Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Massachusetts

Hampshire Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedHadley, MA

Opened 1978.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size460,715 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability8.3 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Hampshire Mall
Exterior view of a big-box store with red and white facade under overcast sky. · verified by a vision model. Photo: JJBers from Willimantic, Connecticut, USA, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/189080131129366 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …https://www.cinemark.com/theatres/ma-hadley/cinemark-at-hampshire-mall-and-xd?ut overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
County typical rent $2,000+This site: $2,419/mo zillow · all sites with this
High-income tract ($100k+)This site: $117,580 census-acs · all sites with this
Low social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)This site: 0.16 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -2.8% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract income up 60%+ since 2013This site: +60% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Site context

FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m16: ADVANCE AUTO PARTS 7726; AMERICAN EAGLE OUTFITTERS 2034; ASPEN DENTAL; CVS PHARMACY 16960; DICKS SPORTING GOODS 176EPA FRS
Census tract 250158214005,299 people, 229 per sq mi; median household income $117,580; median gross rent $1,682; 26% renters; 0.0% vacant units; 3.7% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 8.3 of 20; 6 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.91; 13,973 jobs within 45 min by car; 10% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Hampshire County (MA), 2024162 units in 5+ unit buildings, 6 in 2–4, 150 single-family; 2023: 158 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.16; socioeconomic 0.11; housing and transport 0.58; 8% below 150% of poverty; 3% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby0 within 10 km, 2 within 25 kmcomputed
Overture Mapsplace Cinemark At Hampshire Mall and XD (movie_theater, confidence 0.94, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 43,458 m², 6.134594917297363 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.cinemark.com (alive); archived 1996–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population +1% (5,254 → 5,299); median income +60% ($73,250 → $117,580); renters 32% → 26%; median home value +39% ($326,400 → $453,300)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 58.6); expected annual loss $2.1M; community resilience very highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)7,150 jobs in 492 establishments; average annual pay $39,583; employment location quotient 1.11; employment -3.2% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20225,218 jobs; 1,475 in retail trade, 823 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 25015821400)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 47th income percentile as adults; 1.8% incarcerated at the 2010 count (218 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 69% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 5.8%; median family income $84,022; 200 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsHadley School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Pioneer Valley Chinese Immersion Charter SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation161 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025237 county-logged events: 160 thunderstorm wind, 37 hail, 15 flood, 12 lightning; $856,900 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 01035, 2026-09median list price $599,000 (-12.8% on the year); 11 active listings; median 40 days on market; 29% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023504 establishments (-8%); 7,769 jobs (-2%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $449,669 (+3% 1 yr, +28% 5 yr); typical rent $2,419/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025472 (2000 = 100); +2.8% 1 yr, +40% 5 yr, +62% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)17,440 vehicles a day (principal arterial, 2 lanes); 816 trucks; 23 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Hampshire Mall opened in 1978 as a 460,715‑square‑foot mall with a peak of 55 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is now listed as closed.

Why. The record does not state why the mall closed; only the opp_reasons note it is closed or demolished per category and mention a county population decline.

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify any owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • Opened 1978 as a 460,715 sq ft mall with 55 stores at peak.
  • Status: closed; no subsequent events recorded.
  • County population shrank –2.8% 2018‑23 (per opp_reasons).
  • Open question: reasons for closure and current ownership/control.

For a developer

  • Site size: 460,715 sq ft GLA.
  • Control: unknown/not stated in record.
  • Entitlement stage: not specified.
  • No context‑layer data (flood, transit, environment) provided in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure is not stated.
  • Current owner, operator, or controlling entity is unknown.
  • Any existing zoning, entitlements, or redevelopment plans are not recorded.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, contamination) are not provided.
  • Transit access and surrounding market demographics are missing.
  • The record is marked ‘draft’ with only one source, indicating thin verification.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • New Harbour Mall, Fall River, MA · Malls · similar GLA (385,000 sq ft); opened 1971; also in MA
  • Auburn Mall, Auburn, MA · Malls · similar GLA (582,628 sq ft); opened 1971; also in MA
  • Heritage Park Mall, Midwest City, OK · Malls · similar GLA (606,339 sq ft); opened 1978
  • Machesney Park Mall, Machesney Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (581,883 sq ft); opened 1978

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Hampshire Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • county shrank -2.8% 2018–23

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1978Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area460,715 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak55Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsJCPenney, Target, Best Buy, Dick's Sporting Goods
AddressS. Maple St. & Rt. 9
CountyHampshire
Census division1 · New England
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1978 Opened

Sources

More in Massachusetts