Malls · Georgia
Rhodes Center
Rhodes Center, Atlanta’s 1937 first mall, closed in 2000; now split among multiple owners with unknown future use and potential. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile14 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Public body
This site: STATE OF GA RHODES MEMORIAL H county-parcels · all sites with thisSingle-purpose entity
This site: LONGLINE FINANCIAL C 1 LP county-parcels · all sites with thisUniversity, hospital or church
This site: PEACHTREE CHRISTIAN CHURCH county-parcels · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 31 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 239,000 on 85 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 18 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 8,159 units, Fulton County census-bps · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $108,940 census-acs · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: 85 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Peachtree Christian Church; Rhodes Memorial Hall nps-nrhp · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 55% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +136% fhfa · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|---|
| Owner of record | Peachtree Christian Churchcounty assessor reported |
Parcels, tax and title
| Parcel | Owner of record | Acres | Use · zoning | Value (appraised · assessed · taxable) | Last sale · deed | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
17 010800010657all 26 county fields
| Peachtree Christian Church 1590 PEACHTREE RD W, ATLANTA GA 30309 | 4.8 | 620 | $17.6M (appraised) assessed $0 | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 010800010467all 25 county fields
| Savannah College Of Art & Design Inc The P.O. BOX 3146, SAVANNAH GA 31402 | 4.5 | 613 | $83.4M (appraised) assessed $0 | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 010500030633all 26 county fields
| Individual (Name Withheld) | 2.6 | 3A4 | $42.5M (appraised) assessed $17.0M | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 010800020110all 26 county fields
| Equifax Inc 1550 PEACHTREE ST NE, ATLANTA GA 30309 | 1.9 | 3A4 | $24.7M (appraised) assessed $9.9M | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 010800030028all 26 county fields
| Midtown Units LLC 11 MONTGOMERY SQ, BRAMPTON ON L6Z 3H2 | 0.9 | 2C1 | $1.6M (appraised) assessed $640,000 | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 010800020060all 26 county fields
| Department Of Transportation 2 CAPITOL SQ, ATLANTA GA 30334 | 0.9 | 699 | $2.4M (appraised) assessed $0 | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 010800020045all 26 county fields
| State Of Ga Rhodes Memorial H 1516 PEACHTREE ST, ATLANTA GA 30309 | 0.8 | 699 | $2.7M (appraised) assessed $0 | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 010500010015all 26 county fields
| Dewberry Ansley LLC 1545 PEACHTREE ST STE 250, ATLANTA GA 30309 | 0.6 | 333 | $2.0M (appraised) assessed $786,680 | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 010500030625all 26 county fields
| Arc Sbatlga003 LLC 7700 FORSYTH BLVD FLOOR 9TH, SAINT LOUIS MO 63105 | 0.5 | 351 | $1.9M (appraised) assessed $741,040 | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 010800020086all 26 county fields
| Dewberry Rhodes LLC 1545 PEACHTREE ST NE STE 250, ATLANTA GA 30309 | 0.5 | 374 | $1.3M (appraised) assessed $524,000 | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 010800020078all 26 county fields
| Department Of Transportation 2 CAPITOL SQ, ATLANTA GA 30334 | 0.3 | 600 | $694,300 (appraised) assessed $0 | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
17 010800030150all 25 county fields
| Longline Financial C 1 LP 3715 NORTHSIDE PKWY NW BLDG/STE 400 500, ATLANTA GA 30327 | 0.2 | 300 | $217,500 (appraised) assessed $87,000 | — | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Total | 18.6 | $180.8M |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 9: 1400 WEST PEACHTREE; 1439 PEACHTREE STREET; BP OIL CO; BUFORD SPRINGS CONNECTOR & ROUNDABOUT; DUNWOODY STORAGEEPA FRS |
| Census tract 13121000501 | 5,435 people, 11,233 per sq mi; median household income $108,940; median gross rent $2,214; 55% renters; 11.6% vacant units; 5.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 3 schools, 11 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 8 civic, 25 food and drink; 18 cycleway segments, 445 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 5: Peachtree Christian Church; Rhodes Memorial Hall; Temple, The; 61 16th Street Apartment BuildingNPS |
| Housing permits, Fulton County (GA), 2024 | 8,159 units in 5+ unit buildings, 481 in 2–4, 2,937 single-family; 2023: 7,096 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.38; socioeconomic 0.47; housing and transport 0.77; 21% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 31 within 10 km, 58 within 25 km: Rio Shopping Center (2.8 km); Garden Hills Apartments (4.1 km); 71 Sheridan Drive (4.1 km); CNN Center (4.2 km); 56 Marietta St. (4.5 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 5,062 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 7,202 since 2015; 570 in the last 12 months (+18% vs the prior 12); peak 2020-08 with 279Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 10.2); expected annual loss $637,084; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 74 units: Mechanicsville Scattered Sites (74 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 55,938 jobs in 4,327 establishments; average annual pay $50,638; employment location quotient 0.60; employment -2.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 19,795 jobs; 860 in retail trade, 866 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 13121000501)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 40th income percentile as adults; 0.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (60 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 10.1%; median family income $134,531; 89 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Atlanta City School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 929 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 266 county-logged events: 174 thunderstorm wind, 48 flash flood, 34 hail, 10 tornado; $9,525,000 property damage reported; 2 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 30309, 2026-09 | median list price $374,225 (-4.0% on the year); 293 active listings; median 70 days on market; 21% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 3,732 establishments (+10%); 55,757 jobs (+14%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $414,221 (-2% 1 yr, +11% 5 yr); typical rent $1,926/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2022 | 389 (2000 = 100); +14.6% 1 yr, +54% 5 yr, +136% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 239,000 vehicles a day on 85 (Interstate, 10 lanes); 11,895 trucks; 38 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1937 as Atlanta’s first shopping center, Rhodes Center operated until its closure in 2000. The record does not specify any subsequent use or redevelopment, leaving its current status unknown.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. Current status is unknown, with ownership divided among multiple entities including Peachtree Christian Church, SCAD, Equifax, and others per the parcel data.
For a planner
- First mall in Atlanta (opened 1937) provides a historic precedent for early suburban retail.
- No policy tools or incentives are mentioned in the record.
- Open questions include reasons for closure, current zoning, and potential reuse pathways.
For a developer
- Total site area approximately 17 acres across eight parcels.
- Control is fragmented among several owners, with no single controlling entity noted.
- Entitlement stage is unclear; status is unknown and no recent deals are recorded.
- Context layers (flood, transit, environment) are not detailed in the record.
- Market signals indicate county population grew 4.6% (2018‑23) and median rent is $1,635.
What we do not know yet
- Cause of closure and any demolition or redevelopment activity after 2000 are not stated.
- Current use, occupancy, or vacancy status of the parcels is unknown.
- Environmental constraints, flood risk, and transit access are not provided in the record.
- Zoning implications of the listed land_use codes are unclear without external reference.
- The record is marked as draft with only one source, indicating thin data quality.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- State Capitol Homes, Atlanta, GA · Garden apartments · opened 1941; closed 2003; also in GA
- Avondale Mall, DeKalb County, GA · Malls · closed 2001; also in GA; 12 km away
- Union Station, Union City, GA · Malls · also in GA; 28 km away
- Carver Community, Atlanta, GA · Garden apartments · closed 2000; also in GA; 5 km away
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Rhodes Center - Wikipedia en.wikipedia.org
- Milton Rhodes Center for the Arts flickr.com
- Rhodes Center South - The Georgia Trust georgiatrust.org
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county grew 4.6% 2018–23
- median rent $1,635
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1937Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2000Wikidata reported |
| County | Fulton County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Rhodes Center was Atlanta's first shopping center. It was built in 1937 by architects Ivey and Crook and was one of the largest real estate developments in Atlanta during the Depression.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1937 Opened (Wikidata)
- 2000 Closed (Wikidata)
Sources
- Wikipedia: Rhodes Center · 2026-07-16 · CC BY-SA 4.0