Malls · Florida
Seminole Towne Center
Seminole Towne Center, a super-regional mall in Sanford, FL near I-4 and SR 417/429, has unknown current status and ownership. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Attention fading (Wikipedia views −40% y/y)
This site: 10,419 views, -41% wikimedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/171509282304 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://washingtonprime.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 96,000 on I-4 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisHigh hurricane risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; hurricane, tornado, inland flooding, strong wind, lightning fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.77 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: I-4 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 63% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Seminole Towne Center” and “Sanford” (220 hits, first 100 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 50 | 2002-05-17 to 2013-02-04 | 8-K 45, 10-K 4, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | CTO Realty Growth, Inc. (CTO, CTO-PA) | 11 | 2024-05-02 to 2025-02-20 | 8-K 9, 10-Q 2 |
| Public owner (strong) | WEINGARTEN REALTY INVESTORS /TX/ | 8 | 2006-10-31 to 2019-02-22 | 8-K 7, 10-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | Washington Prime Group Inc. | 28 | 2015-02-26 to 2020-11-06 | 8-K 22, 10-Q 4, 10-K 1, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | Washington Prime Group, L.P. | 4 | 2019-04-25 to 2020-11-06 | 10-Q 4 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Washington Prime Group 10-K, 2017-02-24 | Seminole Towne Center Sanford, FL match: exact | 1,110,030 | 97.8% occupied | built 1995 | 22.4% Fee | Burlington Coat Factory, Dick's Sporting Goods, Dillard's, JCPenney, Macy's, Sears, United Artists Theatre | |
| 2014 | Washington Prime Group 10-K, 2015-02-26 | Seminole Towne Center Sanford, FL match: exact | 1,104,690 | 89.9% occupied | built 1995 | 45.0% Fee | Macy's, Dillard's, JCPenney, Sears, United Artists Theatre, Dick's Sporting Goods, Burlington Coat Factory | |
| 2009 | Simon Property Group 10-K, 2010-02-25 | Seminole Towne Center Sanford, FL match: exact | 1,125,976 | 89.2% occupied | built 1995 | 45.0% Fee | Macy's, Dillard's, Belk, JCPenney, Sears, United Artists Theatre, H&M |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 5: I4 AT SR 46 INTERCHANGE; PETCO #2703; SEMINOLE TOWN CENTER OUTPARCEL 6; SEMINOLE TOWNE CENTER WENDY'S; SMOKEY BONES BBQEPA FRS |
| Census tract 12117020601 | 9,763 people, 1,792 per sq mi; median household income $64,858; median gross rent $1,541; 63% renters; 6.3% vacant units; 1.7% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 3 of 6 daily needs: 0 grocers, 0 schools, 1 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 0 civic, 22 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 27 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Seminole County (FL), 2024 | 1,493 units in 5+ unit buildings, 23 in 2–4, 764 single-family; 2023: 1,228 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.77; socioeconomic 0.68; housing and transport 0.50; 24% below 150% of poverty; 5% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 2 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place Seminole Towne Center (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 24,402 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | washingtonprime.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 71,990 since 2015; 10,419 in the last 12 months (-41% vs the prior 12); peak 2025-01 with 3,442Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 91.8); expected annual loss $3.3M; high: hurricane, tornado, inland flooding, strong wind, lightning; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 26,109 jobs in 1,728 establishments; average annual pay $42,665; employment location quotient 1.23; employment -3.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 16,316 jobs; 2,897 in retail trade, 1,974 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 12117020601)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 38th income percentile as adults; 1.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (303 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 22% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 20.3%; median family income $51,912; 500 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Seminole County School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: BENTLEY ELEMENTARY SCHOOLNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 60 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 100 county-logged events: 45 hail, 30 thunderstorm wind, 6 flood, 6 funnel cloud; $273,858,800 property damage reported; 3 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 32771, 2026-09 | median list price $382,475 (-3.3% on the year); 267 active listings; median 69 days on market; 31% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,638 establishments (-2%); 26,451 jobs (+7%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $400,341 (-0% 1 yr, +22% 5 yr); typical rent $1,856/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 96,000 vehicles a day on I-4 (Interstate, 7 lanes); 14,208 trucks; 21 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Seminole Towne Center was a super-regional enclosed shopping mall in Sanford, Florida, located at the interchange of Interstate 4, SR 417, and SR 429, about 20 miles north of Orlando. The record does not specify an opening date or any subsequent changes. Its current status is listed as unknown.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site's current status and controlling owner are unknown according to the record.
For a planner
- No specific precedents or policy tools are mentioned in the record.
- Open questions include current ownership, occupancy levels, and physical condition of the mall.
For a developer
- Site size and degree of control are not specified in the record.
- Entitlement stage, zoning, flood risk, and environmental constraints are unknown.
What we do not know yet
- Opening date and original anchor tenant list are not provided.
- Date of any closure or decline in occupancy is unknown.
- Current owner, controlling entity, and any recent deals are not listed.
- Physical condition, vacancy rate, and any planned reuse are not described.
- The record is marked as draft with only one source, indicating thin data quality.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Seminole Towne Center - My Heathr… myheathrowflorida.com
- Seminole Towne Center Sanford, FL July 2017 (36593021534) commons.wikimedia.org
- Seminole Towne Center | 40+ Photos | Abandoned Florida abandonedfl.com
- Seminole Towne Center (Sanford, FL) | Flickr flickr.com
- Seminole Towne Center (Sanford, FL) : r/deadmalls reddit.com
- Going to the Seminole Towne Center Mall in Sanford, Florida | A Complete Ghost Town youtube.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county grew 4.4% 2018–23
- median rent $1,686
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| County | Seminole County |
|---|---|
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Seminole Towne Center was a super-regional enclosed shopping mall in Sanford, Florida. The mall was located at the interchange between Interstate 4, Seminole County Expressway (SR 417), and Wekiva Parkway (SR 429), approximately 20 miles (32 km) north of Orlando.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Sources
- Wikipedia: Seminole Towne Center · 2026-09-26 · CC BY-SA 4.0
More in Florida
Centre of TallahasseeTallahassee, FL · 2015Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, mixed use
Dadeland MallKendall, FL · 2012Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, open-air retail and restaurantEast Lake Square MallTampa, FL · 1999Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: officeFashion MallPlantation, FL · 2018Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: mixed useLakeland MallLakeland, FL · 1999Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: religious