Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Tennessee

College Square

Imported, unreviewedClosedMorristown, TN

Opened 1988.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size523,013 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability9.2 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

College Square
Exterior view of a shopping center entrance with people sitting and walking near the main doors. · verified by a vision model. Photo: Walker Kinsler, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
BelkThis site: Belk wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/269047423257487 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.collegesquaremall.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 30,371 on 32 fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.95 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $45,376 census-acs · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +140% fhfa · all sites with this
Scale
Building footprint 50,000+ m²This site: 50,699 m² overture · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “College Square” and “Morristown” (136 hits, first 100 sampled, 7 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2007-08-15 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2007 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)Morgan Stanley Capital I Trust 2007-TOP2712007-08-15 to 2007-08-158-K 1
Public owner (strong)CBL & ASSOCIATES PROPERTIES INC (CBL)802001-04-02 to 2018-02-098-K 44, 10-K 17, 10-Q 15, 10-K/A 3
Public owner (strong)CBL & ASSOCIATES LIMITED PARTNERSHIP372014-02-05 to 2018-02-098-K 27, 10-Q 7, 10-K 3
Public owner (weak)Wheeler Real Estate Investment Trust, Inc. (WHLR, WHLRD, WHLRL, WHLRP)12014-10-14 to 2014-10-148-K 1

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2016CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2017-03-01College Square Morristown, TN
match: exact
450,398
in-line 129,921
99.0% leasedbuilt 1988 / renovated 1999100.0%$265Belk, Carmike Cinema, Dick's Sporting Goods, Goody's, Kohl's, Planet Fitness , T.J. Maxx
2009CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2010-02-22College Square Morristown, TN
match: exact
486,196
in-line 295,869
92.0% leasedbuilt 1988 / renovated 1999100.0%$244Belk, JC Penney, Kohl's, Sears
2006CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01College Square Morristown, TN
match: exact
493,734
in-line 153,265
99.0% leasedbuilt 1988 / renovated 1999100.0%$261Belk, Goody’s, JC Penney, Kohl’s, Sears

Site context

FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m4: MASENGILL SPRINGS LOT #7; MCDONALD'S; MORRISTOWN OLIVE GARDEN; TENNESSEE E TRANS BOYDS CRKEPA FRS
Census tract 470631002006,390 people, 2,275 per sq mi; median household income $45,376; median gross rent $944; 38% renters; 9.7% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 9.2 of 20; 46 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.89; 17,060 jobs within 45 min by car; 0% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Hamblen County (TN), 202448 units in 5+ unit buildings, 35 in 2–4, 215 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.95; socioeconomic 0.93; housing and transport 0.82; 52% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Morristown Main Street / "Skymart" project (3.2 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace College Square Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.99, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 50,699 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.collegesquaremall.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population +7% (5,960 → 6,390); median income +22% ($37,250 → $45,376); renters 40% → 38%; median home value +56% ($94,700 → $147,500)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 29.1); expected annual loss $994,708; high: lightning; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)4,181 jobs in 236 establishments; average annual pay $36,537; employment location quotient 1.28; employment +2.4% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20224,044 jobs; 675 in retail trade, 698 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 47063100200)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 35th income percentile as adults; 3.1% incarcerated at the 2010 count (727 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 13% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 19.7%; median family income $45,220; 544 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsHamblen County School District (PK-12); 4 public schools within 1 mile: Hamblen County Alternative School; Hillcrest Elementary; John Hay Elementary; Meadowview Middle SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation1,351 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-202572 county-logged events: 56 thunderstorm wind, 9 flash flood, 4 flood, 3 hail; $12,235,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 37813, 2026-09median list price $339,450 (+11.3% on the year); 47 active listings; median 79 days on market; 36% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023256 establishments (-3%); 4,329 jobs (+11%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $269,584 (+3% 1 yr, +35% 5 yr); typical rent $1,447/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025229 (2000 = 100); +1.1% 1 yr, +42% 5 yr, +140% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)30,371 vehicles a day on 32 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 2,585 trucks; 26 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

College Square opened in 1988 as a 523,013-square-foot mall with 55 stores at its peak. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed. No additional details about its operation or closure are provided.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The site is currently closed; the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No documented precedents or policy interventions are recorded for this site.
  • Open questions include the timing and reasons for closure and current ownership.
  • Potential reuse planning would require clarification of zoning, land use, and any existing entitlements.

For a developer

  • Site size is 523,013 sq ft GLA based on the record.
  • Control and ownership are not specified in the record.
  • Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are unknown.
  • No context-layer data (flood, transit, environment) are provided, so constraints are unclear.
  • Market signals from tract data are absent in the record.

What we do not know yet

  • Closure date is missing; only status 'closed' is known.
  • Reason for closure (anchor loss, competition, debt, demolition) is not stated.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is not identified.
  • No information on zoning, entitlements, or pending development proposals.
  • Context-layer constraints (floodplain, transit access, environmental issues) are unreviewed and unknown.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: College Square on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
  • 523,013 sq ft GLA (large site)

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1988Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area523,013 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak55Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsJCPenney, Sears, Kohl's, Belk
AddressState Hwys. 11E & 25E
CountyHamblen
Census division6 · East South Central
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1988 Opened

Sources

More in Tennessee