Malls · Virginia
Manassas Mall
Opened 1972.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisMacy's
This site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/125181277530036 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …https://linktr.ee/manassasmallva overture / http check · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 35,798 on 234 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,267/mo zillow · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.80 cdc-svi · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 64% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 14.3 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 1 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 11: 7 ELEVEN 32286; B.P. AMOCO #824; EXXONMOBIL OIL CORP 25586; GOODYEAR AUTO SERVICE CTR - MANASSAS; HESS STATION 46215EPA FRS |
| Census tract 51153901403 | 7,489 people, 3,897 per sq mi; median household income $83,986; median gross rent $1,902; 64% renters; 4.9% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 14.3 of 20; 52 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 384 m; land-use mix 0.8; 84,152 jobs within 45 min by car, 11,444 by transit; 12% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Prince William County (VA), 2024 | 625 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 793 single-family; 2023: 656 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.80; socioeconomic 0.81; housing and transport 0.88; 21% below 150% of poverty; 8% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 2 within 10 km, 17 within 25 km: Former Manassas Ice & Fuel Co. site (3.9 km); Trinity Centre (9.7 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Manassas Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 32,946 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | linktr.ee (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +21% (6,192 → 7,489); median income +20% ($70,036 → $83,986); renters 69% → 64%; median home value +81% ($222,600 → $403,500)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 21.7); expected annual loss $795,026; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 20,343 jobs in 1,114 establishments; average annual pay $39,310; employment location quotient 1.41; employment -1.2% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 4,276 jobs; 1,783 in retail trade, 563 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 51153901403)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 46th income percentile as adults; 2.1% incarcerated at the 2010 count (543 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 0% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 14.0%; median family income $67,067; 156 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Prince William County Public Schools (PK-12); 5 public schools within 1 mile: Unity Reed High; Unity Braxton Middle; West Gate Elementary; Suella G. Ellis ElementaryNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 220 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 380 county-logged events: 171 thunderstorm wind, 165 flood, 25 flash flood, 17 hail; $6,177,500 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 20109, 2026-09 | median list price $424,950 (+7.2% on the year); 54 active listings; median 28 days on market; 19% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,179 establishments (+10%); 23,699 jobs (+17%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $578,429 (+1% 1 yr, +20% 5 yr); typical rent $2,267/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2022 | 282 (2000 = 100); +19.0% 1 yr, +79% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 35,798 vehicles a day on 234 (minor arterial, 6 lanes); 990 trucks; 37 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Manassas Mall opened in 1972 and operated as a regional mall until it closed; the record does not specify a closure date or subsequent use, leaving the site currently closed.
Why. The record does not state any reasons for the mall’s closure, such as anchor loss, competition, debt, or demolition.
Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed, but the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- No specific precedents or policy tools are documented in the record.
- Open questions include the timeline of closure, ownership status, and any zoning or reuse plans.
For a developer
- Site size: 825,000 sq ft GLA.
- Control and entitlement stage are unknown per record.
- Context layers (flood, transit, environment) are not provided.
- Market signals: county population grew 6.1% 2018‑2023 and median rent is $2,002.
What we do not know yet
- Closure date is unknown.
- Cause of closure is not stated.
- Current owner or controlling entity is not identified.
- Entitlement status and any existing zoning or reuse approvals are missing.
- The record is marked as draft and verified by only one source, indicating thin data.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Landmark Mall, Alexandria, VA · Malls · similar GLA (880,000 sq ft); opened 1965; also in VA
- Tanglewood Mall, Roanoke, VA · Malls · similar GLA (804,222 sq ft); opened 1973; also in VA
- Coliseum Mall, Hampton, VA · Malls · similar GLA (991,000 sq ft); opened 1973; also in VA
- Cloverleaf Mall, Richmond, VA · Malls · similar GLA (800,000 sq ft); opened 1972; also in VA
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Manassas Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and state only, check the city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Manassas Mall Entrance, VA editorial photography. Ima… dreamstime.com
- Indoor pickleball facility to open at Manassas Mall fauquiernow.com
- MANASSAS MALL – MANASSAS, VA - LIONHEART CAPITAL lheartcapital.com
- Manassas Mall | Flickr flickr.com
- Manassas Mall Seeks To Fill Void As Dulles Expo Center Closes: Report patch.com
- Rise, Fall, And Reinvention Of Manassas Mall In Manassas, VA ... bestattractions.org
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- 825,000 sq ft GLA (large site)
- county grew 6.1% 2018–23
- median rent $2,002
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1972Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 825,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 89Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Macy's, JCPenney, Sears, Target |
| Address | Rts. 668 & 234 (Sudley Rd.) |
| County | Prince William |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1972 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Virginia
Cloverleaf MallRichmond, VA · 2009Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streetsColiseum MallHampton, VA · 2010Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed useNewmarket North MallHampton, VA · 2000Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: office
Tysons Corner CenterTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: residential
Tysons GalleriaTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: office