Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Texas

Collin Creek Mall

Imported, unreviewedStatus not verifiedPlano, TX

Opened 1981 as 1.1 M sq ft regional mall in Plano; status unknown, owned by Rouse Properties near US 75, President George Bush Turnpike. · summary, model-written

Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Collin Creek Mall
Collin Creek Mall. Photo: Jackilometresan, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile14 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
On FacebookThis site: …https://www.facebook.com/237456036321072 overture · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: …http://www.shopcowboys.com/ overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
3+ other atlas sites within 10 kmThis site: 3 within 10 km computed · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 195,020 on a counted road fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 80 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
County permitting 2,000+ apartment units a yearThis site: 4,231 units, Collin County census-bps · all sites with this
Fast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)This site: 18% census-acs · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
High-income tract ($100k+)This site: $130,875 census-acs · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Low social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)This site: 0.14 cdc-svi · all sites with this
Tract house prices doubled in 10 yearsThis site: +103% fhfa · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusStatus not verifiedWikidata reported

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Collin Creek Mall” and “Plano” (48 hits, first 48 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (strong)Rouse Properties, Inc.142011-12-30 to 2016-03-088-K 7, 10-Q 4, 10-K 3
Public owner (strong)GENERAL GROWTH PROPERTIES INC82005-03-22 to 2010-08-308-K 5, 10-K 3
Public owner (weak)ROUSE COMPANY42003-03-26 to 2006-04-1810-K 3, 10-Q 1

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2014Rouse Properties 10-K, 2015-03-09Collin Creek Mall Plano, TX
match: exact
1,118,111
in-line 328,028
82.9% leasedSears, jcpenney, Macy's
2012Rouse Properties 10-K, 2013-03-07Collin Creek Plano, TX
match: name-city
1,118,316
in-line 613,824
100.0% leasedDillard's, Sears, JCPenney, Macy's
2009General Growth Properties 10-K, 2010-03-01Collin Creek Plano, TX
match: name-city
1,118,077
in-line 327,994
Amazing Jakes, Dillard's, JCPenney, Macy's, Sears
2006General Growth Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01Collin Creek Plano, TX
match: name-city
1,118,408Dillard’s, JCPenney, Macy’s, Sears

Site context

FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m11: COLLIN CREEK; COLLIN CREEK; COLLIN CREEK; COLLIN CREEK CULVERT IMPROVEMENT; COLLIN CREEK CULVERT IMPROVEMENTEPA FRS
Census tract 480850318083,541 people, 3,084 per sq mi; median household income $130,875; 3% renters; 3.6% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 2 schools, 10 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 1 civic, 33 food and drink; 80 cycleway segments, 97 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Collin County (TX), 20244,231 units in 5+ unit buildings, 157 in 2–4, 14,425 single-family; 2023: 6,357 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.14; socioeconomic 0.20; housing and transport 0.09; 5% below 150% of poverty; 5% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby3 within 10 km, 9 within 25 km: Shops at Willow Bend (1.9 km); Shops at Willow Bend (1.9 km); Richardson Square Mall (8.0 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Collin Creek Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.94, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 17,239 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and socialwww.shopcowboys.com (down or redirecting, status 400); archived 2010–2013 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views96,829 since 2015; 10,585 in the last 12 months (+18% vs the prior 12); peak 2019-07 with 2,697Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 69.5); expected annual loss $2.8M; high: tornado, hail; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 139 units: Patriot Park Family (139 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)58,362 jobs in 2,996 establishments; average annual pay $48,332; employment location quotient 1.05; employment +1.9% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20221,871 jobs; 627 in retail trade, 342 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 48085031808)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 47th income percentile as adults; 3.3% incarcerated at the 2010 count (387 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 53% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 20.9%; median family income $75,469; 37 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsPlano Independent School District (PK-12); 3 public schools within 1 mile: LEGACY PREPARATORY CHARTER ACADEMY PLANO; SIGLER EL; ACADEMY H SNCES EDGE
Elevation602 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025493 county-logged events: 310 hail, 108 thunderstorm wind, 35 lightning, 27 flash flood; $2,192,617,250 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 75075, 2026-09median list price $492,000 (-1.5% on the year); 107 active listings; median 49 days on market; 28% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20233,055 establishments (+25%); 55,568 jobs (+27%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $477,505 (-5% 1 yr, +12% 5 yr); typical rent $1,716/mo (-0% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2025394 (2000 = 100); -1.6% 1 yr, +50% 5 yr, +103% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)195,020 vehicles a day (freeway or expressway, 8 lanes); 13,758 trucks; 16 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Collin Creek Mall opened in 1981 as a two‑level, 1.1‑million‑square‑foot regional mall located on the western side of North Central Expressway (US 75) near the President George Bush Turnpike in Plano, Texas. The record provides no further events after opening, and the current status is listed as unknown.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The site’s status is unknown and it is controlled by Rouse Properties, as noted in the parties section.

For a planner

  • Limited historical detail prevents assessment of past redevelopment attempts.
  • No policy tools or incentives are documented in the record.
  • Open questions include the mall’s future use, potential for adaptive reuse, and any pending planning actions.

For a developer

  • Site size: approximately 1.1 million sq ft.
  • Control: owned by Rouse Properties (per parties).
  • Entitlement stage: not specified in the record.
  • Context layers: no flood, transit, or environmental constraints are mentioned.
  • Market signals: Collin County grew 18.2% (2018‑2023) and median rent is $1,792.

What we do not know yet

  • Current operational status (open, vacant, demolished) is unknown.
  • Anchor tenant composition and any loss events are not recorded.
  • Any demolition, remediation, or environmental reports are absent.
  • The record relies on a single source (Wikidata) and may contain unreviewed model‑extracted facts.
  • Future ownership or development plans are not disclosed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Retail history: Collin Creek Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and state only, check the city; nothing copied here

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • county grew 18.2% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,792

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1981Wikidata
Organisations in Wikidata (undated)Rouse Properties
CountyCollin County
Census division7 · West South Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Collin Creek Mall was a regional mall in Plano, Texas. The two-level, 1.1-million-square-foot (100,000 m2) structure was developed in July 1981 and was located on the western side of North Central Expressway (US 75) near President George Bush Turnpike. The mall's name was a combination of Collin County and Spring Creek, the latter of which it was built on top of.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1981 Opened (Wikidata)

Sources

More in Texas