Malls · Florida
Jacksonville Landing
Opened 1987. Closed 2019. Regreened.
documented
As of November 2025, the site is now urban green space, known as Riverfront Plaza (informally The Lawnding), at 333 Jacksonville Landing, the address being named after the former mall.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile25 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/376800429137268 overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://www.jacksonvillelanding.com overture / http check · all sites with thisPublic body
This site: City of Jacksonville county-parcels · all sites with this100k+ jobs within 45 min by transit
This site: 104,833 epa-walkability · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 905 units in 6 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 21 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisFast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)
This site: 9% census-acs · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh hurricane risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; hurricane, inland flooding fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.96 cdc-svi · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $40,035 census-acs · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Florida Theater; Dyal-Upchurch Building nps-nrhp · all sites with thisRail within 800 m
This site: Central, James Weldon Johnson Park, Jefferson openstreetmap · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 87% census-acs · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +73% census-acs · all sites with thisTract population up 25%+ since 2013
This site: +54% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 17.5 epa-walkability · all sites with thisUnder 20 acres
This site: 9 acres extraction · all sites with thisRegreened
This site: As of November 2025, the site is now urban green space, known as Riverfront Plaza (informally The Lawnding), at 333 Jacksonville Landing, the address being… extraction · all sites with thisHousing
This site: In August 2019, Mayor Lenny Curry discussed a plan to build housing, restaurants, and a museum at the site extraction · all sites with thisPark and open space
This site: As of November 2025, the site is now urban green space, known as Riverfront Plaza (informally The Lawnding), at 33 extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Demolishedextracted, unreviewed documentedAs of November 2025, the site is now urban green space, known as Riverfront Plaza (informally The Lawnding), at 333 Jacksonville Landing, the address being named after the former mall. |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Regreenedextracted, unreviewed |
| New uses | parkextracted, unreviewed reported |
| What is there now | As of November 2025, the site is now urban green space, known as Riverfront Plaza (informally The Lawnding), at 333 Jacksonville Landing, the address being named after the former mall.extracted, unreviewed documentedAs of November 2025, the site is now urban green space, known as Riverfront Plaza (informally The Lawnding), at 333 Jacksonville Landing, the address being named after the former mall. |
| Redeveloper | City of Jacksonvilleextracted, unreviewed reported |
Planning
| Planning notes | In August 2019, Mayor Lenny Curry discussed a plan to build housing, restaurants, and a museum at the siteextracted, unreviewed reported |
|---|
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Sold | $18.0M closed | City of Jacksonville ← Sleiman Enterprises | Wikipedia |
| 2003 | Sold | $5.1M closed | Sleiman Enterprises ← Rouse Company | Wikipedia |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | Central, James Weldon Johnson Park, Jefferson, station (rail); 5 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 350A, 350B, 351A, 351BOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 39: ARMY CORP OF ENGINEERS; BAILEY PUBLISHING & COMMUNICATIONS INC; BANK OF AMERICA TOWER; BELLSOUTH TOWER; BENNETT FEDERAL BUILDINGEPA FRS |
| Census tract 12031017200 | 2,911 people, 2,376 per sq mi; median household income $40,035; median gross rent $1,079; 87% renters; 10.1% vacant units; 5.9% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 17.5 of 20; 124 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 229 m; land-use mix 0.7; 74,548 jobs within 45 min by car, 104,833 by transit; 30% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 1 schools, 58 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 11 civic, 46 food and drink; 21 cycleway segments, 626 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 9: Florida Theater; Dyal-Upchurch Building; Old Jacksonville Free Public Library; Title & Trust Company of Florida BuildingNPS |
| Housing permits, Duval County (FL), 2024 | 1,131 units in 5+ unit buildings, 230 in 2–4, 5,134 single-family; 2023: 5,099 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.96; socioeconomic 0.84; housing and transport 0.99; 48% below 150% of poverty; 31% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 3 within 10 km, 5 within 25 km: Elevate at Baymeadows (0.2 km); Gateway Mall (5.0 km); Normandy Mall (7.4 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Jacksonville Landing Farmers Market (farmers_market, confidence 0.47, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 7,363 m², 26.503124237060547 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.jacksonvillelanding.com (down or redirecting, status 404); archived 1999–2019 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 187,198 since 2015; 11,807 in the last 12 months (-29% vs the prior 12); peak 2018-08 with 16,039Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +54% (1,891 → 2,911); median income +73% ($23,190 → $40,035); renters 82% → 87%; median home value +62% ($139,900 → $226,000)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 88.9); expected annual loss $2.5M; high: hurricane, inland flooding; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 6 LIHTC properties, 905 units: Cathedral Terrace (240 units); Tower Place Apts (205 units); Cathedral Towers (203 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 55,755 jobs in 3,672 establishments; average annual pay $43,941; employment location quotient 1.00; employment -0.1% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 19,586 jobs; 179 in retail trade, 998 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 12031017200)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 30th income percentile as adults; 6.6% incarcerated at the 2010 count (256 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 42.4%; median family income $78,295; 289 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Duval County School District (PK-12); 2 public schools within 1 mile: PRETRIAL DETENTION FACILITY; LAVILLA SCHOOL OF THE ARTSNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 6 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 655 county-logged events: 261 thunderstorm wind, 175 heavy rain, 68 flood, 61 hail; $2,393,950 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 32202, 2026-09 | median list price $179,900 (-7.7% on the year); 20 active listings; median 94 days on market; 12% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 3,433 establishments (+6%); 55,193 jobs (+19%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $294,079 (-0% 1 yr, +15% 5 yr); typical rent $1,603/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 22,500 vehicles a day on WATER ST (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 26 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Jacksonville Landing opened in 1987 as a horseshoe-shaped mall developed by the Rouse Company, peaking at 65 stores. Ownership transferred to Sleiman Enterprises in 2003 and then to the City of Jacksonville in 2019, after which the mall was demolished. As of November 2025 the site operates as urban green space known as Riverfront Plaza (informally The Lawnding).
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site is currently urban green space (Riverfront Plaza) controlled by the City of Jacksonville, which acquired the property in 2019.
For a planner
- Precedent of converting a former mall to public park/open space.
- Public ownership enables flexible land‑use planning and potential reuse.
- 2019 planning notes explored housing, restaurant, and museum components, indicating mixed‑use interest.
- Open questions include long‑term maintenance funding, flood‑risk mitigation, and integration with the existing Riverwalk.
For a developer
- Site size: 9 acres, fully cleared after demolition.
- Control: City of Jacksonville (public owner) holds title.
- Entitlement stage: demolition complete; site ready for new development or park improvements.
- Context: downtown Jacksonville riverfront location; potential floodplain considerations (not detailed in record).
- Market signal: Duval County grew 9.0% 2018‑2023 per opp_reasons, suggesting regional growth pressure.
What we do not know yet
- Record does not specify anchor tenant losses, competition, or debt that led to closure.
- Environmental remediation status, flood zone designation, and soil conditions are not described.
- Current zoning, land‑use designation, and any pending approvals are unknown.
- Details on community engagement, maintenance plan, and funding for the green space are absent.
- Some fields (e.g., after_notes, strategy) are marked as extraction and may be model‑generated without review.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- City Center, Columbus, OH · Malls · similar size (9 acres); opened 1989; same strategy: regreen
- Midtown Square Mall, Charlotte, NC · Malls · similar size (10 acres); same strategy: regreen
- Crystal River Mall, Crystal River, FL · Malls · opened 1990; closed 2022; also in FL
- St. Lawrence Centre, Massena, NY · Malls · opened 1990; same strategy: regreen
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Jacksonville Landing | Jacksonville, FL — HDS Architecture hdsarchitecture.com
- Jacksonville Landing Stock Photos, Pictures & Royalty-F… istockphoto.com
- City approves $1.7 million design contract for park at former ... jaxdailyrecord.com
- Jacksonville Landing, upscale downtown shopping and restau… alamy.com
- Jacksonville Landing - All You SHOULD Know Before Going 2026 (with Reviews) tripadvisor.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished site (sourced)
- county grew 9.0% 2018–23
- public owner
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1987extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2019extracted, unreviewed documentedThe facility closed its doors after July 4th celebrations, and demolition began on October 8, 2019. |
| Acres | 9.0extracted, unreviewed |
| Stores at peak | 65extracted, unreviewed reported |
| Original developer | Rouse Companyextracted, unreviewed |
| Architect | Benjamin C. Thompson and Hans D. Strauch |
| Anchors | Foot Locker, The Gap, Victoria's Secret |
| County | Duval County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: GLA, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
The Jacksonville Landing was a horseshoe-shaped shopping center and entertainment complex in Downtown Jacksonville, Florida, at the intersection of Independent Drive and Laura Street, along the Jacksonville Riverwalk. It was developed by the Rouse Company for $37.5 million and opened in September 1987.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1985 Groundbreaking ceremony
- 1987 Opening
- 2003 Sale to Sleiman Enterprises
- 2019 Settlement transferring ownership to City of Jacksonville
- 2019 Demolition begins
- 2025 Site becomes urban green space
Sources
- Wikipedia: Jacksonville Landing · supports: acres, after notes, original developer, status, strategy, year closed, year opened
13 quoted sentences
The Jacksonville Landing opened its doors on June 25, 1987
The facility closed its doors after July 4th celebrations, and demolition began on October 8, 2019.
The 9-acre (36,000 m2) complex once featured 65 stores
It was developed by the Rouse Company for $37.5 million