Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Oregon

Lloyd Center

Imported, unreviewedClosedPortland, OR

Lloyd Center opened 1960, expanded over decades, closed 2026; status, ownership, and future use are unknown per record the site · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Lloyd Center
Lloyd Center. Photo: Michael Barera, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile22 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
J. C. PenneyThis site: J. C. Penney wikipedia · all sites with this
Nordstrom's ShoesThis site: Nordstrom's Shoes wikipedia · all sites with this
WoolworthThis site: Woolworth wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Attention rising (Wikipedia views +50% y/y)This site: 29,916 views, +82% wikimedia · all sites with this
Closed or demolished, no retrofit recordedThis site: …closed extraction · all sites with this
High attention (20k+ Wikipedia views a year)This site: 29,916 wikimedia · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/172606666023 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.lloydcenter.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
100k+ jobs within 45 min by transitThis site: 234,581 epa-walkability · all sites with this
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 304 units in 5 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 5 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 155,043 on Interstate Route 84 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 180 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 6 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High earthquake riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
High natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)This site: Relatively High; earthquake fema-nri · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: Interstate Route 84 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
National Register place within 500 mThis site: Hancock Street Fourplex; Olsen and Weygandt Building nps-nrhp · all sites with this
Rail within 800 mThis site: Convention Center, Lloyd Center/Northeast 11th Avenue, Northeast 7th & Halsey openstreetmap · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 72% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 18.2 epa-walkability · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedextracted, unreviewed
documented
The mall closed permanently on August 8, 2026.

en.wikipedia.org

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Lloyd Center” and “Portland” (304 hits, first 100 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. A strong match to a commercial-mortgage trust means the mall very likely backed, or backs, a securitised loan; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2003-06-13 (a sample date, not the issuance date); Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (strong)WACHOVIA COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC22003-06-13 to 2003-08-088-K 2
Public owner (strong)GLIMCHER REALTY TRUST572002-03-11 to 2014-07-178-K 47, 10-K 6, 10-Q 3, 10-K/A 1
Public owner (strong)BOYKIN LODGING CO122001-03-23 to 2004-08-0510-Q 6, 8-K 3, 10-K 3
Public owner (weak)W2007 Grace Acquisition I Inc32001-04-17 to 2015-05-0110-K 2, 8-K 1
Public owner (weak)American Assets Trust, Inc. (AAT)22011-05-20 to 2011-07-018-K 2
Public owner (weak)Hospitality Investors Trust, Inc.12017-03-31 to 2017-03-318-K 1

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2012Glimcher Realty Trust 10-K, 2013-02-22Lloyd Center Portland, OR
match: exact
1,478,057
in-line 743,794
100.0% occupied$346Apollo College Barnes & Noble H&M Lloyd Center Ice Rink Lloyd Mall Cinemas Macy’s Marshalls Nordstrom Ross Dress for Less Sears
2009Glimcher Realty Trust 10-K, 2010-03-11Lloyd Center Portland, OR
match: exact
1,475,460
in-line 762,422
100.0% occupied$348Apollo College Barnes & Noble Lloyd Center Ice Rink Lloyd Mall Cinemas Macy’s Marshalls Nordstrom Ross Dress for Less Sears

Site context

Transit within 800 mConvention Center, Lloyd Center/Northeast 11th Avenue, Northeast 7th & Halsey, Northeast 7th & Holladay, Northeast 7th Avenue, Northeast Grand & Broadway (rail); 20 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 km1, 300B, 301, 302AOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m17: 1400 NE MULTNOMAH ST; BP OIL SITE 11025 WEIDLER & 15TH; CENTRAL CITY PAINTING; COMPUTER STORE THE; FIVE STAR CLEANERSEPA FRS
Census tract 410510024023,336 people, 9,583 per sq mi; median household income $69,966; median gross rent $1,683; 72% renters; 8.8% vacant units; 7.4% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 18.2 of 20; 242 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 339 m; land-use mix 0.83; 123,537 jobs within 45 min by car, 234,581 by transit; 22% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 6 grocers, 5 schools, 33 parks or playgrounds, 8 health, 9 civic, 52 food and drink; 180 cycleway segments, 524 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
National Register places within 500 m3: Hancock Street Fourplex; Olsen and Weygandt Building; Freiwald, Gustav, HouseNPS
Housing permits, Multnomah County (OR), 2024905 units in 5+ unit buildings, 100 in 2–4, 1,035 single-family; 2023: 2,397 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.61; socioeconomic 0.45; housing and transport 0.85; 12% below 150% of poverty; 20% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby5 within 10 km, 6 within 25 km: Bowstring Truss House (2.1 km); Circuit City (2.1 km); Mall 205 (7.4 km); Eastport Plaza (7.5 km); Jantzen Beach Mall (9.1 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Lloyd Center (shopping_mall, confidence 1.00, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 45,366 m², 15.0 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.lloydcenter.com (alive); archived 2000–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views195,953 since 2015; 29,916 in the last 12 months (+82% vs the prior 12); peak 2026-08 with 9,850Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population -6% (3,547 → 3,336); median income +54% ($45,398 → $69,966); renters 71% → 72%; median home value +42% ($403,800 → $574,900)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively high overall (score 94.0); expected annual loss $3.8M; high: earthquake; community resilience very highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km5 LIHTC properties, 304 units: Buckman Heights (144 units); Weidler Commons (51 units); Albina Corner (48 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)37,024 jobs in 2,806 establishments; average annual pay $48,312; employment location quotient 0.76; employment -2.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20224,487 jobs; 634 in retail trade, 454 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 41051002402)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 38th income percentile as adults; 3.1% incarcerated at the 2010 count (121 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 11.9%; median family income $75,950; 224 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsPortland School District 1J (KG-12); 5 public schools within 1 mile: Buckman Elementary School; Irvington Elementary School; da Vinci Middle School; Harriet Tubman Middle SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation148 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-202527 county-logged events: 8 heavy rain, 5 debris flow, 4 thunderstorm wind, 3 funnel cloud; $161,000 property damage reported; 4 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 97232, 2026-09median list price $426,175 (+37.5% on the year); 40 active listings; median 75 days on market; 28% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20232,783 establishments (-4%); 43,723 jobs (+17%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $496,807 (+0% 1 yr, -1% 5 yr); typical rent $1,683/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025590 (2000 = 100), +8% 5 yr, +28% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)155,043 vehicles a day on Interstate Route 84 (Interstate, 6 lanes); 5,427 trucks; 9 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Lloyd Center opened in 1960 as a major Portland mall, underwent multiple expansions over the decades, and was recorded as closed in 2026. The record notes early celebrity events and store expansions but provides no further operational details after closure.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The site is listed as closed per the record, with no owner or controlling entity identified in the provided data.

For a planner

  • Precedent of phased expansions (1960s‑1970s) shows capacity for incremental growth.
  • Open question regarding the cause of closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, etc.) affects reuse planning.
  • Need to verify current zoning and land‑use designations for the Lloyd District.
  • Potential for adaptive reuse or redevelopment given the mall’s historic significance.

For a developer

  • Site size and parcel boundaries are not specified in the record.
  • Ownership and control entities are unknown, affecting acquisition feasibility.
  • Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are not documented.
  • No context‑layer data (flood, transit, environment) are provided to assess constraints.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
  • Current owner or controlling party is unknown.
  • Parcel details, size, and boundaries are missing.
  • Zoning, land‑use, and any entitlement status are not provided.
  • Context‑layer risks (floodplain, transit access, environmental constraints) are absent.
  • Tract‑level market signals (median rent, demographics) are not included.
  • The record is marked as 'draft' and verified only by extraction, indicating potential data quality issues.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Mall 205, Portland, OR · Malls · closed 2022; also in OR; 7 km away
  • Boulevard Mall, Erie County, NY · Malls · opened 1962; closed 2026
  • Eastpoint Mall, Dundalk, MD · Malls · opened 1956; closed 2026
  • Eastport Plaza, Portland, OR · Malls · opened 1960; also in OR; 8 km away

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished site (sourced)
  • median rent $1,582

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1960extracted, unreviewed
Closed2026extracted, unreviewed
documented
The mall closed permanently on August 8, 2026.

en.wikipedia.org

Stores at peak100extracted, unreviewed reported
Original developerRalph B. Lloydextracted, unreviewed
documented
Ideas for Lloyd Center were conceived as early as 1905. The mall was named after southern Californian oil company executive Ralph B. Lloyd (1875–1953), who aspired to build 'a different kind of shopping center' on the land in NE Portland.

en.wikipedia.org

ArchitectJohn Graham, Jr.
AnchorsJ. C. Penney, Woolworth, Meier & Frank, Best's, Nordstrom's Shoes, J. J. Newberry
CountyMultnomah County
Census division9 · Pacific
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Lloyd Center was a shopping mall in the eponymous Lloyd District of Portland, Oregon, United States, northeast of downtown, across the Willamette River. Opened in 1960, it was initially said to have been the largest shopping mall in the world, or at least the Pacific Northwest.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1960 Mall opened
  2. 1960 Vice President Richard Nixon spoke
  3. 1960 Crown Princess Michiko and Crown Prince Akihito visited
  4. 1960 Ella Fitzgerald performed at opening ceremonies
  5. 1963 Andy Williams performed
  6. 1965 Louis Armstrong performed
  7. 1968 Senator Robert R. Kennedy spoke
  8. 1971 Lloyd Center's five largest stores listed
  9. 1972 First significant expansion added six stores
  10. 1973 JCPenney remodeled and expanded

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Lloyd Center · supports: original developer, status, year closed, year opened
    14 quoted sentences
    Opened in 1960
    The mall closed permanently on August 8, 2026.
    Ideas for Lloyd Center were conceived as early as 1905. The mall was named after southern Californian oil company executive Ralph B. Lloyd (1875–1953), who aspired to build 'a different kind of shopping center' on the land in NE Portland.
    The mall closed permanently on August 8, 2026.

More in Oregon