Malls · Ohio
Upper Valley Mall
Opened 1971 by DeBartolo, lost anchors, closed unknown date, now owned by private investment company; status unclear. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Website alive
This site: …ccchd.com overture / http check · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -16% census-cbp · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.76 cdc-svi · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $46,825 census-acs · all sites with thisTract income flat or down since 2013
This site: +2% census-acs · all sites with thisBuilding footprint 50,000+ m²
This site: 64,840 m² overture · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Upper Valley Mall” and “Springfield” (128 hits, first 100 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2004-12-08 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2004 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | BANC OF AMERICA COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE INC | 3 | 2004-12-08 to 2004-12-08 | 8-K 3 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Banc of America Commercial Mortgage Inc., Series 2004-6 | 1 | 2005-01-07 to 2005-01-07 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 74 | 2002-05-17 to 2014-10-22 | 8-K 52, 10-K 21, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/ | 20 | 2001-03-30 to 2013-03-04 | 10-K 20 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Simon Property Group 10-K, 2010-02-25 | Upper Valley Mall Springfield, OH match: exact | 739,469 | 80.4% occupied | built 1971 | 100.0% Fee | Macy's, JCPenney, Sears, Elder-Beerman, MC Sporting Goods, Chakeres Theatres |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 6: BP # 591; CVS PHARMACY #3468; CVS PHARMACY 3468; FURROW BUILDING MATERIALS; KMART #3767EPA FRS |
| Census tract 39023002502 | 3,354 people, 497 per sq mi; median household income $46,825; median gross rent $973; 35% renters; 3.7% vacant units; 0.8% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 8.2 of 20; 12 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.89; 27,288 jobs within 45 min by car; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 3 of 6 daily needs: 0 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 1 civic, 2 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 0 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Clark County (OH), 2024 | 116 units in 5+ unit buildings, 14 in 2–4, 102 single-family; 2023: 40 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.76; socioeconomic 0.83; housing and transport 0.41; 28% below 150% of poverty; 2% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Covid-19 Vaccine Location - Former Jcpenney Site At The Upper Valley Mall (laboratory, confidence 0.65, from BrightQuery, Overture); building footprint 64,840 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | (alive)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 42,138 since 2015; 2,564 in the last 12 months (-14% vs the prior 12); peak 2024-09 with 1,318Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +13% (2,969 → 3,354); median income +2% ($45,714 → $46,825); renters 32% → 35%; median home value +86% ($96,100 → $178,800)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 33.1); expected annual loss $1.1M; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 4,653 jobs in 356 establishments; average annual pay $34,537; employment location quotient 1.03; employment -0.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,095 jobs; 369 in retail trade, 107 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 39023002502)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 38th income percentile as adults; 2.8% incarcerated at the 2010 count (270 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 99% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 9.6%; median family income $68,281; 118 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Northwestern Local School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 929 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 150 county-logged events: 87 thunderstorm wind, 25 flood, 15 tornado, 14 hail; $3,002,200 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 45504, 2026-09 | median list price $219,950 (-10.2% on the year); 37 active listings; median 46 days on market; 25% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 342 establishments (-16%); 5,270 jobs (-6%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $199,692 (+3% 1 yr, +39% 5 yr); typical rent $1,199/mo (+8% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 282 (2000 = 100); +11.3% 1 yr, +60% 5 yr, +94% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 14,344 vehicles a day on TROY RD (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 294 trucks; 15 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Upper Valley Mall opened in 1971 as a DeBartolo-developed shopping center near Springfield, Ohio. It operated as a mall but eventually lost all anchor stores, leading to its closure (closure date not specified). The property is now owned by a private investment company and its current status is unknown.
Why. The record indicates the mall closed with no anchor stores, suggesting anchor loss as a cause of decline. No explicit mention of competition, debt, or demolition is provided.
Where it stands. The mall is currently owned by a private investment company and its status is unknown.
For a planner
- Located in German Township, Clark County, off US 68.
- Site size is 267,466 sq ft, offering potential for adaptive reuse.
- Current ownership and status are unclear, requiring clarification before planning.
- Open questions include exact closure date, any existing zoning or entitlements, and environmental conditions.
For a developer
- Parcel size: 267,466 sq ft of floor area.
- Controlled by a private investment company (owner of record).
- Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are not stated in the record.
- Context layers (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) are not provided.
- Market signals from surrounding tract data are absent in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Exact closure date and condition of the building are unknown.
- List of former anchor tenants and reasons for their departure are not given.
- Current physical state (standing, partially demolished, or fully cleared) is unspecified.
- Zoning, land‑use entitlements, and any liens or encumbrances are not detailed.
- Environmental factors (floodplain, soil contamination) and transit proximity are not recorded.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Salem Mall, Trotwood, OH · Malls · opened 1966; also in OH; 39 km away
- Chapel Hill Mall, Akron, OH · Malls · opened 1967; also in OH
- Fort Steuben Mall, Steubenville, OH · Malls · opened 1974; also in OH
- Randall Park Mall, Cuyahoga County, OH · Malls · opened 1976; also in OH
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Upper Valley Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Upper Valley Mall Springfield OH | Flickr flickr.com
- "Parcel Pick Up" sign on Sears exterior. Upper Valley Mall, Springfield, OH commons.wikimedia.org
- Upper Valley Mall Walk thru youtube.com
- Upper Valley Mall (Springfield, Ohio) around Christmas | Scr… scrolller.com
- Upper Valley Mall | Springfield, OH - … flickriver.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
History and original facts
| Opened | 1971Wikidata |
|---|---|
| County | Clark County |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Upper Valley Mall was a shopping mall located near Springfield, Ohio, northeast of Dayton. Built in 1971 by the Edward J. DeBartolo Corporation of Youngstown, the mall at closing had no anchor stores. The Upper Valley Mall was located west of Springfield, off US 68, in German Township, Clark County. The mall is currently owned by a private investment company. The Upper Valley Mall contained 267,466 sq ft (24,848 m2) of floor space. The mall had room for 55 stores depending on layout.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1971 Opened (Wikidata)
Sources
- Wikipedia: Upper Valley Mall · 2026-02-21 · CC BY-SA 4.0