pstlzip544286
bldgvalue6405950
cntmarval6405950
cntassdval2242080
cnttxblval2242080
altid0201734C1002TIF
oldtaxmap02-01734
Akron Chapel Hill De LLC—$6.4M (appraised)
assessed $2.2M · taxable $2.2M
—
Total$13.2M

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Chapel Hill Mall” and “Akron” (147 hits, first 100 sampled). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2006-10-19 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2006 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)LB-UBS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE TRUST 2006 C612006-10-19 to 2006-10-198-K 1
Public owner (strong)CBL & ASSOCIATES PROPERTIES INC (CBL)752004-05-20 to 2016-02-298-K 58, 10-Q 9, 10-K 6, 8-K/A 1
Public owner (strong)FOREST CITY ENTERPRISES INC242002-04-26 to 2008-09-058-K 13, 10-Q 6, 10-K 5
Public owner (strong)CBL & ASSOCIATES LIMITED PARTNERSHIP142013-11-06 to 2016-02-298-K 8, 10-Q 4, 10-K 2

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2009CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2010-02-22Chapel Hill Mall Akron, OH
match: exact
863,406
in-line 278,072
94.0% leasedbuilt 1966 / acquired 2004 / renovated 199562.8%$256JC Penney, Macy's, Old Navy, Sears, SHOE DEPT. ENCORE
2006CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01Chapel Hill Mall Akron, OH
match: exact
860,306
in-line 300,982
89.0% leasedbuilt 1966 / acquired 2004 / renovated 1995100.0%$297JC Penney, Macy’s, Old Navy, Sears, Steve & Barry’s

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m12: AKRON 2000 BRITTAIN RD LLC; CASE RICK MOTORS INC; CHAPEL HILL MALL; CIRCLE K #5576; CLASSIC CLEANERSEPA FRS
Census tract 391535021023,938 people, 2,782 per sq mi; median household income $37,739; median gross rent $895; 71% renters; 8.1% vacant units; 1.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 9.5 of 20; 75 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.8; 70,487 jobs within 45 min by car; 20% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 1 schools, 9 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 1 civic, 14 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 11 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 39153502102 (rural)HUD
Housing permits, Summit County (OH), 2024397 units in 5+ unit buildings, 105 in 2–4, 580 single-family; 2023: 99 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.80; socioeconomic 0.87; housing and transport 0.79; 40% below 150% of poverty; 16% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 2 within 25 km: Valley View Golf Club (5.4 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Chapel Hill Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Foursquare, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 69,919 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.chapelhillmall.com (alive); archived 2001–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebook, instagramOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views96,030 since 2015; 6,202 in the last 12 months (-11% vs the prior 12); peak 2020-01 with 2,554Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -5% (4,164 → 3,938); median income +34% ($28,206 → $37,739); renters 52% → 71%; median home value +15% ($89,100 → $102,800)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 34.6); expected annual loss $709,527; high: hail, winter weather; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 40 units: International House At San Tomasso (40 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20231,564 establishments (-12%); 27,809 jobs (-7%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $227,458 (+4% 1 yr, +30% 5 yr); typical rent $1,270/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025266 (2000 = 100); +4.0% 1 yr, +53% 5 yr, +88% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)13,642 vehicles a day on HOWE AVE (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 7 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Chapel Hill Mall opened in October 1967, developed by Richard "R.B." Buchholzer and Forest City Enterprises. At its peak it housed more than 100 stores, with original anchors Sears, JCPenney, and O'Neil's. The record does not provide information about subsequent changes or current condition.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall's current status is unknown per the record, and its parcels are owned by AKRON CHAPEL HILL DE LLC.

For a planner

  • Open questions: what is the mall's current occupancy and physical condition?
  • Open questions: what zoning or land‑use designations apply to the site?
  • Open questions: have any redevelopment proposals or planning studies been undertaken?

For a developer

  • Total appraised value of the two parcels is approximately $13.18 million; assessed value about $4.61 million.
  • Site control lies with AKRON CHAPEL HILL DE LLC; entitlement stage is not specified in the record.
  • The record does not mention site size, flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints, or market signals from surrounding tracts.

What we do not know yet

  • Current status (open, vacant, demolished) is unknown.
  • Timeline of anchor store closures or losses is not provided.
  • Physical condition of the building and any demolition or renovation work is unspecified.
  • Zoning, land‑use, floodplain, transit, and environmental context layers are absent from the record.
  • Parcel size (acreage or square footage) and exact boundaries are not detailed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

History and original facts

Opened1967Wikidata
AnchorsForest City, JCPenney
CountySummit County
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Chapel Hill Mall was a regional mall located in the Chapel Hill neighborhood of Akron, Ohio, United States. It was built by Richard "R.B." Buchholzer and Forest City Enterprises, and opened in October 1967. At its peak, the mall featured more than 100 stores, with Sears, JCPenney, and O'Neil's as its original anchors.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1967 Opened (Wikidata)

Sources

More in Ohio