Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Indiana

Circle Centre Mall

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedReinhabitedClosedIndianapolis, IN

Opened 1995. Closed 2025. Redeveloped · Reinhabited in 2025.

Status nowClosedextracted, unreviewed
documented
The mall closed its doors on December 31, 2025.

en.wikipedia.org

What it becameoffice, mixedextracted, unreviewed reported
Site size7.2 acresextracted, unreviewed
documented
The mall covered 7.2 acres (2.9 ha)

en.wikipedia.org

Retrofit year2025extracted, unreviewed reported
Rail within 800 mYes · Opportunity ZoneOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Circle Centre Mall
Circle Centre Mall. Photo: Mike Kalasnik, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile23 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Carson Pirie ScottThis site: Carson Pirie Scott wikipedia · all sites with this
NordstromThis site: Nordstrom wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Attention rising (Wikipedia views +50% y/y)This site: 17,665 views, +98% wikimedia · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …https://www.circlecentre.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 213 units in 5 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 5 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 135 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High earthquake riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this
High natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)This site: Relatively High; tornado, inland flooding, earthquake fema-nri · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
National Register place within 500 mThis site: Hotel Washington; Indiana Theatre nps-nrhp · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 18097391000 hud-oz · all sites with this
Rail within 800 mThis site: Indianapolis Union Station openstreetmap · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 88% census-acs · all sites with this
Scale
Under 20 acresThis site: 7.2 acres extraction · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: …redevelopment into a multi-use campus known as Traction Yards extraction · all sites with this
ReinhabitedThis site: …redevelopment into a multi-use campus known as Traction Yards extraction · all sites with this
New use
EducationThis site: …redevelopment into a multi-use campus known as Traction Yards extraction · all sites with this
Mixed useThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
OfficeThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedextracted, unreviewed
documented
The mall closed its doors on December 31, 2025.

en.wikipedia.org

StrategyRedeveloped · Reinhabitedextracted, unreviewed
documented
On April 1, 2025, the south end of the mall closed to make way for redevelopment into a multi-use campus known as Traction Yards.

en.wikipedia.org

New usesoffice, mixedextracted, unreviewed reported
What is there nowredevelopment into a multi-use campus known as Traction Yardsextracted, unreviewed
documented
On April 1, 2025, the south end of the mall closed to make way for redevelopment into a multi-use campus known as Traction Yards.

en.wikipedia.org

Retrofit year2025extracted, unreviewed reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Circle Centre Mall” and “Indianapolis” (123 hits, first 100 sampled, 5 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (strong)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ)762001-02-16 to 2021-11-018-K 59, 10-K 16, 8-K/A 1
Public owner (weak)SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/152001-03-30 to 2012-03-0210-K 15
Public owner (weak)LASALLE HOTEL PROPERTIES22004-02-10 to 2004-02-198-K 2

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2009Simon Property Group 10-K, 2010-02-25Circle Centre Indianapolis, IN
match: name-city
735,92296.7% occupiedbuilt 199514.7%
Property Lease (2097)
Nordstrom, Carson Pirie Scott, United Artists Theatre

Site context

Transit within 800 mIndianapolis Union Station (rail); 5 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km110A, 110B, 111, 112AOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m37: 321-231 SHINOLA HOTEL AND RETAIL DEVELOPMENT; ADAMS MARK HOTEL; AMERICAN UNITED LIFE INSURANCE CO.; BACK IN A FLASH; BANKERS LIFE FIELDHOUSEEPA FRS
Census tract 180973910011,991 people, 1,201 per sq mi; median household income $54,605; median gross rent $1,323; 88% renters; 27.9% vacant units; 10.5% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 1 schools, 31 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 11 civic, 81 food and drink; 135 cycleway segments, 475 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 18097391000 (rural)HUD
National Register places within 500 m15: Hotel Washington; Indiana Theatre; Christ Church Cathedral; Indianapolis Union Railroad StationNPS
Housing permits, Marion County (IN), 2024621 units in 5+ unit buildings, 32 in 2–4, 1,253 single-family; 2023: 1,457 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.58; socioeconomic 0.76; housing and transport 0.88; 56% below 150% of poverty; 4% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby5 within 10 km, 7 within 25 km: Indianapolis Stamping Plant site (0.2 km); Kahn Tailoring Company building (1.3 km); Lockefield Gardens (1.8 km); Lafayette Square Mall (9.3 km); Lifeline Data Center (10.0 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Circle Centre Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.88, from BrightQuery, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 27,249 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.circlecentre.com (alive); archived 1999–2025 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views59,705 since 2015; 17,665 in the last 12 months (+98% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-01 with 4,704Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively high overall (score 90.5); expected annual loss $4.1M; high: tornado, inland flooding, earthquake; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km5 LIHTC properties, 213 units: Rink Savoy (60 units); Davlan (50 units); Penn Street Tower (43 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)45,102 jobs in 2,930 establishments; average annual pay $43,606; employment location quotient 0.73; employment +0.4% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 202247,815 jobs; 449 in retail trade, 4,532 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 18097391001)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 33th income percentile as adults; 3.1% incarcerated at the 2010 count (67 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 0% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 29.0%; median family income $125,717; 51 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsIndianapolis Public Schools (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: Dept of Correction Adult Schools; Center For Inquiry School 2NCES EDGE
Elevation710 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025241 county-logged events: 138 thunderstorm wind, 63 hail, 21 flash flood, 12 flood; $6,855,650 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 46204, 2026-09median list price $354,975 (-12.8% on the year); 62 active listings; median 89 days on market; 26% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,856 establishments (-4%); 45,527 jobs (-2%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $227,822 (-1% 1 yr, +20% 5 yr); typical rent $1,379/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)13,766 vehicles a day on ILLINOIS ST (minor arterial, 2 lanes); 412 trucks; 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Circle Centre Mall opened in 1995, incorporating existing downtown structures and initially hosting nearly 100 stores. Over time key anchors such as Nordstrom (2011) and Carson's (2018) closed, leaving only the Indianapolis Star offices as an anchor, and the mall shut entirely at the end of 2025. The site is now slated for redevelopment into a multi‑use campus called Traction Yards.

Why. The record shows anchor store losses (Nordstrom in 2011, Carson's in 2018) as the primary visible cause of decline, leading to the eventual full closure in 2025. No explicit mention of competition, debt, or demolition appears in the record.

Where it stands. The mall is closed and scheduled for redevelopment into Traction Yards, with JLL Partners listed as the operator (per Wikidata, undated).

For a planner

  • Strategy indicated in record: redevelop and reinhabit.
  • After‑notes describe a planned multi‑use campus (Traction Yards).
  • Open questions: exact timeline for Traction Yards completion, required zoning or land‑use approvals, and financing structure.

For a developer

  • Site size: 7.2 acres.
  • Control: JLL Partners noted as operator; owner not specified in record.
  • Entitlement stage: year_retrofit 2025 and after_notes point to redevelopment planning underway.
  • Constraints from context layers (flood, transit, environment) and market signals from tract data are not provided in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Owner of the property is not stated in the record.
  • Details of financing, public incentives, or development agreements for Traction Yards are missing.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, contamination) and transit access are not described.
  • Market demand for the proposed office/mixed‑use program is unknown.
  • The record is marked as 'verified: draft', indicating some facts may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • City Center, Columbus, OH · Malls · similar size (9 acres); opened 1989; same strategy: redevelop
  • Lafayette Square Mall, Indianapolis, IN · Malls · closed 2022; same strategy: redevelop; also in IN
  • Wharf Cinema Center Shops, Lahaina, HI · Other · opened 1989; closed 2024; same strategy: redevelop
  • Great Northern Mall, Clay, NY · Malls · opened 1988; closed 2022; same strategy: redevelop

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Circle Centre Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • closed or demolished site (sourced)
  • housing in the record

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1995Wikidata
Closed2025extracted, unreviewed
documented
The mall closed its doors on December 31, 2025.

en.wikipedia.org

Acres7.2extracted, unreviewed
documented
The mall covered 7.2 acres (2.9 ha)

en.wikipedia.org

Stores at peak99extracted, unreviewed reported
Original developerMelvin Simon & Associatesextracted, unreviewed
documented
Melvin Simon & Associates announced the completion of a study

en.wikipedia.org

ArchitectJerde Partnership
AnchorsCarson Pirie Scott, Regal Cinemas, Nordstrom, Parisian, The Indianapolis Star, Tilt Studio
Organisations in Wikidata (undated)JLL Partners
CountyMarion County
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: GLA. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Circle Centre Mall was an indoor shopping mall located in Indianapolis, Indiana, United States. Circle Centre Mall was opened to the public on September 8, 1995, and incorporated existing downtown structures such as the former L. S. Ayres flagship store. The mall is only anchored by the offices for The Indianapolis Star. The space occupied by former anchors Carson Pirie Scott, Regal Cinemas, and Tilt Studio is vacant. The mall closed its doors on December 31, 2025.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1995 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 1995 Opened to the public
  3. 2011 Nordstrom closed
  4. 2014 Indianapolis Star moved offices into former Nordstrom space
  5. 2018 Carson's closed
  6. 2025 South end closed for redevelopment into Traction Yards
  7. 2025 Mall closed entirely

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Circle Centre Mall · supports: acres, after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
    12 quoted sentences
    The mall closed its doors on December 31, 2025.
    The mall covered 7.2 acres (2.9 ha)
    Melvin Simon & Associates announced the completion of a study
    On April 1, 2025, the south end of the mall closed to make way for redevelopment into a multi-use campus known as Traction Yards.

More in Indiana