Malls · Maryland
Towson Commons
Towson Commons is a mixed‑use mall‑office‑garage site in Towson, MD with fragmented ownership and unknown current status. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/118163636239642 overture · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 383 units in 3 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 4 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 34,301 on 146 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 47 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -10% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 8 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $119,355 census-acs · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.07 cdc-svi · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Towson Academy; Baltimore County Courthouse nps-nrhp · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 14.3 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikipedia reported |
|---|
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 62: AABSCO BODY-FENDER; ADOLPH, RICHARD MD; ALLEGHENY PARKING FAC; AMERICAN LEGION; BALTIMORE CO. - TOWSON FUEL CENTEREPA FRS |
| Census tract 24005490703 | 2,992 people, 5,056 per sq mi; median household income $119,355; median gross rent $2,118; 43% renters; 7.5% vacant units; 3.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 14.3 of 20; 150 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 809 m; land-use mix 0.55; 107,758 jobs within 45 min by car, 66,853 by transit; 9% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 8 grocers, 5 schools, 51 parks or playgrounds, 5 health, 12 civic, 89 food and drink; 47 cycleway segments, 307 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 3: Towson Academy; Baltimore County Courthouse; Baltimore County JailNPS |
| Housing permits, Baltimore County (MD), 2024 | 643 units in 5+ unit buildings, 2 in 2–4, 866 single-family; 2023: 554 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.07; socioeconomic 0.04; housing and transport 0.36; 3% below 150% of poverty; 2% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 4 within 10 km, 19 within 25 km: Towson Circle (0.2 km); Towson Marketplace (2.0 km); Rotunda Mall (7.5 km); Reisterstown Road Plaza (9.8 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Towson Commons (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Overture, meta); building footprint 7,035 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | no website listed · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 910 since 2015; 234 in the last 12 months (+129% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-09 with 119Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -1% (3,010 → 2,992); median income +44% ($82,875 → $119,355); renters 39% → 43%; median home value +23% ($390,600 → $479,900)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 5.4); expected annual loss $636,161; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 3 LIHTC properties, 383 units: Tabco Towers Apartments (200 units); Timothy House (112 units); Aigburth Vale (71 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 40,479 jobs in 2,466 establishments; average annual pay $43,151; employment location quotient 1.11; employment -4.1% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 12,719 jobs; 80 in retail trade, 533 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 24005490703)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 55th income percentile as adults; -0.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (85 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 9.5%; median family income $136,809; 80 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Baltimore County Public Schools (PK-12); 6 public schools within 1 mile: George W. Carver Center for Arts & Technology; Towson High; Home Assignments-Elementary; Home Assignments-SecondaryNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 442 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 630 county-logged events: 311 thunderstorm wind, 147 flash flood, 119 flood, 42 hail; $34,075,500 property damage reported; 2 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 21204, 2026-09 | median list price $564,500 (-5.5% on the year); 43 active listings; median 21 days on market; 14% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,467 establishments (-10%); 49,045 jobs (+2%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $358,090 (+0% 1 yr, +14% 5 yr); typical rent $1,731/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 456 (2000 = 100); -0.3% 1 yr, +27% 5 yr, +37% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 34,301 vehicles a day on 146 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,033 trucks; 29 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Towson Commons opened as a mixed‑use development containing a three‑story shopping center, a 10‑story office tower, and an 862‑space parking garage. Ownership is split among Towson Commons Retail LLC (MFI Realty & Woodmont Properties), an unnamed LA Fitness manager, and CSG Partners for the office tower and garage. The record does not specify later changes or current occupancy.
Why. The record does not mention any anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition, so causes for any change are not stated in the record.
Where it stands. Its status is listed as unknown, with retail controlled by Towson Commons Retail LLC, LA Fitness space by an unnamed manager, and the office tower and parking garage by CSG Partners.
For a planner
- Ownership fragmentation complicates unified planning decisions.
- No timeline or occupancy data limits assessment of land‑use impacts.
- Open questions include current zoning designation and any pending entitlements.
- Need to verify if any public incentives or infrastructure upgrades have been applied.
For a developer
- Site size and exact parcel boundaries are not provided in the record.
- Control is divided among three entities, requiring coordinated agreements for redevelopment.
- Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are unknown.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood risk, transit access, environmental factors) are not recorded, and market signals beyond median rent are absent.
What we do not know yet
- Opening date and subsequent operational history are missing.
- Current occupancy, vacancy rates, and tenant mix are unknown.
- Exact site dimensions and parcel boundaries are not given.
- Zoning, land‑use entitlements, and any pending approvals are unspecified.
- Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, contamination) and transit proximity are not documented.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- 1 W Pennsylvania Ave, Towson, MD 21204 - Towson Commons | LoopNet loopnet.com
- Towson Commons To Welcome Several New B… patch.com
- Towson Commons signs first tenant under new owners - Baltimore Busi… bizjournals.com
- 1 West Pennsylvania Avenue, Towson, M… commercialcafe.com
- Towson Commons 8 in Towson, MD - Cinema Treasures cinematreasures.org
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- median rent $1,566
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| County | Baltimore County |
|---|---|
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Towson Commons is a mixed-use development in Towson, Maryland, featuring a three-story shopping center, a 10-story office tower, and an 862-space parking garage. The retail portion is owned by Towson Commons Retail LLC, a joint venture between MFI Realty and Woodmont Properties, the LA Fitness space is owned by an unnamed manager, and the office tower and parking garage is owned by CSG Partners.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Sources
- Wikipedia: Towson Commons · 2026-09-13 · CC BY-SA 4.0