Malls · Oregon
Eugene Mall
Eugene Mall opened 1971 as a pedestrian mall, faced conflict, was partially demolished, and returned to car traffic by 2001. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile13 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Closed or demolished, no retrofit recorded
This site: …closed extraction · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 198 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 11 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh earthquake risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; earthquake fema-nri · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $37,067 census-acs · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Eugene Hotel; McDonald Theater Building nps-nrhp · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 41039003900 hud-oz · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 98% census-acs · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +136% census-acs · all sites with thisTract population up 25%+ since 2013
This site: +60% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 19.7 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| What is there now | Streets reopened to automobile trafficextracted, unreviewed |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 34 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 1, 2, junctionOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 21: BRIDGESTONE FIRESTONE, INC.; CITIZENS BUILDING PARKING; EUGENE CITY OF; EUGENE CITY OF LIBRARY; EUGENE MUNICIPAL STORMWATER MS4EPA FRS |
| Census tract 41039003900 | 4,308 people, 8,660 per sq mi; median household income $37,067; median gross rent $999; 98% renters; 7.7% vacant units; 4.4% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 19.7 of 20; 252 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 121 m; land-use mix 0.79; 41,105 jobs within 45 min by car, 61,677 by transit; 40% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 11 grocers, 3 schools, 16 parks or playgrounds, 9 health, 11 civic, 121 food and drink; 198 cycleway segments, 281 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 41039003900 (rural)HUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 12: Eugene Hotel; McDonald Theater Building; Smeede Hotel; Quackenbush Hardware StoreNPS |
| Housing permits, Lane County (OR), 2024 | 972 units in 5+ unit buildings, 43 in 2–4, 799 single-family; 2023: 473 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.74; socioeconomic 0.91; housing and transport 0.84; 47% below 150% of poverty; 22% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 2 within 10 km, 2 within 25 km: River Ridge Golf Course (0.3 km); Shoppes at Gateway (4.7 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 4,328 m², 11.282465934753418 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 16,469 since 2015; 1,047 in the last 12 months (-12% vs the prior 12); peak 2021-05 with 640Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +60% (2,692 → 4,308); median income +136% ($15,701 → $37,067); renters 98% → 98%; median home value +96% ($229,300 → $450,000)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 93.9); expected annual loss $3.3M; high: earthquake; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 4 LIHTC properties, 125 units: Aurora Building (54 units); Market District Commons (50 units); Multi-Site Houses (15 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 18,690 jobs in 1,215 establishments; average annual pay $41,072; employment location quotient 1.20; employment -1.9% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 10,991 jobs; 722 in retail trade, 1,530 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 41039003900)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 44th income percentile as adults; 0.9% incarcerated at the 2010 count (69 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 46.0%; median family income $43,971; 648 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Eugene School District 4J (KG-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: South Eugene High SchoolNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 425 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 36 county-logged events: 17 flood, 5 thunderstorm wind, 4 debris flow, 3 heavy rain; $188,500 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 97401, 2026-09 | median list price $545,750 (-0.7% on the year); 74 active listings; median 63 days on market; 32% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,255 establishments (-2%); 20,822 jobs (+13%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $452,807 (+1% 1 yr, +12% 5 yr); typical rent $1,771/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
Summary, model-written
The Eugene Mall opened in 1971 as a car‑free pedestrian mall in downtown Eugene. Over the following decades, portions were demolished and streets were gradually reopened to automobile traffic, culminating in a 2001 voter approval to return the final section to cars. The mall closed in 2001 and its former right‑of‑way now operates as regular street grid.
Why. The record shows ongoing conflict over the mall’s purpose and use, leading to city council decisions to demolish sections and restore streets to car traffic. No explicit anchor loss, competition, or debt is cited.
Where it stands. The site is currently closed as a mall, with its former right‑of‑way returned to automobile traffic, and no controlling owner is specified in the record.
For a planner
- Precedent: early 1970s pedestrian mall concept and associated urban renewal discussions.
- Policy tools used: city council ordinance enforcing mall rules, creation of a free parking zone, demolition votes, and voter approval to reopen streets to cars.
- Open questions: long‑term viability of pedestrian malls, balancing car access with retail viability, and future reuse of the restored street grid.
For a developer
- Site size: not specified in the record.
- Control/ownership: not stated; no owner or deal information provided.
- Entitlement stage: unknown; no zoning or approval details given.
- Context constraints: no flood, transit, or environmental constraints mentioned.
- Market signals: tract‑level data not included in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Missing site size and current land use details.
- Ownership/control and any existing leases or deeds are not provided.
- Zoning, entitlement status, and any pending approvals are absent.
- No information on flood risk, transit access, or environmental conditions.
- Market demographics or tract‑level economic indicators are not included.
- The record is marked as “draft” verified status, indicating possible unreviewed or model‑extracted fields.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Skyline Mall, Falls Church, VA · Malls · opened 1977; closed 2002
- South Park Mall, Shreveport, LA · Malls · opened 1975; closed 2005
- Newmarket North Mall, Hampton, VA · Malls · opened 1975; closed 2000
- East Lake Square Mall, Tampa, FL · Malls · opened 1976; closed 1998
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Eugene Mall, Eugene, Oregon | Mister Harrys misterharrys.com
- Eugene Mall Construction commons.wikimedia.org
- Eugene Mall Eugene Oregon 1980 | United States - Oregon - Eugene ... hippostcard.com
- Eugene Mall Oregon fity.club
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- county grew 3.7% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1971extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2001extracted, unreviewed |
| County | Lane County |
| Census division | 9 · Pacific |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
The Eugene Mall was a car-free zone in the heart of Eugene, Oregon, United States, designed to encourage pedestrian access to shopping and entertainment areas. Dedicated on February 13, 1971, the mall opened amid three days of fanfare and dreams of a revitalized downtown. Conflict over the scope and use of the mall began immediately and continued for 30 years until the last remaining parts of the mall were opened to automobile traffic. At that time, former Eugene mayor Ruth Bascom commented that the city's dreams for a bright future just hadn't worked. Many residents, however, shared the much-earlier view of a former downtown merchant, that Eugene had sustained more damage from the mall than it would have from a natural disaster.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1945 Fred Cuthbert proposed closing Willamette Street to cars to create a landscaped pedestrian oasis
- 1959 Section of Broadway closed for Eugene Centennial Celebration
- 1963 Lane County planning director predicted future automated mall
- 1968 City council discussed federally funded urban renewal project to build the Eugene Mall
- 1970 Groundbreaking for the Eugene Mall
- 1971 Mall opened
- 1971 City council adopted ordinance enforcing rules at the mall
- 1973 City created free parking zone around the mall
- 1984 City council voted to demolish portion of mall on Willamette Street and return street to automobile traffic
- 2001 Voters approved reopening final section of the mall to motor traffic
Sources
- Wikipedia: Eugene Mall · supports: after notes, status, year closed, year opened
14 quoted sentences
Dedicated on February 13, 1971, the mall opened amid three days of fanfare and dreams of a revitalized downtown.
In a special election September 18, 2001, Eugene residents approved by 67 percent a plan to reopen the final section of the mall to motor traffic.
Voters reopened Olive Street to motorized traffic in 1992, and in 1995 Willamette Street was reopened.
By 2001, a three-block section of Broadway was all that remained of the Eugene Mall, and voters were asked to remove it.
More in Oregon
Eastport PlazaPortland, OR · 1996Operating
Jantzen Beach MallPortland, OR · 2012Redeveloped · outdoor shopping mall
Lloyd CenterPortland, ORClosed