Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Maryland

Capital Plaza Mall

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedDemolishedLandover Hills, MD

Opened 1963. Closed 2005. Redeveloped in 2007.

Status nowDemolishedextracted, unreviewed
What it becameretailextracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2007extracted, unreviewed
Walkability15 of 20 · 15-minute 4 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Capital Plaza Mall
Capital Plaza Mall. Photo: Jshgoodwin, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile16 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
BradleesThis site: Bradlees wikipedia · all sites with this
Montgomery WardThis site: Montgomery Ward wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/110857988966470 overture · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …https://www.eventseeker.com/venue/412688-capital-plaza-mall-washington-dc overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
100k+ jobs within 45 min by transitThis site: 203,844 epa-walkability · all sites with this
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 581 units in 3 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 104,663 on 295 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 27 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.81 cdc-svi · all sites with this
High-income tract ($100k+)This site: $103,006 census-acs · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: 295 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 15 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: Part of the grounds are now occupied by a Walmart store. extraction · all sites with this
New use
Retail (continued)This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusDemolishedextracted, unreviewed
StrategyRedevelopedextracted, unreviewed
New usesretailextracted, unreviewed
What is there nowPart of the grounds are now occupied by a Walmart store.extracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2007extracted, unreviewed
RedeveloperWal-Martextracted, unreviewed

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m13: BP GAS STATION; CAPITAL PLAZA CLEANERS; DRYCLEAN 2001; DURON PAINTS & WALLCOVERINGS #3312; EXXONEPA FRS
Census tract 240338038012,500 people, 5,183 per sq mi; median household income $103,006; median gross rent $1,815; 8% renters; 8.3% vacant units; 5.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 15 of 20; 118 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 404 m; land-use mix 0.73; 255,950 jobs within 45 min by car, 203,844 by transit; 6% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)4 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 10 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 1 civic, 13 food and drink; 27 cycleway segments, 33 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Prince George County (MD), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 1,473 single-family; 2023: 1,356 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.81; socioeconomic 0.93; housing and transport 0.44; 28% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby3 within 10 km, 39 within 25 km: Landover Mall (5.1 km); The Boulevard at the Capital Centre (6.9 km); 1313 L St. (9.9 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Capital Plaza (shopping_mall, confidence 0.48, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 13,793 m², 6.967500686645508 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.eventseeker.com (down or redirecting, status 403); archived 1996–2024 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views40,588 since 2015; 2,809 in the last 12 months (-11% vs the prior 12); peak 2021-06 with 534Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -5% (2,624 → 2,500); median income +60% ($64,518 → $103,006); renters 24% → 8%; median home value +67% ($212,500 → $355,500)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)very low overall (score 2.4); expected annual loss $223,691; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km3 LIHTC properties, 581 units: Autumn Woods Phase I (366 units); Autumn Woods Phase Ii (113 units); Park View At Bladensburg (102 units)HUD LIHTC
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 4.1%; median family income $73,478; 96 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsPrince George's County Public Schools (PK-12); 5 public schools within 1 mile: Bladensburg High; Cooper Lane Elementary; Rogers Heights Elementary; Port Towns ElementaryNCES EDGE
Elevation167 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,230 establishments (+0%); 37,184 jobs (+2%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $421,250 (-1% 1 yr, +7% 5 yr); typical rent $1,957/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2024313 (2000 = 100), +35% 5 yr, +93% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)104,663 vehicles a day on 295 (freeway or expressway, 4 lanes); 3,622 trucks; 36 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Capital Plaza Mall opened in 1963 as a regional shopping center serving Landover Hills and Bladensburg. It experienced a slow decline starting in the 1970s, closed in 2005, and was demolished in 2007. Today, a Walmart store occupies part of the former mall site, with other newer retail uses added later.

Why. The record notes a slow decline beginning in the 1970s but does not specify anchor losses, competition, debt, or other demolition triggers.

Where it stands. The mall is demolished; after 2005 ownership is not stated, though Nellis Corporation is listed as owner until 2005 and a Walmart now occupies part of the grounds.

For a planner

  • Precedent: retail redevelopment led by Walmart in 2007 under a 'redevelop' strategy.
  • Policy tools: not detailed in the record.
  • Open questions: who controls the remaining land after 2005 and what future uses are permissible.

For a developer

  • Site size: not provided in the record.
  • Control: post‑2005 ownership unknown; Nellis Corporation owned until closure.
  • Entitlement stage: demolition completed 2007; current entitlements for remaining parcels unspecified.
  • Constraints: flood, transit, or environmental context layers are not listed in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Exact parcel dimensions and current ownership are missing.
  • Any floodplain, transit access, or environmental restrictions are not stated.
  • Market signals such as local income, competition, or retail demand are not included.
  • The 'verified' status is draft, indicating the data may be unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Salisbury Mall, Salisbury, MD · Malls · opened 1968; closed 2004; same strategy: redevelop
  • Landmark Mall, Alexandria, VA · Malls · opened 1965; same strategy: redevelop; 24 km away
  • Avondale Mall, DeKalb County, GA · Malls · opened 1964; closed 2001; same strategy: redevelop
  • Eastland Mall, North Versailles, PA · Malls · opened 1963; closed 2007; same strategy: redevelop

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Capital Plaza Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and state only, check the city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • closed or demolished site (sourced)
  • county grew 5.4% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,761

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1963Wikidata
Closed2005extracted, unreviewed
Stores at peak45extracted, unreviewed
AnchorsMontgomery Ward, Bradlees
CountyPrince George's County
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Capital Plaza Mall was a shopping mall located at the intersection of Annapolis Road and the Baltimore–Washington Parkway in Landover Hills, Maryland. It was built between 1961 and 1963, as a regional shopping center to serve the Bladensburg and Landover area of suburban Washington, D.C. The mall was a major attraction in Prince George's County, until its slow decline that began in the 1970s. This continued until the mall's closure in 2005, and ultimately its demolition in 2007. Part of the grounds are now occupied by a Walmart store.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1963 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 1963 Opening day festivities
  3. 2005 Mall closure
  4. 2007 Demolition of Capital Plaza Mall
  5. 2007 Walmart store opens
  6. 2015 Former Hot Shoppes building demolished
  7. 2020 Royal Farms gas station opens
  8. 2023 Chick-fil-A opens
  9. 2023 Chipotle Mexican Grill opens

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Capital Plaza Mall · supports: after notes, status, strategy, year closed
    12 quoted sentences
    This continued until the mall's closure in 2005, and ultimately its demolition in 2007.
    Part of the grounds are now occupied by a Walmart store.
    This continued until the mall's closure in 2005, and ultimately its demolition in 2007.
    The site was leased by Wal-Mart, which demolished the mall to build the first (and only, until December 4, 2013, when two Wal-Marts opened in Washington, D.C.) Wal-Mart store inside the Capital Beltway.

More in Maryland