Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Ohio

Southland Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedMarion, OH

Opened 1978.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size558,938 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability8.3 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile7 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Elder-BeermanThis site: Elder-Beerman wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/135735293141664 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.southland-mall.net overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -10% census-cbp · all sites with this
Shrinking countyThis site: -0.3% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Southland Mall” and “Marion” (37 hits, first 37 sampled, 10 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2007-04-13 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2007 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)J.P. Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2007-LDP1032007-04-13 to 2007-04-168-K 2, 8-K/A 1
CMBS trust (weak)COBALT CMBS Commercial Mortgage Trust 2007-C212007-04-30 to 2007-04-308-K 1
CMBS trust (weak)ML-CFC Commercial Mortgage Trust 2007-512007-04-16 to 2007-04-168-K 1

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m8: BP OIL SITE 07229; FAMILY DOLLAR #4129; KROGER #808; SEARS NO 2420; SOLO INCEPA FRS
Census tract 391010104004,943 people, 303 per sq mi; median household income $64,732; median gross rent $720; 19% renters; 5.0% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 8.3 of 20; 17 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.76; 8,646 jobs within 45 min by car; 6% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Marion County (OH), 20240 units in 5+ unit buildings, 3 in 2–4, 38 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.52; socioeconomic 0.23; housing and transport 0.90; 18% below 150% of poverty; 10% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Overture Mapsplace Southland Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Foursquare, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 40,211 m², 6.058253288269043 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.southland-mall.net (alive); archived 2001–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population -1% (4,973 → 4,943); median income +25% ($51,806 → $64,732); renters 29% → 19%; median home value +33% ($139,200 → $185,600)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 66.5); expected annual loss $1.4M; high: hail, strong wind, winter weather, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)2,561 jobs in 168 establishments; average annual pay $37,843; employment location quotient 1.11; employment +1.2% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20221,052 jobs; 252 in retail trade, 163 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 39101010400)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 46th income percentile as adults; 2.3% incarcerated at the 2010 count (270 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 75% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 15.5%; median family income $76,121; 183 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsPleasant Local School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Marion City Schools Preschool at YMCANCES EDGE
Elevation980 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-202554 county-logged events: 34 thunderstorm wind, 9 flood, 5 hail, 4 flash flood; $624,200 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 43302, 2026-09median list price $204,900 (+2.5% on the year); 113 active listings; median 41 days on market; 24% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023163 establishments (-10%); 2,612 jobs (-7%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $183,249 (+4% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,164/mo, 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025387 (2000 = 100); -2.7% 1 yr, +45% 5 yr, +80% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)13,143 vehicles a day on MARION-WALDO RD (minor arterial, 3 lanes); 7 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Southland Mall opened in 1978 as a regional shopping center in Marion, Ohio. At its peak it housed 58 stores and totaled 558,938 square feet of gross leasable area. The mall is now closed, with no further events recorded.

Why. The record does not specify why the mall closed; no anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition factors are mentioned.

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No documented precedents or policy interventions for this site in the record.
  • Open questions include the reasons for closure and potential reuse pathways.
  • Planning context such as zoning, infrastructure, or community input is not recorded.

For a developer

  • Site size is 558,938 sq ft GLA, indicating a large redevelopment footprint.
  • Ownership and current control are unknown per the record.
  • Entitlement stage, flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints, and market signals are not recorded.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unidentified.
  • No information on zoning, entitlements, or approved reuse plans.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, contamination) are not provided.
  • Transit accessibility and surrounding market conditions are missing.
  • The record is marked as 'draft' verified, indicating data may be unreviewed or incomplete.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Euclid Square Mall, Euclid, OH · Malls · similar GLA (632,043 sq ft); opened 1977; also in OH
  • Heritage Park Mall, Midwest City, OK · Malls · similar GLA (606,339 sq ft); opened 1978
  • Machesney Park Mall, Machesney Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (581,883 sq ft); opened 1978
  • Greeley Mall, Greeley, CO · Malls · similar GLA (577,200 sq ft); opened 1973

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Southland Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • 558,938 sq ft GLA (large site)

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1978Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area558,938 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak58Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsSteve & Barry's, Sears, Elder-Beerman, Regal Cinema
AddressRt. 423 & Barks Rd.
CountyMarion
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1978 Opened

Sources

More in Ohio