Malls · Utah
The Gateway
The Gateway, a 20.9‑acre closed mall in Salt Lake City, is listed for sale by Vestar with unknown closure reasons. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile3 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Closed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisListed for sale
This site: research-deals · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 8 within 10 km computed · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedpublic reporting reported |
|---|
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-01 | Listed | — | ← Vestar | buildingsaltlake.com 2026-01-23 |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “The Gateway” and “Salt Lake City” (292 hits, first 100 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2003-08-15 (a sample date, not the issuance date); Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | JP MORGAN CHASE COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP | 3 | 2004-05-26 to 2005-05-26 | 8-K 3 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | BEAR STEARNS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC | 2 | 2003-08-15 to 2003-08-18 | 8-K/A 1, 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | INLAND WESTERN RETAIL REAL ESTATE TRUST INC | 25 | 2005-05-17 to 2016-09-21 | 8-K 18, 8-K/A 4, 10-K 2, 10-Q 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | NEXIA HOLDINGS INC | 8 | 2006-10-13 to 2009-02-06 | 10-Q 3, 8-K 2, 10-Q/A 2, 10-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | HCP, INC. (DOC) | 3 | 2012-02-14 to 2026-02-03 | 10-K 2, 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | KBS Real Estate Investment Trust III, Inc. (KBSR) | 2 | 2012-05-11 to 2026-05-14 | 10-Q 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | Howard Hughes Corp | 2 | 2011-04-08 to 2016-02-29 | 10-K 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 2 | 2005-03-16 to 2006-03-08 | 10-K 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | WEINGARTEN REALTY INVESTORS /TX/ | 2 | 2017-02-22 to 2017-04-25 | 8-K 2 |
| Public owner (weak) | INLAND RETAIL REAL ESTATE TRUST INC | 1 | 2005-06-21 to 2005-06-21 | 8-K 1 |
Site context
| Housing permits, Salt Lake County (UT), 2024 | 1,579 units in 5+ unit buildings, 123 in 2–4, 2,848 single-family; 2023: 5,437 in 5+Census BPS |
|---|---|
| Other atlas sites nearby | 8 within 10 km, 11 within 25 km: Salt Lake Hardware Building (0.5 km); Crossroads Plaza (1.0 km); Main Street Malls (1.0 km); ZCMI Center Mall (1.2 km); 265 E. 100 S. (1.7 km)computed |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 70,766 jobs in 4,228 establishments; average annual pay $51,018; employment location quotient 0.89; employment -2.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 9,388 jobs; 548 in retail trade, 965 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 49035102501)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 38th income percentile as adults; 3.0% incarcerated at the 2010 count (104 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 28.1%; median family income $70,179; 281 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Salt Lake City School District (PK-12); 3 public schools within 1 mile: Mary W. Jackson School; Washington School; West HighNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 4,247 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 199 county-logged events: 152 thunderstorm wind, 27 hail, 9 flash flood, 6 flood; $28,244,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 84101, 2026-09 | median list price $501,750 (-16.3% on the year); 49 active listings; median 51 days on market; 24% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 3,495 establishments (+3%); 73,296 jobs (+30%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $567,330 (+1% 1 yr, +13% 5 yr); typical rent $1,644/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 27,084 vehicles a day on NORTH TEMPLE ST - 100 N (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
The Gateway opened as a mall in Salt Lake City (opening date not recorded). It later closed and, as of January 2026, is listed for sale by Vestar.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site is closed and currently listed for sale by Vestar.
For a planner
- No precedents or policy tools documented in the record.
- Open questions include the reasons for closure and potential future land‑use options.
For a developer
- Site size: 20.9 acres.
- Control: listed for sale by Vestar (seller).
- Entitlement stage and zoning not specified in the record.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) and market signals are unknown.
What we do not know yet
- Opening and closure dates are missing.
- Reasons for closure are not stated.
- Zoning, entitlements, and any environmental or flood‑risk data are absent.
- Transit access and surrounding market conditions are unknown.
- The record is marked as 'draft' verified, indicating limited review.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Hickory Hollow Mall, Nashville, TN · Malls · similar size (27 acres)
- Laurel Plaza, Los Angeles, CA · Malls · similar size (25 acres)
- Ogden City Mall, Ogden, UT · Malls · similar size (20 acres); also in UT
- Ports O' Call Village, Los Angeles, CA · Malls · similar size (15 acres)
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Gateway Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- The Gateway (Salt Lake City, UT): Address, Phone Numbe… tripadvisor.com
- Premier Dining, Entertainment and Shopping in Salt Lake City shopthegateway.com
- The Gateway "Bridge" | Salt Lake City, Utah | Edgar Zuniga Jr. | Flickr flickr.com
- The Gateway - panoramio (1) commons.wikimedia.org
- Abq Uptown Mall Shopping Plan visitsaltlake.com
- The Gateway | The Gateway atthegateway.com
- The Gateway Mall in Salt Lake City elayne001.hubpages.com
- 3 Best Places to Visit at The Gateway in Salt Lake City in 2021 twinspirational.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- 20.9 acres
- county grew 5.7% 2018–23
- median rent $1,493
- listed for sale
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Acres | 20.9public reporting |
|---|---|
| County | Salt Lake County |
| Census division | 8 · Mountain |
| Notes | Record created from a 2024+ transaction, listing or loan report; no retrofit recorded. |
Not yet recorded: GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Sources
- Salt Lake City's Gateway is for sale, all 20.9 acres of it · 2026-01-23
1 quoted sentence
The entire 20.9-acre site was recently listed by real estate giant JLL for an undisclosed amount.
More in Utah
Main Street MallsSalt Lake City, UT · 2012Redeveloped · Regreened · Redevelopment: mixed use Partial regreening: daylit creek
U MallOrem, UT · 2013Partial Redeveloped · Regreened · Partial redevelopment: office, residential Partial regreening: park265 E. 100 S.Salt Lake City, UTRedevelopment, proposed · mixed-use development with ground-floor retail and residential units,…
Cache Valley MallLogan, UTRedeveloped · demolition in progressCentral VillageSandy, UTRedevelopment, under construction · An office park and retail development along State Street; office…
Cottonwood Mall siteHolladay, UT · 2018Redeveloped · 614 homes plus up to 750k sf commercial