Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Florida

Bakery Centre

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedSouth Miami, FL

Bakery Centre opened in 1999, changed hands to Midtown Opportunities in 2021, and its current status and use remain unknown. · summary, model-written

Reach the owner Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Bakery Centre
Exterior view of a multi-level shopping center with staircases and storefronts. · verified by a vision model. Photo: Crossmr, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile17 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Place
100k+ jobs within 45 min by transitThis site: 271,269 epa-walkability · all sites with this
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 94 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
County permitting 2,000+ apartment units a yearThis site: 8,068 units, Miami-Dade County census-bps · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,789/mo zillow · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High hurricane riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.93 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $35,481 census-acs · all sites with this
National Register place within 500 mThis site: Thomas, Arden "Doc", House nps-nrhp · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 12086007603 hud-oz · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 67% census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -1.1% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +164% fhfa · all sites with this
Tract income up 60%+ since 2013This site: +73% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 17.8 epa-walkability · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikipedia reported

Site context

FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m36: AAMCO - MARY BOAN; AAMCO TRANSMISSION; AUTO BODY EXPERTS USA LLC; AUTOMODES; AVALON SOUTH MIAMI MARKETEPA FRS
Census tract 120860076033,465 people, 6,973 per sq mi; median household income $35,481; median gross rent $1,685; 67% renters; 17.7% vacant units; 7.4% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 17.8 of 20; 200 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 203 m; land-use mix 0.71; 152,460 jobs within 45 min by car, 271,269 by transit; 23% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 11 schools, 7 parks or playgrounds, 5 health, 6 civic, 26 food and drink; 94 cycleway segments, 458 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 12086007603 (rural)HUD
National Register places within 500 m1: Thomas, Arden "Doc", HouseNPS
Housing permits, Miami-Dade County (FL), 20248,068 units in 5+ unit buildings, 309 in 2–4, 2,231 single-family; 2023: 10,980 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.93; socioeconomic 0.91; housing and transport 0.98; 42% below 150% of poverty; 19% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby3 within 10 km, 6 within 25 km: Dadeland Mall (3.2 km); Miracle Center (6.2 km); Calusa golf course (7.8 km)computed
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 37,518 m², 13.855732917785645 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Attention: Wikipedia page views52,294 since 2015; 4,497 in the last 12 months (-4% vs the prior 12); peak 2015-10 with 1,403Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -7% (3,709 → 3,465); median income +73% ($20,463 → $35,481); renters 61% → 67%; median home value +76% ($265,600 → $466,900)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 33.7); expected annual loss $926,122; high: hurricane; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km2 LIHTC properties, 188 units: South Miami Plaza (97 units); Metro South Senior (91 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)141,088 jobs in 11,887 establishments; average annual pay $52,073; employment location quotient 1.12; employment -0.3% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20222,568 jobs; 247 in retail trade, 102 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 12086007603)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 30th income percentile as adults; 3.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (875 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 28.2%; median family income $50,602; 425 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsDade County School District (PK-12); 20 public schools within 1 mile: THE BEN GAMLA PREPARATORY ACADEMY; LUDLAM ELEMENTARY SCHOOL; SUNSET ELEMENTARY SCHOOL; SOMERSET ACADEMY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL (SOUTH MIAMI CAMPUS)NCES EDGE
Elevation9 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025305 county-logged events: 104 flood, 75 thunderstorm wind, 43 hail, 33 flash flood; $7,202,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 33143, 2026-09median list price $1,262,500 (-27.3% on the year); 157 active listings; median 78 days on market; 8% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 202310,826 establishments (+4%); 139,904 jobs (+12%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $523,240 (+1% 1 yr, +35% 5 yr); typical rent $2,789/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025601 (2000 = 100), +81% 5 yr, +164% 10 yrFHFA

Summary, model-written

The mall opened in 1999 and was initially owned by Federal Realty, Grass River Property, and Comras Company. In 2021 it was acquired by Midtown Opportunities. Its current status is unknown.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The site’s current status is unknown, with Midtown Opportunities listed as the owner since 2021.

For a planner

  • Ownership transferred to Midtown Opportunities in 2021 per the record.
  • No policy tools or precedents are documented in the record.
  • Open questions include the mall’s present occupancy, future use, and any zoning or entitlement status.

For a developer

  • Site size and exact boundaries are not provided in the record.
  • Control is attributed to Midtown Opportunities since 2021, but verification is needed.
  • Entitlement stage and any approved plans are not mentioned.
  • Context‑layer constraints such as flood risk, transit access, or environmental factors are absent from the record.
  • Market signals like tract‑level rent or demographic data are not included.

What we do not know yet

  • Current status (open, vacant, partially occupied) is unknown.
  • Anchor tenant losses or retail performance are not recorded.
  • Any debt, liens, or financial encumbrances are not specified.
  • Site‑specific constraints (floodplain, wetlands, transit proximity) are missing.
  • Market‑area data such as median rent, income, or competition are not provided.
  • The accuracy of the ownership chain beyond the 2021 acquisition is unverified.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • median rent $1,731

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1999extracted, unreviewed
CountyMiami-Dade County
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

The Shops at Sunset Place is an outdoor shopping mall in South Miami, Florida at the intersection of Dixie Highway and Red Road. The mall opened in 1999. It was owned by Federal Realty, Grass River Property, and Comras Company prior to 2021 acquisition by Midtown Opportunities.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1999 Mall opened
  2. 2021 Acquired by Midtown Opportunities

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Bakery Centre · supports: year opened
    3 quoted sentences
    The mall opened in 1999.
    The mall opened in 1999.
    It was owned by Federal Realty, Grass River Property, and Comras Company prior to 2021 acquisition by Midtown Opportunities.

More in Florida