Malls · Colorado
Greeley Mall
Opened 1973.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile14 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Dillard's
This site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with thisJCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/212721442080979 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …http://www.shopgreeleymall.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 43,000 on U.S. 34 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisFast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)
This site: 15% census-acs · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.99 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: U.S. 34 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $44,076 census-acs · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 70% census-acs · all sites with thisTract house prices doubled in 10 years
This site: +140% fhfa · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Greeley Mall” and “Greeley” (99 hits, first 99 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). A strong match to a commercial-mortgage trust means the mall very likely backed, or backs, a securitised loan; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2003-08-15 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2003 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (strong) | BEAR STEARNS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC | 2 | 2003-08-15 to 2003-08-18 | 8-K/A 1, 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | ML-CFC Commercial Mortgage Trust 2006-4 | 2 | 2006-12-26 to 2006-12-26 | 8-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | SERIES 2003-PWR2 COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERT | 1 | 2003-10-08 to 2003-10-08 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | MACERICH CO (MAC) | 68 | 2001-03-29 to 2015-02-23 | 10-Q 41, 10-K 15, 8-K 11, 10-K/A 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 5: COPPER PLATTE APARTMENTS; DIAMOND SHAMROCK #640; DISCOUNT TIRE COD 39; HRM ENTERPRISES INC; TRACTOR SUPPLY COMPANY #1614EPA FRS |
| Census tract 08123001003 | 3,985 people, 8,277 per sq mi; median household income $44,076; median gross rent $1,258; 70% renters; 4.4% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 11.7 of 20; 224 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.63; 23,337 jobs within 45 min by car; 10% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Weld County (CO), 2024 | 545 units in 5+ unit buildings, 57 in 2–4, 2,866 single-family; 2023: 1,008 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.99; socioeconomic 0.97; housing and transport 0.99; 44% below 150% of poverty; 6% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 0 within 10 km, 1 within 25 kmcomputed |
| Overture Maps | place Greeley Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.97, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 39,033 m², 6.294203281402588 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.shopgreeleymall.com (alive) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -18% (4,831 → 3,985); median income +58% ($27,849 → $44,076); renters 63% → 70%; median home value +204% ($85,000 → $258,800)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 41.9); expected annual loss $839,398; high: tornado, hail, strong wind, winter weather, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 11,396 jobs in 701 establishments; average annual pay $45,944; employment location quotient 0.93; employment +1.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 457 jobs; 102 in retail trade, 118 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 08123001003)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 39th income percentile as adults; 3.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (940 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 30.5%; median family income $36,470; 408 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Greeley School District 6 (PK-12); 7 public schools within 1 mile: Brentwood Middle School; Centennial Elementary School; Chappelow K-8 Magnet School; Jackson Elementary SchoolNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 4,773 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 595 county-logged events: 431 hail, 109 thunderstorm wind, 34 tornado, 12 flash flood; $5,575,500 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 80631, 2026-09 | median list price $390,700 (-1.1% on the year); 108 active listings; median 58 days on market; 30% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 688 establishments (+10%); 11,515 jobs (+37%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $488,305 (-2% 1 yr, +5% 5 yr); typical rent $1,685/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2024 | 476 (2000 = 100); -2.7% 1 yr, +42% 5 yr, +140% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 43,000 vehicles a day on U.S. 34 (freeway or expressway, 4 lanes); 1,990 trucks; 39 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Greeley Mall opened in 1973 and operated as a regional shopping center with up to 79 stores. The mall is now listed as closed, with no further events recorded after opening.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The mall is listed as closed; the record does not specify an owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- Large 577,200 sq ft site offers potential for adaptive reuse.
- County population grew 15.4% 2018‑2023, indicating regional demand.
- Median rent $1,469 suggests local housing market strength.
- Open questions include current ownership, zoning status, and any existing entitlements.
For a developer
- Site comprises 577,200 sq ft of gross leasable area.
- Ownership and controlling entity are not specified in the record.
- Entitlement stage and any existing approvals are not documented.
- Market indicators show county growth of 15.4% (2018‑23) and median rent of $1,469, suggesting regional demand.
What we do not know yet
- Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
- Current owner or controlling entity is unknown.
- No information on existing deals, leases, or ongoing occupancy.
- No data on site‑specific constraints such as floodplain, transit proximity, or environmental conditions.
- Entitlement status and any planning approvals are not documented.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Foothills Mall, Fort Collins, CO · Malls · opened 1973; also in CO; 35 km away
- Heritage Park Mall, Midwest City, OK · Malls · similar GLA (606,339 sq ft); opened 1978
- Machesney Park Mall, Machesney Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (581,883 sq ft); opened 1978
- Mall 205, Portland, OR · Malls · similar GLA (477,000 sq ft); opened 1970
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Greeley Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Greeley Mall - Shopping Centers - US Highway 34 Bypass & 23 Ave ... yelp.com
- Two women dead after pickup slams into store at Greeley Mall denverpost.com
- Greeley Mall Greeley CO | gameking3 | Flickr flickr.com
- Greeley Mall – Top Shopping Spot in Greeley, CO | MCI moonbeamcapital.com
- Sears - Greeley Mall, 2800 Greeley Mall | JLL Properties - US property.jll.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- 577,200 sq ft GLA (large site)
- county grew 15.4% 2018–23
- median rent $1,469
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1973Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 577,200 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 79Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | Dillard's, JCPenney, Sears, Cinemark Movies 12 |
| Address | 30th St. & 23rd Ave. |
| County | Weld |
| Census division | 8 · Mountain |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1973 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Colorado
Lamar Plaza StationLakewood, CO · 2016Partial Regreened · Partial regreening, green islands