Malls · Minnesota
Westridge Mall
Opened 1978.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile8 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Herberger's
This site: Herberger's wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://www.westridgemallff.com overture / http check · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; tornado, inland flooding, strong wind, winter weather, cold wave fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $45,076 census-acs · all sites with thisTract income flat or down since 2013
This site: +9% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 11: APPLE TREE DENTAL; DOLLAR TREE 03177; FERGUS FALLS; FERGUS MOTORS; HARBOR FREIGHT TOOLS USA INC #3360EPA FRS |
| Census tract 27111960900 | 5,452 people, 402 per sq mi; median household income $45,076; median gross rent $786; 43% renters; 12.2% vacant units; 2.2% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 9.0 of 20; 14 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.94; 5,168 jobs within 45 min by car; 11% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Otter Tail County (MN), 2024 | 10 units in 5+ unit buildings, 8 in 2–4, 71 single-family; 2023: 60 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.62; socioeconomic 0.56; housing and transport 0.93; 26% below 150% of poverty; 11% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Westridge Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.70, from Foursquare, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 17,652 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.westridgemallff.com (down or redirecting, status 0)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -1% (5,532 → 5,452); median income +9% ($41,373 → $45,076); renters 40% → 43%; median home value +49% ($105,400 → $157,200)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 92.0); expected annual loss $3.1M; high: tornado, inland flooding, strong wind, winter weather, cold wave; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 2,506 jobs in 230 establishments; average annual pay $34,412; employment location quotient 1.12; employment -4.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 5,287 jobs; 921 in retail trade, 457 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 27111960900)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 48th income percentile as adults; 2.0% incarcerated at the 2010 count (488 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 8% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 10.3%; median family income $61,875; 198 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Fergus Falls Public School District (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: Lincoln School; Early Childhood Special EducationNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 1,255 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 305 county-logged events: 155 thunderstorm wind, 110 hail, 14 funnel cloud, 14 tornado; $5,546,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 56537, 2026-09 | median list price $287,675 (-14.4% on the year); 63 active listings; median 51 days on market; 18% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 252 establishments (-3%); 2,798 jobs (-4%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $334,672 (+6% 1 yr, +28% 5 yr); typical rent $981/mo, 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 357 (2000 = 100); +3.1% 1 yr, +47% 5 yr, +80% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 10,026 vehicles a day on Lincoln Ave (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 8 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Westridge Mall opened in 1978 as a 213,000‑square‑foot mall with up to 29 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed. No details on closure date or subsequent use are provided.
Why. The record does not specify reasons for closure; it only notes the mall is closed and mentions county population growth of 3.9% from 2018‑2023 as an opportunity factor. Therefore, causes such as anchor loss, competition, debt, or demolition are not stated.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed; ownership information is not provided in the record.
For a planner
- No documented reuse plans or policy interventions are recorded.
- Open questions include zoning designation, potential adaptive reuse, and infrastructure capacity.
- The single source and draft verification limit confidence in any planning assumptions.
For a developer
- Site size: 213,000 sq ft of gross leasable area.
- Ownership and control are unknown; no deed or lease details are recorded.
- Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are not described.
- Context layers (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) are not mentioned in the record.
- Market signal: opportunity score 10.0, with note of 3.9% county growth 2018‑2023 suggesting modest regional demand.
What we do not know yet
- Closure date and reason are not recorded.
- Current ownership, property condition, and any existing liens or encumbrances are unknown.
- Zoning, land‑use permissions, and any prior redevelopment proposals are absent.
- Environmental or flood‑hazard data are not provided.
- The record is marked “draft” with only one source, indicating potential incompleteness or unreviewed extraction.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Hutchinson Mall, Hutchinson, MN · Malls · similar GLA (284,115 sq ft); opened 1981; also in MN
- Connswater Shopping Centre, · Malls · similar GLA (162,000 sq ft); opened 1983
- Copper Country Mall, Houghton, MI · Malls · similar GLA (257,866 sq ft); opened 1981
- Tiffin Mall, Tiffin, OH · Malls · similar GLA (195,506 sq ft); opened 1980
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Westridge Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Fergus Falls' WestRidge Mall heading to auction - Alexandria … echopress.com
- Westridge Mall | AQRE Advisors aqreadvisors.com
- 1901 W. Lincoln Ave, Fergus Falls, MN 56537 | Crexi.com crexi.com
- Walking around the Westridge Mall in Fergus Falls Minnesota youtube.com
- WestRidge Mall - Fergus Falls otchs.org
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- county grew 3.9% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1978Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 213,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 29Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Vacant, Dollar Tree, Herberger's, West Ridge Cinema |
| Address | I-94 & Hwy. 210 |
| County | Otter Tail |
| Census division | 4 · West North Central |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1978 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02