Malls · Ohio
North Towne Square
Opened 1980. Closed 2005. Redeveloped in 2021.
documented
The mall closed in 2005, city government acquired the building in 2011 and demolished it in 2013.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Montgomery Ward
This site: Montgomery Ward wikipedia · all sites with thisPublic body
This site: City of Toledo county-parcels · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -0.8% census-acs · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: …vacant land extraction · all sites with thisLogistics and industrial
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Demolishedextracted, unreviewed documentedThe mall closed in 2005, city government acquired the building in 2011 and demolished it in 2013. |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed documentedIn 2021, the City of Toledo announced the site would be sold to NorthPoint Development with intentions to build a $70 million industrial park with a spring 2022 groundbreaking. |
| New uses | industrialextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | vacant landextracted, unreviewed documentedIn 2021, the City of Toledo announced the site would be sold to NorthPoint Development with intentions to build a $70 million industrial park with a spring 2022 groundbreaking. |
| Retrofit year | 2021extracted, unreviewed reported |
| Redeveloper | NorthPoint Developmentextracted, unreviewed reported |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “North Towne Square” and “Toledo” (6 hits, first 6 sampled). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (strong) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP L P /DE/ | 2 | 2001-03-30 to 2002-04-01 | 10-K 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 4 | 2002-05-17 to 2003-02-07 | 8-K 4 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 4: KOEPLINGERS BAKERY; MOBIS US ELECTRIFIED POWERTRAIN LLC; MONTGOMERY WARD & COMPANY; SMOKES FOR LESSEPA FRS |
| Census tract 39095005705 | 1,617 people, 684 per sq mi; median household income $54,808; median gross rent $910; 34% renters; 6.5% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 1 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 0 civic, 2 food and drink; 1 cycleway segments, 8 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Lucas County (OH), 2024 | 122 units in 5+ unit buildings, 4 in 2–4, 287 single-family; 2023: 336 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.43; socioeconomic 0.70; housing and transport 0.12; 12% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 3 within 25 km: Portside Festival Marketplace (8.2 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 13,931 m², 6.008890628814697 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 36,514 since 2015; 2,587 in the last 12 months (-4% vs the prior 12); peak 2016-12 with 513Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 19.0); expected annual loss $756,092; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 20,692 jobs in 1,350 establishments; average annual pay $37,546; employment location quotient 1.07; employment -1.6% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,366 jobs; 159 in retail trade, 186 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 39095005705)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 40th income percentile as adults; 1.9% incarcerated at the 2010 count (549 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 3% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 22.2%; median family income $55,692; 347 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Washington Local School District (PK-12); 0 public schools within 1 mileNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 597 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 119 county-logged events: 85 thunderstorm wind, 25 hail, 4 flash flood, 3 tornado; $15,976,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 43612, 2026-09 | median list price $119,900 (+2.0% on the year); 55 active listings; median 40 days on market; 14% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,333 establishments (-8%); 22,356 jobs (-3%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $176,069 (+5% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr); typical rent $1,198/mo (+6% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 240 (2000 = 100); -5.3% 1 yr, +68% 5 yr, +89% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 24,168 vehicles a day on E ALEXIS RD (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 1,479 trucks; 22 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
North Towne Square opened in 1980 as a Simon Property Group–developed mall, operated until its closure in 2005 after being sold in 2002. The City of Toledo acquired the building in 2011, demolished it in 2013, and in 2021 announced a sale to NorthPoint Development for an industrial park on the vacant site.
Why. The record does not specify reasons for the mall’s decline or demolition, such as anchor store loss, competition, or debt.
Where it stands. The site is currently vacant land; the City of Toledo owned it from 2011 to 2013 and announced a sale to NorthPoint Development in 2021 for industrial use.
For a planner
- Precedent: conversion of a demolished mall to industrial use after municipal acquisition.
- Policy tools used: city acquisition, demolition, and negotiated sale to a private developer.
- Open questions: final zoning approvals, environmental review status, and community impact mitigation.
For a developer
- Site size: 386,600 sq ft of former GLA.
- Control: vacant land under pending sale to NorthPoint Development (announced 2021).
- Entitlement stage: sale announced; detailed site plan and permits not shown in record.
- Constraints: not specified in the record (flood, transit, environmental).
- Market signals: not specified in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Missing anchor tenant and lease details that could explain closure.
- No information on local competition or market conditions at time of decline.
- Environmental conditions, flood risk, and transit access are not described.
- Post‑2021 ownership status and completion of the sale to NorthPoint Development are unverified.
- Several fields are model‑extracted and the record is flagged as draft, indicating potential data quality issues.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Prestonwood Mall, Dallas, TX · Malls · similar GLA (462,277 sq ft); opened 1979; closed 2004
- Rolling Acres Mall, Akron, OH · Malls · opened 1975; closed 2008; same strategy: redevelop
- Southwyck Mall, Toledo, OH · Malls · closed 2008; same strategy: redevelop; also in OH
- Lockport Mall, South Lockport, NY · Malls · similar GLA (340,000 sq ft); closed 2006; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- North Towne Square - Alchetron, The Free Social Encyclopedia alchetron.com
- North Towne Square en-academic.com
- Dead and Dying retail: North Towne Square Mall in Toledo, Ohio deadanddyingretail.com
- Toledo’s NorthTowne Sq… amazon.com
- North Towne Square Mall in Toledo, Ohio | This m… flickr.com
- City of Toledo sells former North Towne Square Mall property nbc24.com
- North Towne Square Mall: Toledo, Ohio on DeadMalls.com deadmalls.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- public owner
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1980Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2005extracted, unreviewed documentedThe mall closed in 2005, city government acquired the building in 2011 and demolished it in 2013. |
| Gross leasable area | 386,600 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 14Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Original developer | Simon Property Groupextracted, unreviewed documentedNorth Towne Square was developed in 1980 by Simon Property Group of Indianapolis, Indiana. |
| Anchors | Builder's Square, Target, Sam's Club, Montgomery Ward, Lasalle's, The Lion Store |
| Address | SEC of Alexis & Lewis Rds. |
| County | Lucas |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres. Know it? Tell us.
Background
NorthTowne Square, briefly known as Lakeside Centre, was a shopping mall in Toledo, Ohio developed by Simon Property Group.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1980 Opened (Wikidata)
- 1980 Developed by Simon Property Group
- 1981 Mall opened
- 2002 Sold by Simon Property Group
- 2005 Mall closed
- 2011 City of Toledo acquired building
- 2013 Building demolished
- 2021 Announced sale to NorthPoint Development for industrial park
Sources
- Wikipedia: North Towne Square · supports: after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
12 quoted sentences
The mall closed in 2005, city government acquired the building in 2011 and demolished it in 2013.
North Towne Square was developed in 1980 by Simon Property Group of Indianapolis, Indiana.
In 2021, the City of Toledo announced the site would be sold to NorthPoint Development with intentions to build a $70 million industrial park with a spring 2022 groundbreaking.
The mall closed in 2005, city government acquired the building in 2011 and demolished it in 2013.
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Ohio
Portside Festival MarketplaceToledo, OH · 1997Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: science museum
Richland MallOntario, OH · 2015Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: healthcare