Malls · District of Columbia
The Shops at National Place
The Shops at National Place opened 1984 as a festival marketplace, now operates street‑level retail/dining with office above, near Metro Center. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile19 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/145429305471280 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://eatatnationalplace.com overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 24 within 10 km computed · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 291 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,484/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 5 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh hurricane risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; hurricane, tornado, inland flooding, hail, strong wind fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $151,659 census-acs · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.20 cdc-svi · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Bond Building; Union Trust Building nps-nrhp · all sites with thisRail within 800 m
This site: Federal Triangle, Gallery Place, McPherson Square openstreetmap · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 69% census-acs · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -1.8% census-acs · all sites with thisOffice
This site: …street-level retail and dining, with office space on the upper levels extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …street-level retail and dining, with office space on the upper levels extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Operatingextracted, unreviewed documentedNational Place is a large, 16-story building consisting of street-level retail and dining, with office space on the upper levels. |
|---|---|
| What is there now | street-level retail and dining, with office space on the upper levelsextracted, unreviewed documentedNational Place is a large, 16-story building consisting of street-level retail and dining, with office space on the upper levels. |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | Federal Triangle, Gallery Place, McPherson Square, Metro Center (rail); 13 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 10, 2, 2A; 2B, 3OpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 99: 1001 PENNSYLVANIA AVENUE; 1200 NEW YORK AVENUE (AAAS); 1201 F STREET LP; 1201 PENNSYLVANIA AVENUE; 1250 H STREET OWNER LLCEPA FRS |
| Census tract 11001005802 | 1,936 people, 7,347 per sq mi; median household income $151,659; median gross rent $3,449; 69% renters; 17.8% vacant units; 22.2% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 5 grocers, 12 schools, 318 parks or playgrounds, 5 health, 15 civic, 198 food and drink; 291 cycleway segments, 668 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 15: Bond Building; Union Trust Building; Sun Building; American Security and Trust CompanyNPS |
| Housing permits, Washington DC (DC), 2024 | 1,506 units in 5+ unit buildings, 85 in 2–4, 146 single-family; 2023: 2,779 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.20; socioeconomic 0.09; housing and transport 0.85; 12% below 150% of poverty; 52% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 24 within 10 km, 50 within 25 km: Old Post Office Pavilion (0.4 km); Greenleaf Gardens (0.5 km); Kelly Miller Walk-Ups (0.5 km); Wray (0.5 km); Greenleaf Additions (0.5 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Shops At National Place (shopping_mall, confidence 0.62, from Overture, meta); building footprint 4,152 m², 43.01 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | eatatnationalplace.com (alive); archived 2013–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 1,191 since 2015; 1,191 in the last 12 months; peak 2026-09 with 205Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 96.5); expected annual loss $7.0M; high: hurricane, tornado, inland flooding, hail, strong wind; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 160 units: Mass Place (160 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 0 jobs in 1,969 establishments; employment location quotient 0.00; employment +0.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 58,565 jobs; 1,246 in retail trade, 5,577 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 11001005802)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 53th income percentile as adults; 0.2% incarcerated at the 2010 count (62 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 14.1%; median family income $250,001; 91 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | District of Columbia Public Schools (PK-12); 7 public schools within 1 mile: Thomson ES; School Without Walls HS; Thaddeus Stevens Early Learning Center; Center City PCS - ShawNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 28 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 291 county-logged events: 149 thunderstorm wind, 60 flood, 55 flash flood, 19 hail; $29,188,500 property damage reported; 3 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,653 establishments (-5%); 21,170 jobs (+4%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $567,289 (-1% 1 yr, -10% 5 yr); typical rent $2,484/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 29,549 vehicles a day on CONSTITUTION AVE NW (principal arterial, 5 lanes); 585 trucks; 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
The Shops at National Place opened in 1984 as a festival marketplace on the block bounded by Pennsylvania Avenue and F Street. It continues to operate with street‑level retail and dining on the ground floor and office space on the upper floors of its 16‑story building.
Why. The record does not specify anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition as causes of any change.
Where it stands. The site is currently operating with street‑level retail/dining and office space, per the record (no owner is specified).
For a planner
- Originated as a 1984 festival marketplace, showing an early mixed‑use retail‑office model.
- Located adjacent to Metro Center station, indicating transit‑oriented development relevance.
- Open questions include long‑term retail viability, potential adaptive reuse, and applicable zoning or incentives.
For a developer
- 16‑story building with ground‑floor retail/dining and upper‑floor office; exact site size not provided.
- Adjacent to Metro Center station offers strong transit access; no flood or environmental constraints noted in the record.
- Ownership control, entitlement stage, and any deed restrictions are not disclosed in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Exact parcel size and current ownership/control are not stated in the record.
- Financial performance, lease terms, and anchor tenant status are unknown.
- The record does not mention any planned renovations, zoning designation, or flood‑zone status.
- The opportunity score (15.0) is based on a model‑extracted median rent of $1,900, which remains unreviewed.
- Verification status is draft, indicating the data may be incomplete.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Laurel Mall, Laurel, MD · Malls · opened 1979; 27 km away
- Tysons Galleria, Tysons Corner, VA · Malls · opened 1988; 17 km away
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Mayor Marion Barry speaks at the opening of The Shops at National Place at 13th and F Streets, Washington, D.C., in the commons.wikimedia.org
- The Shops at National Place in Washington, D.C. tripsavvy.com
- The Shops at National Place - a photo on Flickriver flickriver.com
- The Shops At National Place … a-better-place.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- median rent $1,900
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1984extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| County | District of Columbia |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Abandoned shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
National Place is a large, 16-story building consisting of street-level retail and dining, with office space on the upper levels. It is adjacent to the National Press Building, and originally housed The Shops at National Place and The Shops at the National Press Building, a three-level, enclosed shopping mall in downtown Washington, D.C., opening in 1984 and 1985 as a festival marketplace. It is located on the block bounded by Pennsylvania Avenue, F Street, between 13th and 14th Streets NW, the former site of the Munsey Trust Building. It was located near the Metro Center station of the Washington Metro system.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1984 Opened as festival marketplace
Sources
- Wikipedia: The Shops at National Place · supports: after notes, status, year opened
4 quoted sentences
opening in 1984 and 1985 as a festival marketplace.
National Place is a large, 16-story building consisting of street-level retail and dining, with office space on the upper levels.
National Place is a large, 16-story building consisting of street-level retail and dining, with office space on the upper levels.
opening in 1984 and 1985 as a festival marketplace.
More in District of Columbia
Center Market, Washington, D.C.Washington, DC · 1931DemolishedFort Dupont AdditionsWashington, DCRedevelopment, proposed · completely torn down and rebuiltGreenleaf AdditionsWashington, DCRedevelopment, proposed · completely torn down and rebuilt