Malls · Florida
Osceola Square Mall
Opened 1986.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile17 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/396119290430281 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.golynx.com overture / http check · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 320 units in 1 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 67,390 on W BRONSON HWY fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 3,072 units, Osceola County census-bps · all sites with thisFast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)
This site: 20% census-acs · all sites with thisHigh hurricane risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; hurricane, tornado, inland flooding, strong wind, lightning fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.89 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 62% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +167% fhfa · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +77% census-acs · all sites with thisTract population up 25%+ since 2013
This site: +83% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 15 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 5: BURLINGTON COAT FACTORY AT OSC; EXXON RAS #45715; FAMILY DOLLAR PLAZA; KISSIMMEE PROFESSIONAL PLAZA; OSCEOLA SQUARE SHOPPESEPA FRS |
| Census tract 12097042000 | 13,018 people, 7,791 per sq mi; median household income $55,975; median gross rent $1,609; 62% renters; 19.4% vacant units; 4.6% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 15 of 20; 116 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 1,006 m; land-use mix 0.71; 49,865 jobs within 45 min by car, 10,972 by transit; 7% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Osceola County (FL), 2024 | 3,072 units in 5+ unit buildings, 98 in 2–4, 5,643 single-family; 2023: 2,710 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.89; socioeconomic 0.94; housing and transport 0.56; 43% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 3 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place Osceola Square Mall Lynx Station (shopping_mall, confidence 0.77, from Overture, meta); building footprint 39,601 m², 6.212576389312744 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.golynx.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +83% (7,101 → 13,018); median income +77% ($31,582 → $55,975); renters 80% → 62%; median home value +415% ($72,100 → $371,400)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 91.6); expected annual loss $2.7M; high: hurricane, tornado, inland flooding, strong wind, lightning; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 320 units: Arrow Ridge (320 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 19,050 jobs in 1,193 establishments; average annual pay $35,377; employment location quotient 1.64; employment +1.4% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,727 jobs; 853 in retail trade, 427 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 12097042000)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 37th income percentile as adults; 2.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (1,039 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 0% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 33.2%; median family income $38,041; 788 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Osceola County School District (PK-12); 3 public schools within 1 mile: KISSIMMEE MIDDLE SCHOOL; NEW BEGINNINGS EDUCATION CENTER; KISSIMMEE ELEMENTARY SCHOOLNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 82 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 45 county-logged events: 15 hail, 12 thunderstorm wind, 7 tornado, 5 funnel cloud; $245,997,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 34741, 2026-09 | median list price $310,000 (-4.6% on the year); 227 active listings; median 82 days on market; 24% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,083 establishments (+27%); 18,352 jobs (+43%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $359,224 (-3% 1 yr, +17% 5 yr); typical rent $1,988/mo (+0% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2007 | 246 (2000 = 100); +6.7% 1 yr, +99% 5 yr, +167% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 67,390 vehicles a day on W BRONSON HWY (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 1,954 trucks; 31 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1986 as a regional mall with approximately 60 stores and 331,127 square feet of gross leasable area. The mall operated for several decades before closing; the exact closure date is not provided in the record.
Why. The record does not specify reasons for the mall’s closure, such as anchor tenant loss, competition, debt, or demolition.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- No information on prior redevelopment precedents or policy tools applied to this site.
- Open questions include appropriate future land‑use designation, potential incentives, and community input process.
- Need to verify zoning, comprehensive plan compatibility, and any existing entitlements.
For a developer
- Site size: 331,127 sqft GLA (approx. 7.6 acres).
- Ownership and control are unknown per the record.
- Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are not documented.
- Market signals from the opp_reasons show Osceola County grew 20.2% (2018‑23) and median rent is $1,651, indicating regional growth.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood risk, transit access, environmental factors) are not provided.
What we do not know yet
- Exact closure date and reason for closure are not stated.
- Current owner, deed restrictions, and any outstanding liens are unknown.
- Zoning, comprehensive plan designation, and entitlement status are missing.
- Environmental conditions, flood‑plain status, and transit proximity are not provided.
- The record is marked ‘draft’ with only one source, indicating data may be unverified or incomplete.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Chicago Place, Chicago, IL · Malls · similar GLA (314,521 sq ft); opened 1989
- Crystal River Mall, Crystal River, FL · Malls · similar GLA (429,683 sq ft); opened 1990; also in FL
- Festival Flea Market Mall, Pompano Beach, FL · Malls · similar GLA (400,000 sq ft); opened 1991; also in FL
- Auburn Mall, Auburn, ME · Malls · similar GLA (297,915 sq ft); opened 1979
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Osceola Square Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and state only, check the city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Kissimmee Analog - Osceola Square Mal… boothbeacon.org
- Plaza Del Sol (Osceola Square Mall) Entrance commons.wikimedia.org
- Osceola Square Mall.. Kissimmee - YouTube youtube.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- county grew 20.2% 2018–23
- median rent $1,651
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1986Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 331,127 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 60Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Steve & Barry's, Burlington Coat Factory, Bealls, Ross Stores |
| Address | NE Corner Hwy 192 & Airport Dr. |
| County | Osceola |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1986 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02