Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Illinois

North Park Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedVilla Park, IL

Opened 1973.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size333,596 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability10.2 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile10 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
JCPenney OutletThis site: JCPenney Outlet wikipedia · all sites with this
KmartThis site: Kmart wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 44,426 on North Ave fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -12% census-cbp · all sites with this
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,105/mo zillow · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High-income tract ($100k+)This site: $110,197 census-acs · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.5% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract income up 60%+ since 2013This site: +74% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 kmjunctionOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m25: A-1 CUSTOM & COLLISION; A5 AUTO COLLISION & SALES; ADVANCE PRESS; ALLIED LABS; AMOCO 5892EPA FRS
Census tract 170438467024,245 people, 1,349 per sq mi; median household income $110,197; median gross rent $1,235; 20% renters; 3.8% vacant units; 3.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 10.2 of 20; 71 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.89; 342,650 jobs within 45 min by car; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, DuPage County (IL), 2024647 units in 5+ unit buildings, 19 in 2–4, 784 single-family; 2023: 303 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.48; socioeconomic 0.52; housing and transport 0.24; 12% below 150% of poverty; 0% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 18 within 25 km: Yorktown Center (7.6 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace North Park Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.90, from BrightQuery, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 12,484 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Tract change 2013–2023population -2% (4,353 → 4,245); median income +74% ($63,281 → $110,197); renters 24% → 20%; median home value +42% ($222,100 → $314,800)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 51.7); expected annual loss $2.1M; high: tornado, cold wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)53,372 jobs in 2,647 establishments; average annual pay $50,645; employment location quotient 0.86; employment +0.6% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 202213,772 jobs; 1,090 in retail trade, 334 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 17043846702)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 48th income percentile as adults; 1.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (342 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 2% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 14.5%; median family income $68,333; 204 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsDuPage High School District 88 (09-12); 6 public schools within 1 mile: Fullerton Elem School; Ardmore Elem School; Addison Early Learning Center; North Elem SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation700 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025361 county-logged events: 201 thunderstorm wind, 53 hail, 47 flood, 28 flash flood; $405,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 60181, 2026-09median list price $455,875 (+25.8% on the year); 27 active listings; median 23 days on market; 10% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,924 establishments (-12%); 56,986 jobs (-4%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $437,880 (+4% 1 yr, +30% 5 yr); typical rent $2,105/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025398 (2000 = 100); +9.9% 1 yr, +50% 5 yr, +92% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)44,426 vehicles a day on North Ave (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 3,500 trucks; 8 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

North Park Mall opened in 1973 as a 333,596‑square‑foot mall with 51 stores. It operated as a retail center until it closed; the record does not specify a closure date or subsequent events.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed; the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No policy tools or interventions are documented in the record.
  • Open questions include appropriate zoning for reuse and potential infrastructure needs.
  • No documented precedents for similar mall closures in the area are provided.

For a developer

  • Site size: 333,596 sq ft of GLA.
  • Current control and ownership are unknown per the record.
  • Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are not specified.
  • No context‑layer data (flood, transit, environment) or market signals are provided.

What we do not know yet

  • Closure date and reason for closure are not recorded.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
  • Any redevelopment plans, proposals, or pending transactions are absent.
  • Zoning, land‑use, and environmental constraints are not detailed.
  • The opportunity score and reasons are model‑extracted and marked as unverified (verified: draft).

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Chicago Place, Chicago, IL · Malls · similar GLA (314,521 sq ft); also in IL; 30 km away
  • St Charles Mall, St Charles, IL · Malls · opened 1980; also in IL; 29 km away
  • Spring Hill Mall, West Dundee, IL · Malls · opened 1980; also in IL; 34 km away
  • Fairfield Commons Mall, Glen Allen, VA · Malls · similar GLA (335,000 sq ft); opened 1968

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: North Park Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • median rent $1,628

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1973Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area333,596 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak51Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsKmart, JCPenney Outlet
AddressHwy. 64 & Addison Rd.
CountyDu Page
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1973 Opened

Sources

More in Illinois