Malls · Arkansas
The Mall at Turtle Creek
Opened 2006. Closed 2020. Redeveloped in 2025.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Site profile19 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Dillard's
This site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with thisJCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisSold since 2020
This site: 2025 Haag Brown Commercial Development & Real Estate research-deals · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …https://mallatturtlecreek.com overture / http check · all sites with thisSingle-purpose entity
This site: Turtle Creek Partners, LLC county-parcels · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 32,000 on 49 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 4 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh earthquake risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; tornado, inland flooding, heat wave, earthquake, strong wind, winter weather, ice storm, cold wave, lightning fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.79 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $42,861 census-acs · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 05031000502 hud-oz · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 61% census-acs · all sites with this60+ acre site
This site: 73 acres extraction · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: As of September 2020, the only stores in operation at the property are JCPenney, Dillard's and Target. extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Closedextracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | retailextracted, unreviewed |
| What is there now | As of September 2020, the only stores in operation at the property are JCPenney, Dillard's and Target.extracted, unreviewed |
| Retrofit year | 2025extracted, unreviewed |
| Redeveloper | Haag Brown Commercial Development & Real Estateextracted, unreviewed |
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Sold | $4.8M closed | Haag Brown Commercial Development & Real Estate ← Brookfield Properties | Wikipedia |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “The Mall at Turtle Creek” and “Jonesboro” (55 hits, first 55 sampled, 7 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2006-07-25 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2006 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2016-C36 | 3 | 2016-11-03 to 2016-11-07 | 8-K 2, 8-K/A 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Greenwich Capital Commercial Funding Corp. Commercial Mortgage Trust 2006-GG7 | 2 | 2006-07-25 to 2006-07-25 | 8-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Wells Fargo Commercial Mortgage Trust 2016-C35 | 2 | 2016-07-28 to 2016-10-18 | 8-K 1, 8-K/A 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | CITIGROUP COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE TRUST 2016-P5 | 1 | 2016-11-08 to 2016-11-08 | 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Morgan Stanley Capital I Trust 2016-BNK2 | 1 | 2016-11-22 to 2016-11-22 | 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | CITIGROUP COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE TRUST 2016-C3 | 1 | 2016-11-17 to 2016-11-17 | 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | CITIGROUP COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE TRUST 2016-C2 | 1 | 2016-08-30 to 2016-08-30 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | Rouse Properties, Inc. | 21 | 2012-08-13 to 2016-03-08 | 8-K 14, 10-K 4, 10-Q 3 |
| Public owner (strong) | Copper Property CTL Pass Through Trust (CPPTL) | 5 | 2022-03-14 to 2026-03-13 | 10-K 5 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 2 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 42, junctionOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 5: AR ARMY NATL GUARD-OMS11; CVS PHARMACY #17037; DEMOLITION - THE MALL AT TURTLE CREEK, JONESBORO, ARKANSAS; JONESBORO UHAUL CENTER; TARGET STORE T1919EPA FRS |
| Census tract 05031000502 | 6,036 people, 232 per sq mi; median household income $42,861; median gross rent $914; 61% renters; 6.2% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 9 of 20; 32 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.9; 25,382 jobs within 45 min by car; 44% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 4 of 6 daily needs: 4 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 3 civic, 15 food and drink; 5 cycleway segments, 10 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 05031000502 (rural)HUD |
| Housing permits, Craighead County (AR), 2024 | 69 units in 5+ unit buildings, 244 in 2–4, 610 single-family; 2023: 97 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.79; socioeconomic 0.83; housing and transport 0.82; 43% below 150% of poverty; 10% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 1 within 25 km: Indian Mall (1.4 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place The Mall At Turtle Creek (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from BrightQuery, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 9,495 m², 7.309878349304199 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | mallatturtlecreek.com (down or redirecting, status 0); archived 2005–2026 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 59,401 since 2015; 4,854 in the last 12 months (-9% vs the prior 12); peak 2020-03 with 1,945Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +16% (5,207 → 6,036); median income +42% ($30,280 → $42,861); renters 58% → 61%; median home value +54% ($115,600 → $178,500)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 97.5); expected annual loss $6.8M; high: tornado, inland flooding, heat wave, earthquake, strong wind, winter weather, ice storm, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 451 establishments (-2%); 6,748 jobs (+3%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $218,004 (+4% 1 yr, +20% 5 yr); typical rent $1,246/mo (+3% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 209 (2000 = 100); +11.0% 1 yr, +34% 5 yr, +54% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 32,000 vehicles a day on 49 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 896 trucks; 28 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
The Mall at Turtle Creek opened in 2006 with anchors Target, JCPenney and Dillard's. It operated until 2020 when a tornado forced closure, leaving only the anchor stores open until the shutdown. In 2025 Haag Brown Commercial Development & Real Estate acquired the 73‑acre site for a planned retail redevelopment.
Why. The closure was caused by the 2020 Jonesboro tornado that damaged the property. The record does not state other causes such as anchor losses, competition, or debt.
Where it stands. As of the 2025 sale, Haag Brown Commercial Development & Real Estate owns the site, which is currently closed but slated for retail redevelopment.
For a planner
- Strategy listed as 'redevelop' with intended new use 'retail'.
- Opportunity score notes 'retrofit already built' and county population growth of 6.1% (2018‑2023).
- Open questions: zoning entitlements, environmental review status, and infrastructure capacity.
- Policy tools used are not specified in the record.
For a developer
- Site size: 73 acres.
- Control: Haag Brown Commercial Development & Real Estate (owner since 2025).
- Entitlement stage: planned retrofit year 2025 indicates early planning/approval phase.
- Market signal: Jonesboro county grew 6.1% 2018‑2023, suggesting regional demand.
- Constraints from context layers (flood, transit, environment) are not detailed in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Current structural condition and extent of tornado damage are unknown.
- Environmental constraints (flood zone, soil contamination) are not provided.
- Zoning status and any required entitlements or permits are unspecified.
- Details on existing leases, anchor store commitments, or demolition progress are missing.
- Fields marked as extraction (year_retrofit, developer, etc.) have not been reviewed for accuracy.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Lafayette Square Mall, Indianapolis, IN · Malls · similar size (80 acres); closed 2022; same strategy: redevelop
- North DeKalb Mall, Decatur, GA · Malls · similar size (73.11 acres); closed 2020; same strategy: redevelop
- Lakeforest Mall, Gaithersburg, MD · Malls · similar size (100 acres); closed 2023; same strategy: redevelop
- DeSoto Square Mall, South Bradenton, FL · Malls · similar size (100 acres); closed 2021; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- The Mall at Turtle Creek - Alchetron, the free social enc… alchetron.com
- The Mall at Turtle Creek= Stores flickr.com
- Dillard's The Mall At Turtle Creek, Jonesboro, Arkansas | Clothing ... dillards.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- 73 acres
- county grew 6.1% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 2006Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2020extracted, unreviewed |
| Acres | 73.0extracted, unreviewed |
| Original developer | Turtle Creek Partners, LLCextracted, unreviewed |
| Anchors | Dillard's, JCPenney, Target |
| County | Craighead County |
| Census division | 7 · West South Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: GLA. Know it? Tell us.
Background
The Mall at Turtle Creek was an enclosed shopping mall in Jonesboro, Arkansas, that closed in 2020 due to the 2020 Jonesboro tornado. As of September 2020, the only stores in operation at the property are JCPenney, Dillard's and Target. All four bus routes of the Jonesboro Economical Transit system served the location.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 2004 Construction began
- 2005 Target and JCPenney opened
- 2006 Opened (Wikidata)
- 2006 Dillard's opened
- 2006 Grand opening
- 2013 Rouse Properties purchased mall
- 2016 Brookfield Asset Management acquired Rouse Properties
- 2018 Rouse Properties absorbed into Brookfield Properties
- 2020 Mall closed due to tornado
- 2020 Only anchors remained open
- 2025 Haag Brown acquired site
Sources
- Wikipedia: The Mall at Turtle Creek · supports: acres, after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed
16 quoted sentences
The Mall at Turtle Creek was an enclosed shopping mall in Jonesboro, Arkansas, that closed in 2020 due to the 2020 Jonesboro tornado.
The mall was rectangular and stretched over a 73-acre (300,000 m2) plot.
Rouse Properties purchased the mall from its original owners, Turtle Creek Partners, LLC, which was composed of Owensboro, Kentucky-based developer David E. Hocker, Memphis-based developer Martin Belz, and Jonesboro, Arkansas-based developer Bruce Burrow, in February 2013.
As of September 2020, the only stores in operation at the property are JCPenney, Dillard's and Target.
University Mall
Indian Mall