Big boxes · Georgia
Lotus Grove
Redevelopment, proposed in 2025. Owner of record Buford Highway Shopping Center.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Retrofit in the pipeline
This site: …proposed record · all sites with thisSingle-purpose entity
This site: LOTUS GROVE LLC county-parcels · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 16 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 236,000 on Interstate 285; fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.90 cdc-svi · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: Interstate 285; fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $35,114 census-acs · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 80% census-acs · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: 780 apartments, 168-room hotel, food hall, civic center record · all sites with thisCivic and government
This site: 780 apartments, 168-room hotel, food hall, civic center record · all sites with thisHotel
This site: 780 apartments, 168-room hotel, food hall, civic center record · all sites with thisHousing
This site: 780 apartments, 168-room hotel, food hall, civic center record · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Retrofit proposedpublic sources reported |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopment, proposedpublic sources reported |
| What is there now | 780 apartments, 168-room hotel, food hall, civic centerpublic sources reported |
| Retrofit year | 2025public sources reported |
| Redeveloper | Insignia Group, Resiapublic sources reported |
| Owner of record | Buford Highway Shopping Centercounty assessor reported |
Parcels, tax and title
| Parcel | Owner of record | Acres | Use · zoning | Value (appraised · assessed · taxable) | Last sale · deed | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
18 321 12 003all 33 county fields
| Buford Highway Shopping Center | 20.5 | $23.6M (appraised) assessed $9.4M | — | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
18 321 08 002all 33 county fields
| Lotus Grove LLC | 4.5 | $7.9M (appraised) assessed $3.2M | — | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
18 321 08 004all 31 county fields
| Ziven Properties LLC | 0.5 | $990,470 (appraised) assessed $396,188 | — | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
18 321 12 009all 31 county fields
| Mcdoraville LLC | 0.5 | $3.8M (appraised) assessed $1.5M | — | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Total | 26.0 | $36.2M |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail stationOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 31, 31A, 31B, 32OpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 11: BP #20345; CALIBER COLLISION CENTERS - DORAVILLE; CROWN GA-022; EXXON CO USA 45787; KMART 4451EPA FRS |
| Census tract 13089021309 | 1,922 people, 4,373 per sq mi; median household income $35,114; median gross rent $1,591; 80% renters; 18.2% vacant units; 17.8% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, DeKalb County (GA), 2024 | 385 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 853 single-family; 2023: 1,563 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.90; socioeconomic 0.89; housing and transport 0.73; 54% below 150% of poverty; 18% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 16 within 10 km, 69 within 25 km: 1800 Century Blvd. (2.9 km); Buford Clairmont Mall (5.6 km); Furniture Store (6.0 km); Ashford Green Office Park (6.1 km); Northlake Mall (6.4 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 2,324 m², 5.729578971862793 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 5.1); expected annual loss $333,027; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 32,172 jobs in 2,296 establishments; average annual pay $47,643; employment location quotient 1.04; employment -4.5% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,422 jobs; 106 in retail trade, 42 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 13089021309)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 39th income percentile as adults; 2.2% incarcerated at the 2010 count (1,188 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 17% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 22.0%; median family income $42,014; 278 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | DeKalb County School District (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: Sequoyah Middle School; Oakcliff Elementary SchoolNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 1,021 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 157 county-logged events: 124 thunderstorm wind, 13 hail, 10 flash flood, 4 tornado; $5,131,000 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 30340, 2026-09 | median list price $388,675 (-4.9% on the year); 66 active listings; median 74 days on market; 36% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,187 establishments (-1%); 32,286 jobs (+6%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $332,528 (-2% 1 yr, +9% 5 yr); typical rent $1,764/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 236,000 vehicles a day on Interstate 285; (Interstate, 12 lanes); 20,888 trucks; 39 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Originally a Kmart big-box store on Doraville’s Buford Highway corridor, the site is now slated for retrofit redevelopment starting in 2025. The approved plan calls for 780 apartments, a 168‑room hotel, a food hall, and a civic center.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site is in proposed status, with Insignia Group and Resia (phase 1) designated as developers while multiple parcel owners hold the underlying land.
For a planner
- Strategy listed as redevelop with a target retrofit year of 2025.
- Opp_reasons note the project is already in play (under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans) and cite median rent of $1,591.
- Policy tools or incentives are not specified in the record; open questions include phasing, affordable‑housing share, and infrastructure impacts.
For a developer
- Total site area ≈ 26.0 acres (sum of four parcels ranging from 0.52 to 20.5 acres).
- Control split between developers Insignia Group and Resia (phase 1) and parcel owners BUFORD HIGHWAY SHOPPING CENTER, LOTUS GROVE LLC, ZIVEN PROPERTIES LLC, MCDORAVILLE LLC.
- Entitlement stage is proposed; market signal includes median rent $1,591 and an opp_score of 5.0; no flood, transit, or environmental constraints are noted in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Opening date and original anchor tenant history are not provided.
- Reasons for vacancy, any existing debt, or demolition status are absent from the record.
- Context‑layer details such as flood zone, transit access, environmental reviews, and zoning specifics are missing.
- Financing structure, affordable‑housing proportion, and detailed phasing plan are not described.
- The record is marked as ‘draft’ verified with only two sources, indicating thin data quality.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Town Center at Cobb, Kennesaw, GA · Malls · same strategy: redevelop; also in GA; 29 km away
- Garden Hills Apartments, Atlanta, GA · Garden apartments · same strategy: redevelop; also in GA; 13 km away
- Hill Street Mixed-Use Development, Roswell, GA · Other · same strategy: redevelop; also in GA; 15 km away
- Piedmont Center, Atlanta, GA · Office parks · same strategy: redevelop; also in GA; 20 km away
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Lotus Grove Apartments - 5597 Buford Hwy Ne Doraville, GA 30340 ... apartments.com
- Developer: New Buford Highway district will start rising in 2025 ... atlanta.urbanize.city
- Tomorrow's News Today - Atlanta: [EXCLUSIVE] New Plan Emerges at … tonetoatl.com
- Lotus Grove Apartments | Doraville, GA Apartments For … apartmenthomeliving.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
- median rent $1,591
- housing in the record
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Now called / also known as | Doraville Kmart |
|---|---|
| County | DeKalb County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 2025 Retrofit: redevelop
Sources
- Atlanta News First · 2025-01
- Urbanize · 2025-01
More in Georgia
Phipps PlazaAtlanta, GA · 2018Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, mixed use