Malls · Virginia
Tanglewood Mall
Tanglewood Mall opened in 1973 with 804k sq ft and 70 stores; now closed, ownership and reuse plans unknown yet · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile9 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Belk
This site: Belk wikipedia · all sites with thisJCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/297671635994 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.shoptanglewood.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 50,018 on 220 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: 220 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.20 cdc-svi · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 63% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | junctionOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 5: FIRESTONE COMPLETE AUTO CARE #020826; KROGER #202-29; LENS LABS; RITZ CAMERA; VDOT ROANOKE 0419 080 940 UPC 115460EPA FRS |
| Census tract 51161030803 | 3,784 people, 3,244 per sq mi; median household income $86,424; median gross rent $1,322; 63% renters; 7.8% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Roanoke County (VA), 2024 | 228 units in 5+ unit buildings, 14 in 2–4, 118 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.20; socioeconomic 0.25; housing and transport 0.18; 11% below 150% of poverty; 1% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: American Viscose Plant Historic District (5.7 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Tanglewood Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 42,200 m², 6.920693874359131 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.shoptanglewood.com (alive); archived 2004–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 16.3); expected annual loss $611,806; high: strong wind; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 4,770 jobs in 287 establishments; average annual pay $36,802; employment location quotient 1.29; employment +8.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 4,796 jobs; 932 in retail trade, 590 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 51161030803)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 49th income percentile as adults; 2.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (396 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 7.2%; median family income $67,275; 150 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Roanoke County Public Schools (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Green Valley ElementaryNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 1,120 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 173 county-logged events: 101 thunderstorm wind, 22 hail, 19 flash flood, 17 flood; $3,841,250 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 24018, 2026-09 | median list price $399,475 (-4.3% on the year); 155 active listings; median 57 days on market; 38% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 244 establishments (-4%); 4,200 jobs (+12%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $335,201 (+3% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,586/mo (+6% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 386 (2000 = 100); +1.8% 1 yr, +64% 5 yr, +94% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 50,018 vehicles a day on 220 (freeway or expressway, 6 lanes); 6,779 trucks; 22 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Tanglewood Mall opened in 1973 and operated as a regional mall with up to 70 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed.
Why. The record does not specify any reasons for closure, such as anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition.
Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed, but the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- - No prior redevelopment plans or policy interventions are noted in the record.
- - Open question: what zoning changes or incentives could facilitate reuse.
- - Need to verify if any environmental reviews or floodplain designations apply.
For a developer
- - Site size: 804,222 sq ft GLA (large footprint).
- - Ownership and control status unknown per record.
- - Entitlement stage not documented; no zoning or permit details provided.
- - Market signal: opp_score 25.0, citing large site and county population growth of 3.4% (2018‑2023).
What we do not know yet
- - Missing detailed timeline after 1973 (store closures, anchor tenant changes).
- - Reasons for closure not stated in record.
- - Current owner, property condition, and any liens or debts unknown.
- - No information on zoning, flood risk, environmental constraints, or transit access.
- - Data verified as draft; some facts may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Manassas Mall, Manassas, VA · Malls · similar GLA (825,000 sq ft); opened 1972; also in VA
- Coliseum Mall, Hampton, VA · Malls · similar GLA (991,000 sq ft); opened 1973; also in VA
- Cloverleaf Mall, Richmond, VA · Malls · similar GLA (800,000 sq ft); opened 1972; also in VA
- Heritage Park Mall, Midwest City, OK · Malls · similar GLA (606,339 sq ft); opened 1978
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Tanglewood Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Tanglewood, Roanoke VA – Hackney Real Estate Partners hackneyrealestate.com
- Tanglewood Mall Roanoke, VA - 8660926673 commons.wikimedia.org
- former JCPenney; Tanglewood Mall, Roanoke, Virginia flickr.com
- Tanglewood Mall in Roanoke Virginia by Blackwater Real Estate blackwaterdevco.com
- Photos at Tanglewood Mall - Shopping Mall … foursquare.com
- Tanglewood mall theater roanoke va - beyondsrat beyondsrat.weebly.com
- 4420 Electric Rd, Roanoke, VA 24014 - Tanglewood Mall | LoopNet loopnet.com
- Tanglewood Mall under new management wset.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- 804,222 sq ft GLA (large site)
- county grew 3.4% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1973Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 804,222 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 70Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Steve & Barry's, T.J. Maxx, JCPenney, Belk |
| Address | Rt. 419 & I-581 |
| County | Roanoke |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1973 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Virginia
Cloverleaf MallRichmond, VA · 2009Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets
Coliseum MallHampton, VA · 2010Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed useNewmarket North MallHampton, VA · 2000Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: office
Tysons Corner CenterTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: residential
Tysons GalleriaTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: office