Malls · North Carolina
Rowan Mall
Opened 1967. Redeveloped.
documented
demolished in 1996 for the Innes Street Market, a 400,000 square foot power center.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile14 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/765497826845056 overture · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 86,501 on I-85 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 7 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.91 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: I-85 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 37159050202 hud-oz · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +113% fhfa · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +85% census-acs · all sites with thisTract population up 25%+ since 2013
This site: +28% census-acs · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: Innes Street Market extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Demolishedextracted, unreviewed documenteddemolished in 1996 for the Innes Street Market, a 400,000 square foot power center. |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed documenteddemolished in 1996 for the Innes Street Market, a 400,000 square foot power center. |
| New uses | retailextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | Innes Street Marketextracted, unreviewed |
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1981 | Sold | $2.2M closed | I. R. E Real Estate Fund Ltd. ← 5 Businessmen | Wikipedia |
| 1976 | Sold | $1.7M closed | 5 Businessmen ← Headen Realty Co. | Wikipedia |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 75, 76OpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 6: AMOCO OIL SS#833; CIRCLE K#2705115; LOWE'S OF SALISBURY, NC #495; NATIONAL TIRE & BATTERY #6152; SALLY BEAUTY SUPPLY #2742EPA FRS |
| Census tract 37159050202 | 5,426 people, 1,150 per sq mi; median household income $52,672; median gross rent $1,074; 49% renters; 14.0% vacant units; 3.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 7.7 of 20; 36 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.77; 27,235 jobs within 45 min by car; 5% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 7 grocers, 0 schools, 3 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 2 civic, 25 food and drink; 1 cycleway segments, 90 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 37159050202 (rural)HUD |
| Housing permits, Rowan County (NC), 2024 | 5 units in 5+ unit buildings, 2 in 2–4, 585 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.91; socioeconomic 0.65; housing and transport 0.95; 33% below 150% of poverty; 11% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Salisbury Mall (6.5 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Roses Dept Store,Salisbury,nc from 1978-1981+/-? in the Old Rowan Mall (shopping, confidence 0.35, from Overture, meta); building footprint 11,779 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | no website listed · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 1,904 since 2015; 569 in the last 12 months (-18% vs the prior 12); peak 2025-04 with 75Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +28% (4,257 → 5,426); median income +85% ($28,478 → $52,672); renters 52% → 49%; median home value +125% ($103,500 → $233,300)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 81.6); expected annual loss $2.1M; high: tornado, inland flooding, ice storm, cold wave; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 6,581 jobs in 418 establishments; average annual pay $47,283; employment location quotient 1.30; employment +3.9% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 5,594 jobs; 1,334 in retail trade, 1,018 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 37159050202)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 33th income percentile as adults; 4.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (763 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 25% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 29.4%; median family income $42,000; 580 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Rowan-Salisbury Schools (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 738 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 129 county-logged events: 100 thunderstorm wind, 15 hail, 7 flash flood, 4 flood; $1,497,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 28146, 2026-09 | median list price $359,700 (-9.7% on the year); 131 active listings; median 67 days on market; 22% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 431 establishments (+7%); 5,116 jobs (+17%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $275,856 (+0% 1 yr, +22% 5 yr); typical rent $1,434/mo (+5% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 296 (2000 = 100); -5.0% 1 yr, +56% 5 yr, +113% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 86,501 vehicles a day on I-85 (Interstate, 8 lanes); 26 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Rowan Mall opened in 1967 as a shopping center anchored by Roses, underwent several ownership changes through 1996, closed in 1995, and was demolished in 1996; the site is now noted as Innes Street Market.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The mall is demolished; the last owner listed in the record is I. R. E Real Estate Fund Ltd. (1981‑1996) and no current owner is specified.
For a planner
- Precedent: repeated ownership turnover observed in the record
- Policy tools: none mentioned in the record
- Open questions: what zoning applies to the site now
- Open questions: whether any reuse or redevelopment plans exist
For a developer
- Site size: not stated in the record
- Control: last known owner I. R. E Real Estate Fund Ltd.
- Entitlement stage: not stated in the record
- Context constraints (flood, transit, environment): not stated in the record
What we do not know yet
- Reason for closure and demolition is not stated
- Current owner or controlling entity after 1996 is unknown
- Site dimensions and parcel layout are missing
- Zoning, land‑use, and entitlement status are not provided
- Environmental, flood‑plain, and transit access data are absent
- Market signals from surrounding tract data are not included
- Verification status is 'draft', indicating the record may still be reviewed
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Quenby Mall, Stanly County, NC · Malls · opened 1966; same strategy: redevelop; also in NC
- North DeKalb Mall, Decatur, GA · Malls · opened 1965; same strategy: redevelop
- Landmark Mall, Alexandria, VA · Malls · opened 1965; same strategy: redevelop
- Avondale Mall, DeKalb County, GA · Malls · opened 1964; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Yesterday: An aerial view of Roses, Rowan Mall in 1974 | … salisburypost.com
- Rowan | Mall of America® mallofamerica.com
- Rowan Mall Opens - News… newspapers.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- county grew 6.4% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1967extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Original developer | Rowan Mall Shopping Center Inc.extracted, unreviewed documentedMall developer Rowan Mall Shopping Center Inc. was based out of Columbia, South Carolina. |
| Anchors | Roses, Winn Dixie, Eckerd Drug |
| County | Rowan County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Rowan Mall was a shopping mall in Salisbury, North Carolina, United States. It was anchored by Roses. It opened in 1967, closed in 1995, and was demolished in 1996.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1967 opened
- 1969 management transfer
- 1976 sale
- 1981 sale
- 1985 event
- 1989 closure
- 1994 incident
- 1995 closure
- 1996 demolition
Sources
- Wikipedia: Rowan Mall · supports: after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year opened
14 quoted sentences
Rowan Mall opened its doors... on October 25, 1967.
Mall developer Rowan Mall Shopping Center Inc. was based out of Columbia, South Carolina.
Innes Street Market
demolished in 1996 for the Innes Street Market, a 400,000 square foot power center.