Malls · Mississippi
Leigh Mall
Leigh Mall opened 1973, sold 2019, demolished/rebuilt, renamed Columbus Place 2023; now operating under Hull Property Group amid county population decline. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisAuction
This site: …scope: property research-deals · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.dutchpharmacy.net/ overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -13% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 28087000900 hud-oz · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 50% census-acs · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -2.1% census-acs · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …shopping mall extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Operatingextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| What is there now | shopping mallextracted, unreviewed |
| Retrofit year | 2023extracted, unreviewed |
| Redeveloper | Hull Property Groupextracted, unreviewed |
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Auction | $3.5M closed | Hull Property Group | Wikipedia |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | junctionOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · 0.2 PCT ANNUAL CHANCE FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 4: ASPEN DENTAL; O'REILLY AUTO PARTS STORE 945; PPM CONSULTANTS INC, LEIGH MALL CHEVRON; SEARS NUMBER 2086 7326EPA FRS |
| Census tract 28087000901 | 2,128 people, 203 per sq mi; median household income $54,755; median gross rent $962; 50% renters; 18.9% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 0 schools, 1 parks or playgrounds, 2 health, 2 civic, 14 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 0 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 28087000900 (rural)HUD |
| Housing permits, Lowndes County (MS), 2024 | 0 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 130 single-family; 2023: 0 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.43; socioeconomic 0.26; housing and transport 0.67; 11% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Family Pharmacy at Leigh Mall Shell (pharmacy, confidence 0.92, from Microsoft, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 31,558 m², 4.7883830070495605 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.dutchpharmacy.net (alive); archived 2011–2026 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 2,102 since 2015; 960 in the last 12 months (+18% vs the prior 12); peak 2025-12 with 105Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 78.5); expected annual loss $2.0M; high: tornado, strong wind, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 1 LIHTC properties, 100 units: Castle Oak Apts (100 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 274 establishments (-13%); 3,187 jobs (-12%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $187,535 (+3% 1 yr, +15% 5 yr); typical rent $1,403/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2021 | 138 (2000 = 100); +1.9% 1 yr, +26% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 26,422 vehicles a day on US HIGHWAY 45 (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 1,532 trucks; 35 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Leigh Mall opened in 1973 developed by Sterling Properties, featuring anchors such as Dollar Tree, Hobby Lobby, Planet Fitness, Burke's Outlet and a vacant JCPenney space. In 2019 Hull Property Group bought the mall at auction for $3.5 million, demolished and rebuilt it, and renamed it Columbus Place in 2023. The property continues to operate as Columbus Place.
Why. The record shows a long‑time anchor vacancy (former JCPenney) and notes that the surrounding county shrank –2.1% from 2018‑2023, suggesting anchor loss and local demographic decline contributed to the retrofit.
Where it stands. The mall is currently operating as Columbus Place under the ownership of Hull Property Group, which acquired it at auction in 2019.
For a planner
- Precedent: acquisition via auction followed by demolition and rebranding (2019‑2023).
- Policy tools: none explicitly mentioned in the record.
- Open questions: how to maintain retail viability amid county population loss; what reuse options exist for the remaining vacant anchor; long‑term fiscal impact of the retrofit.
For a developer
- Site size: not specified in the record.
- Control: Hull Property Group has owned the property since 2019.
- Entitlement stage: retrofit completed in 2023; property now operates as Columbus Place.
- Market signals: opportunity score 0.0 tied to a –2.1% county population decline 2018‑2023; no flood, transit, or environmental constraints noted.
What we do not know yet
- Exact site size and parcel boundaries are not provided.
- Detailed lease terms, current tenant mix beyond the named anchors, and post‑retrofit financial performance are unknown.
- Floodplain, transit access, and environmental constraints are not mentioned in the record.
- The record is marked as “draft” verified status, indicating possible unreviewed or model‑extracted fields.
- Specific demolition scope and rebuilding costs are not disclosed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Locations Hub - Leigh Mall rs.locationshub.com
- Hull considers major renovations to Leigh Mall - The Dispatch cdispatch.com
- Leigh Mall (Columbus, MS) youtube.com
- The Mid-South Retail Blog: Leigh Mall, Columbus, MS (Bonus: Metr… midsouthretail.blogspot.com
- Leigh Mall auction opens - Home - WCBI TV | Telling Your Story wcbi.com
- Leigh Mall in Columbus, MS … scrolller.com
- Leigh Mall Getting a New Look, Name linkedin.com
- Leigh Mall - AZexplained azexplained.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county shrank -2.1% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1973extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Original developer | Sterling Propertiesextracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Hobby Lobby, Dollar Tree, Planet Fitness, Burke's Outlet |
| County | Lowndes County |
| Census division | 6 · East South Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Columbus Place, formerly Leigh Mall, is a shopping mall in Columbus, Mississippi, United States, constructed in 1973 and marketed by Sterling Properties. The anchor stores were Dollar Tree, Hobby Lobby, Planet Fitness, and Burke's Outlet, with a vacant anchor store that was once JCPenney. In 2019 it was purchased at auction for US$3.5 million by the Hull Property Group, which after much demolition and rebuilding renamed it Columbus Place in 2023.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1973 Constructed
- 2019 Purchased at auction by Hull Property Group
- 2023 Renamed Columbus Place after demolition and rebuilding
Sources
- Wikipedia: Leigh Mall · supports: after notes, original developer, status, year opened
7 quoted sentences
constructed in 1973
marketed by Sterling Properties
Columbus Place, formerly Leigh Mall, is a shopping mall
Columbus Place, formerly Leigh Mall, is a shopping mall
More in Mississippi
Oxford MallOxford, MS · 2013Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: educationTupelo MallTupelo, MS · 2014Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: healthcareCorporate SquareBrookhaven, MS · 2025Redevelopment · Regreening, approvedGreenville MallGreenville, MSClosed