Malls · Minnesota
Hutchinson Mall (Hutchinson)
Hutchinson Mall opened 1981, peaked at 35 stores, and is closed; ownership, reuse plans, and closure causes are currently unknown. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/108301332532915 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.shophutchmall.com/ overture / http check · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -19% census-cbp · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Hutchinson Mall” and “Hutchinson” (114 hits, first 100 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2006-11-13 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2006 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | GS Mortgage Securities Trust 2006-GG8 | 1 | 2006-11-13 to 2006-11-13 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 40 | 2001-05-11 to 2007-02-28 | 8-K 18, 10-K 12, 10-Q 10 |
| Public owner (weak) | DEVELOPERS DIVERSIFIED REALTY CORP (SITC, SITC-PA) | 26 | 2001-04-02 to 2009-02-23 | 8-K 23, 10-K 3 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/ | 23 | 2001-03-30 to 2007-03-16 | 10-K 12, 10-Q 10, 8-K 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 11: CAR SHOP - HUTCHINSON; CASHWISE HUTCHINSON 3011; DR DANIEL G CARLSON DDS; FRESENIUS KIDNEY CARE HUTCHINSON DIALYSIS; H C S LLCEPA FRS |
| Census tract 27085950302 | 2,944 people, 1,411 per sq mi; median household income $72,384; median gross rent $967; 36% renters; 11.9% vacant units; 1.1% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, McLeod County (MN), 2024 | 0 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 50 single-family; 2023: 18 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.47; socioeconomic 0.37; housing and transport 0.78; 11% below 150% of poverty; 12% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Hutchinson Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 10,739 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.shophutchmall.com (alive); archived 2010–2024 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 39.8); expected annual loss $1.1M; high: tornado, strong wind, winter weather, cold wave; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 127 establishments (-19%); 2,080 jobs (-3%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $297,246 (+2% 1 yr, +25% 5 yr); typical rent $1,370/mo, 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 332 (2000 = 100); -5.7% 1 yr, +48% 5 yr, +91% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 12,483 vehicles a day on 15 (principal arterial, 2 lanes); 872 trucks; 13 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Opened in 1981 as a mall with a peak of 35 stores, Hutchinson Mall operated for several decades before closing. The record provides no further events after opening, so its subsequent use and closure date are not detailed.
Why. The record does not state any reasons for the mall's closure or decline.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and ownership information is not provided in the record.
For a planner
- No documented reuse plans, zoning changes, or policy interventions are recorded.
- Open question: what municipal incentives or redevelopment frameworks have been considered for the site?
- Lack of data on surrounding land use, infrastructure, or environmental assessments limits planning analysis.
For a developer
- Site size: approximately 284,115 sq ft of GLA.
- Current control and entitlement stage are unknown from the record.
- No context-layer data (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) are supplied to assess development feasibility.
- Market signals from surrounding tract data are not present in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
- Current owner or controlling entity is unidentified.
- Any post‑closure reuse proposals, demolition status, or interim uses are unknown.
- Zoning, land‑use, and entitlement status are not documented.
- Environmental, flood, and transit context layers are missing, presenting unknown risks.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Westridge Mall, Fergus Falls, MN · Malls · similar GLA (213,000 sq ft); opened 1978; also in MN
- Osceola Square Mall, Kissimmee, FL · Malls · similar GLA (331,127 sq ft); opened 1986
- Auburn Mall, Auburn, ME · Malls · similar GLA (297,915 sq ft); opened 1979
- Copper Country Mall, Houghton, MI · Malls · similar GLA (257,866 sq ft); opened 1981
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Dead mall: 1980s time capsule Hutchinson Mall - YouTube youtube.com
- Food Court Neon Hutchinson Mall - Hutchinson, Kansas flickr.com
- Mall Map – Hutchinson Mall shophutchmall.com
- New business planned for Hutchinson Mall – Twin Cities twincities.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1981Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 284,115 sq ftEsri 2014 layer |
| Stores at peak | 35Esri 2014 layer |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Hennen's Furniture, Cash Wise Supermarket, Jo-Ann Fabrics |
| Address | Trunk Hwy 15 & Century Ave. |
| County | McLeod |
| Census division | 4 · West North Central |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1981 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Minnesota
Mankato Place MallMankato, MN · 2012Reinhabited · Reinhabitation, government office
Maplewood MallMaplewood, MNPartial RegreenedOakdale MallOakdale, MN · 2012Redeveloped · Regreened · Redevelopment: retail, senior residential Partial regreening:…602-634 S. Front St. and 112 W. Liberty St.Mankato, MNRedevelopment, proposed · a six-story building, which would house 150 apartments, a…