Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Ohio

Woodland Mall

Imported, unreviewedClosedBowling Green, OH

Opened 1987.

Status nowClosedEsri 2014 layer reported
Site size270,502 sq ft GLAEsri 2014 layer reported
Retrofit yearNot yet retrofittedstatus reported
Walkability8.3 of 20EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Elder-BeermanThis site: Elder-Beerman wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, uncheckedThis site: …closed import, no source · all sites with this
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/80089154693 overture · all sites with this
Website aliveThis site: …http://www.woodlandbg.com overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
High tornado riskThis site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusClosedEsri 2014 layer reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Woodland Mall” and “Bowling Green” (23 hits, first 23 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2007-03-29 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2007 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (weak)ML-CFC Commercial Mortgage Trust 2007-522007-03-29 to 2007-03-298-K 2

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m5: COOPER STANDARD; HINDLEY ELECTRONICS, INC.; MARATHON SPECIAL PRODS; THAYER CHEVROLET BODY SHOP; THAYER CHEVROLET TOYOTAEPA FRS
Census tract 391730225004,172 people, 66 per sq mi; median household income $62,059; median gross rent $867; 36% renters; 10.6% vacant units; 0.2% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 8.3 of 20; 7 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.9; 22,713 jobs within 45 min by car; 11% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Wood County (OH), 202448 units in 5+ unit buildings, 124 in 2–4, 319 single-family; 2023: 70 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.62; socioeconomic 0.55; housing and transport 0.95; 31% below 150% of poverty; 5% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby0 within 10 km, 1 within 25 kmcomputed
Overture Mapsplace Woodland Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 30,874 m², 6.217075347900391 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.woodlandbg.com (alive); archived 2007–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Tract change 2013–2023population -5% (4,405 → 4,172); median income +14% ($54,615 → $62,059); renters 30% → 36%; median home value +16% ($147,000 → $170,100)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively low overall (score 55.6); expected annual loss $1.7M; high: tornado, winter weather, ice storm; community resilience very highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 kmnoneHUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)6,134 jobs in 351 establishments; average annual pay $33,829; employment location quotient 0.83; employment -1.2% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20224,383 jobs; 555 in retail trade, 120 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 39173022500)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 43th income percentile as adults; 0.9% incarcerated at the 2010 count (362 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 70% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 19.0%; median family income $84,444; 79 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsBowling Green City School District (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: Bowling Green High School; Bowling Green Middle SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation673 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-202594 county-logged events: 69 thunderstorm wind, 17 hail, 5 flood, 2 lightning; $443,200 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 43402, 2026-09median list price $334,900 (-12.2% on the year); 24 active listings; median 29 days on market; 11% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023358 establishments (-6%); 6,428 jobs (+5%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $242,240 (+3% 1 yr, +22% 5 yr); typical rent $1,585/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025282 (2000 = 100); +2.6% 1 yr, +41% 5 yr, +72% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)16,168 vehicles a day on N MAIN ST (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 439 trucks; 5 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Woodland Mall opened in 1987 and operated as a regional mall with a peak of 61 stores. The record shows no further events after opening, and the site is currently listed as closed.

Why. The record does not specify reasons for the mall's closure or any anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition.

Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.

For a planner

  • No documented redevelopment proposals or policy interventions are recorded.
  • Zoning and land‑use status for the site are not specified in the record.
  • Open question: what future use or public incentives might be applicable.

For a developer

  • Site size: 270,502 sq ft of GLA.
  • Current ownership and control are unknown per the record.
  • Entitlement stage, zoning approvals, and any context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not provided.
  • Market signals from surrounding tract data are absent.

What we do not know yet

  • Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
  • Current owner or controlling entity is unidentified.
  • Any redevelopment plans, zoning changes, or public incentives are unknown.
  • Context‑layer data (flood risk, transit access, environmental constraints) are missing.
  • Market‑area demographics and retail demand indicators are not provided.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Woodland Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1987Esri 2014 layer
Gross leasable area270,502 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported
Stores at peak61Esri 2014 layer reported
AnchorsSteve & Barry's, Sears, Elder-Beerman, Dunham's Sports
AddressNorth Main St. (Rt. 25) @ Newton Rd.
CountyWood
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesListed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked.

Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Timeline

  1. 1987 Opened

Sources

More in Ohio