Malls · Kansas
Uptown Hutch
Uptown Hutch opened 1985, lost anchors, interior closed 2026, exterior stores remain open; status partial, owner unknown in Hutchinson KS · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/465489063465518 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.uptownhutch.com/ overture / http check · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -18% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $36,977 census-acs · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 20155001000 hud-oz · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 55% census-acs · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -2.2% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Partly retrofittedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| What is there now | Exterior-facing stores remain openextracted, unreviewed |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | junctionOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA WITH REDUCED FLOOD RISK DUE TO LEVEEFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 8: COMMERCE GARDENS; CONKLIN CARS; HARBOR FREIGHT TOOLS USA #741; HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS; KS DEPT OF CHILDREN & FAMILIESEPA FRS |
| Census tract 20155001000 | 2,098 people, 1,054 per sq mi; median household income $36,977; median gross rent $832; 55% renters; 9.9% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 10.5 of 20; 142 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.76; 12,176 jobs within 45 min by car; 6% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 3 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 1 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 0 civic, 11 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 10 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 20155001000 (rural)HUD |
| Housing permits, Reno County (KS), 2024 | 0 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 40 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.51; socioeconomic 0.61; housing and transport 0.49; 34% below 150% of poverty; 14% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Hutchinson Mall (0.5 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Uptown Hutch (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 3,626 m², 4.498122692108154 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.uptownhutch.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 5,086 since 2015; 2,021 in the last 12 months (+101% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-05 with 387Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -20% (2,607 → 2,098); median income +11% ($33,371 → $36,977); renters 41% → 55%; median home value +39% ($52,100 → $72,300)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 66.5); expected annual loss $1.4M; high: tornado, hail, strong wind, winter weather, ice storm, cold wave; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 2 LIHTC properties, 144 units: Commerce Gardens (96 units); Porter Commons Apts (48 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 219 establishments (-18%); 2,893 jobs (-14%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $155,260 (+6% 1 yr, +35% 5 yr); typical rent $827/mo (+5% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 12,400 vehicles a day on 61 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,139 trucks; 25 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Uptown Hutch opened in 1985 as Hutchinson Mall. Over time, anchor tenants such as Walmart, Newman's, Dillards, Sears, and JCPenney left or closed, with some spaces reused by Hobby Lobby, Dunham's Sports, TJ Maxx, and others. The interior portion was reported closed in 2026, while exterior-facing stores remain open.
Why. The record shows a pattern of anchor store departures and closures, which likely reduced foot traffic and contributed to the interior closure. No explicit cause such as debt or demolition is stated in the record.
Where it stands. The mall is currently in partial status with exterior-facing stores still operating, per the record (no owner is specified).
For a planner
- Precedent of anchor loss leading to adaptive reuse of former big-box spaces (e.g., Hobby Lobby, Dunham's Sports).
- Policy tools are not detailed in the record; potential incentives for infill or redevelopment could be considered.
- Open questions include the future of the vacant interior portion and how county population decline affects demand.
For a developer
- Site size is not stated in the record.
- Ownership and control entity are not specified.
- Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are unknown.
- Context layers such as flood risk, transit access, and environmental constraints are not provided.
- Market signals from tract data are unavailable.
What we do not know yet
- Exact site size, current owner, and detailed tenant list beyond exterior stores are missing.
- Model-extracted fields (year_opened, original_developer, after_notes, status) are marked as extraction and may be unreviewed.
- No information on floodplain, transit proximity, or environmental constraints is given.
- The record’s verified status is draft, indicating potential data incompleteness.
- Future plans for the interior closed area are not described.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Hutchinson Mall, Hutchinson, KS · Malls · opened 1985; also in KS; 0 km away
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Uptown Hutch | Rockstep Capital rockstep.com
- Council sets public hearing to consider expanded CID for Uptown Hutch Mall hutchpost.com
- Uptown Hutch mall to close interior – The Hutchinson Tribune hutchtribune.com
- Uptown Hutch Case Study: Revitalizing Ret… linkedin.com
- Visit Hutch The Mall visithutch.com
- Uptown Hutch – Peaceful Valle… peacefulvalleyfurniture.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county shrank -2.2% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1985extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Original developer | Melvin Simon & Associatesextracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | Hobby Lobby, Dunham's Sports, TJ Maxx, Ollie's Bargain Outlet, Bomgaars, Hutch Vintage Market |
| County | Reno County |
| Census division | 4 · West North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Uptown Hutch, formerly Hutchinson Mall, is a shopping mall in Hutchinson, Kansas, U.S. Built in 1986, it features Bomgaars, Hobby Lobby, Dunham's Sports, TJ Maxx, Hutch Vintage Market, and Ollie's Bargain Outlet as its anchor stores.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1983 Development confirmed
- 1985 Mall opened
- 1994 Walmart left and Hobby Lobby took former location
- 1994 Newman's closed and theater added
- 2012 Dillards announced closure
- 2014 Sears announced closure
- 2016 Dunham's Sports hiring for new store
- 2017 JCPenney announced closure
- 2021 Former JCPenney subdivided
- 2026 Interior portion closed
Sources
- Wikipedia: Uptown Hutch · supports: after notes, original developer, status, year opened
14 quoted sentences
Upon opening in March 1985, the mall had six anchor stores:
Melvin Simon & Associates (now Simon Property Group) first confirmed the mall's development in 1983.
while exterior-facing stores remained open.
The interior portion of the mall closed beginning March 23, 2026, as part of a transition to a new shopping format, while exterior-facing stores remained open.