Malls · Oklahoma
Heritage Park Mall
Opened 1978. Closed 2010.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Dillard's
This site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with thisMontgomery Ward
This site: Montgomery Ward wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisAttention rising (Wikipedia views +50% y/y)
This site: 4,072 views, +65% wikimedia · all sites with thisClosed or demolished, no retrofit recorded
This site: …closed extraction · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/145917778786201 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.deadmalls.com/malls/heritage_park_mall.html overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 4 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisTract population up 25%+ since 2013
This site: +38% census-acs · all sites with thisChurch and worship
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| New uses | churchextracted, unreviewed |
| What is there now | LifeChurch occupies the former Dillard's space and Ahmad Bahreini owns the inline section.extracted, unreviewed |
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 | Sold | $1.5M closed | LifeChurch | Wikipedia |
| 2011 | Sold | $1.3M closed | Ahmad Bahreini | Wikipedia |
| 2005 | Sold | $7.2M closed | Daniel Rafalian | Wikipedia |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Heritage Park Mall” and “Midwest City” (26 hits, first 26 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 16 | 2002-05-17 to 2005-02-10 | 8-K 12, 10-K 4 |
| Public owner (strong) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/ | 6 | 2001-03-30 to 2004-03-30 | 10-K 6 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 9: FORMER BB PHOTO CORP/MOTO PHOTO; FORMER DILLARDS; HERITAGE PARK MEDICAL CENTER; JIFFY LUBE; MIDWEST CITY CLNRSEPA FRS |
| Census tract 40109108006 | 4,835 people, 4,803 per sq mi; median household income $77,731; median gross rent $1,117; 49% renters; 4.4% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 10.5 of 20; 120 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.46; 74,737 jobs within 45 min by car; 2% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 4 grocers, 1 schools, 4 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 5 civic, 7 food and drink; 3 cycleway segments, 121 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Oklahoma County (OK), 2024 | 1,248 units in 5+ unit buildings, 385 in 2–4, 4,531 single-family; 2023: 363 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.55; socioeconomic 0.64; housing and transport 0.41; 22% below 150% of poverty; 2% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 2 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place Heritage Park Mall (shopping, confidence 0.96, from Overture, meta); building footprint 23,547 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.deadmalls.com (alive); archived 2001–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 12,776 since 2015; 4,072 in the last 12 months (+65% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-03 with 765Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +38% (3,495 → 4,835); median income +56% ($49,977 → $77,731); renters 45% → 49%; median home value +46% ($117,500 → $171,100)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 38.9); expected annual loss $1.3M; high: heat wave, hail; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,946 establishments (+1%); 49,251 jobs (+17%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $221,970 (+0% 1 yr, +21% 5 yr); typical rent $1,341/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 205 (2000 = 100); -18.8% 1 yr, +25% 5 yr, +52% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 22,200 vehicles a day on SOUTH AIR DEPOT BOULEVARD (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 1,110 trucks; 21 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
| Site metrics | 15,547 sq ft GLA per acre; FAR 0.36computed |
Summary, model-written
Heritage Park Mall opened in 1978 as the only enclosed mall in Midwest City and operated until 2010, when it closed after a series of anchor store losses. In 2011 the former Dillard's space was sold to LifeChurch and the inline section was sold to Ahmad Bahreini, dividing the property between religious and private ownership.
Why. The record shows anchor closures (Montgomery Ward and Service Merchandise in 1999, Dillard's in 2006, Sears in 2017) leading to the mall's eventual shutdown in 2010; no explicit mention of debt, competition, or demolition is provided.
Where it stands. Today the mall is closed, with LifeChurch owning the former Dillard's space and Ahmad Bahreini owning the inline section per the 2011 sales recorded in the deals.
For a planner
- Precedent: adaptive reuse of anchor space for a church (LifeChurch).
- Policy tools: none noted in the record; potential for zoning changes or incentives for mixed‑use redevelopment.
- Open questions: what are the current zoning designations and any pending comprehensive plan amendments?
- Open questions: are there any environmental remediation needs or flood‑plain restrictions affecting the 39‑acre site?
For a developer
- Site size: 39 acres with 606,339 sf GLA (FAR 0.36).
- Control: split ownership – LifeChurch (former Dillard's) and Ahmad Bahreini (inline section); no single owner controls the whole parcel.
- Entitlement stage: no indication of approved redevelopment plans or permits in the record.
- Constraints: context layer does not specify flood, transit, or environmental limits; these are unknown.
- Market signals: tract‑level data (e.g., household income, retail demand) are not provided, so market demand is unknown.
What we do not know yet
- Missing yield metrics: value_per_acre and parcel_value_total are null.
- No floodplain, transit, or environmental context data provided.
- Current zoning, land‑use regulations, and any pending plan amendments are not stated.
- Condition of structures and any needed remediation or demolition costs are unknown.
- Some fields (year_closed, acres, after_notes, status, new_use) are model‑extracted and marked as unverified (verified: draft).
- Whether the inline section is vacant, leased, or subject to liens is not detailed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Metcalf South Shopping Center, Overland Park, KS · Malls · similar size (50 acres); similar GLA (784,336 sq ft); closed 2014
- Machesney Park Mall, Machesney Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (581,883 sq ft); opened 1978; closed 2008
- Los Arcos Mall, Scottsdale, AZ · Malls · similar size (41.9 acres); similar GLA (607,350 sq ft)
- Cloverleaf Mall, Richmond, VA · Malls · similar GLA (800,000 sq ft); opened 1972; closed 2008
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Heritage Park Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Heritage Park Mall appraised at nearly $7M – Central Oklahoma Weeklies centraloklahomaweeklies.com
- Heritage Park Mall | 40+ Photos | Abandoned Oklahoma abandonedok.com
- Heritage Park Mall in Midwest City now and through the years oklahoman.com
- NAI Sullivan Group: PRICE REDUCED! Heritage Park Mall naisullivangroup.blogspot.com
- Dead and Decaying... Heritage Park Mall youtube.com
- Properties for Sale - Retail Oklahoma retailoklahoma.com
- Abandoned Heritage Park Mall | in Midwest City OK | Diesel… flickr.com
- Midwest City To Formalize Heritage Park Mall’s Future; Prairie Artisan ... kgou.org
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- 39 acres
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1978Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2010extracted, unreviewed |
| Acres | 39.0extracted, unreviewed |
| Gross leasable area | 606,339 sq ftEsri 2014 layer |
| Stores at peak | 79Esri 2014 layer |
| Anchors | H. J. Wilson Co., Dillard's, Sears, Montgomery Ward |
| Address | Reno Ave. & Air Depot Blvd. |
| County | Oklahoma |
| Census division | 7 · West South Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: original developer, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Heritage Park Mall was a shopping mall in Midwest City, Oklahoma, United States, that opened in 1978 and closed in 2010. The property sits on about 39 acres, and during its time of operation was the only enclosed shopping mall in Midwest City, although there are many outdoor shopping centers.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1978 Opened
- 1999 Montgomery Ward and Service Merchandise closed
- 2005 Daniel Rafalian purchased mall
- 2006 Dillard's closed
- 2009 Property listed for sale
- 2010 Mall closed
- 2011 LifeChurch purchased Dillard's
- 2011 Inline section sold to Ahmad Bahreini
- 2017 Sears announced closure
- 2017 Sears closed
Sources
- Wikipedia: Heritage Park Mall · supports: acres, after notes, status, year closed
13 quoted sentences
After being for sale since May 2009, the owner of Heritage Park Mall announced the property would close February 15, 2010, leaving a handful of stores to close.
The property sits on about 39 acres
LifeChurch purchased the 102,000 square foot Dillard's for a discounted $1.5 million in 2011, making it the sixth Oklahoma City area campus.
After being for sale since May 2009, the owner of Heritage Park Mall announced the property would close February 15, 2010, leaving a handful of stores to close.
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Oklahoma
Shepherd MallOklahoma City, OK · 1995Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: government offices, education
Crossroads MallOklahoma City, OKReinhabited · Redeveloped · As of 2021, the mall is home to, in the former Montgomery Wards…
Eastland MallTulsa, OKRedeveloped · mixed-use professional/retail complex
Southland Shopping CenterTulsa, OKClosed
Tulsa PromenadeTulsa, OKReinhabited · The businesses occupying the anchor buildings on the perimeter of the…