Malls · Illinois
Alton Square Mall
Opened 1978.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile13 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisMacy's
This site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/209441499081408 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.shopaltonsquare.com/ overture / http check · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -11% census-cbp · all sites with thisHigh earthquake risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; tornado, heat wave, earthquake, hail, winter weather, cold wave, lightning fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -0.4% census-acs · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +67% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer |
|---|
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 6: ALTON SQUARE MALL; MACYS; PENNEY OPCO LLC 0466; ROBERTS MOTORS INC; SEARS 2021EPA FRS |
| Census tract 17119402701 | 6,572 people, 553 per sq mi; median household income $79,665; median gross rent $818; 32% renters; 7.1% vacant units; 0.3% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 9.7 of 20; 35 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.96; 52,139 jobs within 45 min by car; 25% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Madison County (IL), 2024 | 0 units in 5+ unit buildings, 52 in 2–4, 314 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.48; socioeconomic 0.31; housing and transport 0.76; 25% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 2 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place Alton Square Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.94, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 14,347 m², 6.3595170974731445 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.shopaltonsquare.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -11% (7,361 → 6,572); median income +67% ($47,751 → $79,665); renters 26% → 32%; median home value +36% ($113,500 → $154,200)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 90.1); expected annual loss $3.3M; high: tornado, heat wave, earthquake, hail, winter weather, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 736 establishments (-11%); 12,652 jobs (+0%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $197,597 (+5% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,196/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 396 (2000 = 100); +9.7% 1 yr, +48% 5 yr, +66% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 15,751 vehicles a day on HOMER M ADAMS PKWY (principal arterial, 5 lanes); 740 trucks; 19 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Alton Square Mall opened in 1978 as a 638,000‑square‑foot mall with a peak of 84 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed. The exact date and cause of closure are not provided.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed; the record does not specify an owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- No redevelopment plans or policy tools documented in the record
- No zoning changes or entitlement actions noted
- Open question: what caused the mall to close
- Open question: who currently owns or controls the site
For a developer
- Site size: 638,000 sq ft GLA
- Control: not specified in the record
- Entitlement stage: not specified
- Constraints: none listed in the record (no flood, transit, or environmental data)
- Market signals: none listed in the record (no tract data)
What we do not know yet
- Closure date unknown
- Cause of closure unknown
- Current owner or controlling entity unknown
- Any environmental, flood, or transit constraints unknown
- Verified status is 'draft' and opp_score may be model‑extracted and unreviewed
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Machesney Park Mall, Machesney Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (581,883 sq ft); opened 1978; also in IL
- Heritage Park Mall, Midwest City, OK · Malls · similar GLA (606,339 sq ft); opened 1978
- Greeley Mall, Greeley, CO · Malls · similar GLA (577,200 sq ft); opened 1973
- Hutchinson Mall, Hutchinson, KS · Malls · similar GLA (525,368 sq ft); opened 1985
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- PHOTO SPOTLIGHT: Changes continue at Alton … riverbender.com
- Alton Square Mall- (Alton, IL) triptothemall.blogspot.com
- Alton Square Mall | Enjoy Illinois enjoyillinois.com
- The Digital Research Library of Illinois History Journal™ : Alton ... drloihjournal.blogspot.com
- Alton Square Mall, Alton IL | Scrolller scrolller.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- 638,000 sq ft GLA (large site)
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1978Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 638,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer |
| Stores at peak | 84Esri 2014 layer |
| Anchors | Macy's, JCPenney, Sears |
| Address | Alton Square Mall Dr. & Homer Adams Pkwy. (Rt |
| County | Madison |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1978 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Illinois
Forest Park MallForest Park, IL · 1997Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: retail and religious
MegamallChicago, IL · 2015Redeveloped · Redevelopment: residential mixed-use
Park Forest PlazaPark Forest, IL · 2001Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: civic, residential, new streets
Randhurst MallMount Prospect, IL · 2010Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets
Spring Hill MallWest Dundee, IL · 2015Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, open air streetSt Charles MallSt Charles, IL · 2016Redeveloped · Redevelopment: residential, new streets