Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Florida

WestShore Plaza

Imported, unreviewedOperatingTampa, FL

WestShore Plaza, a 54‑acre Tampa mall, operates but is under contract for demolition and mixed‑use redevelopment by unnamed local firm · summary, model-written

Reach the owner Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile3 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
Sold since 2020This site: 2026 Local real estate firm (unnamed) research-deals · all sites with this
Place
County permitting 2,000+ apartment units a yearThis site: 4,555 units, Hillsborough County census-bps · all sites with this
Fast-growing county (8%+ 2018–23)This site: 8% census-acs · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusOperatingpublic reporting

Deals and debt

DateEventPricePartiesSource
2026-07Sold$135.0M closedLocal real estate firm (unnamed)tampabay.com 2026-07-29

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “WestShore Plaza” and “Tampa” (230 hits, first 100 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. A strong match to a commercial-mortgage trust means the mall very likely backed, or backs, a securitised loan; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2003-09-25 (a sample date, not the issuance date); Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
CMBS trust (strong)BEAR STEARNS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC22003-09-25 to 2003-09-258-K 2
Public owner (strong)GLIMCHER REALTY TRUST672003-08-12 to 2014-11-048-K 56, 10-Q 4, 10-K 3, 10-Q/A 2
Public owner (strong)WASHINGTON PRIME GROUP INC.272014-11-04 to 2021-08-098-K 26, 8-K/A 1
Public owner (strong)Washington Prime Group, L.P.12017-10-05 to 2017-10-058-K 1

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2020Washington Prime Group 10-K, 2021-03-16WestShore Plaza Tampa, FL
match: exact
1,093,69389.6% occupiedacquired 2015100.0%
Fee
AMC Theatres, Dick's Sporting Goods, JCPenney, Macy's
2016Washington Prime Group 10-K, 2017-02-24WestShore Plaza Tampa, FL
match: exact
1,076,40096.7% occupiedacquired 2015100.0%
Fee
AMC Theatres, Dick's Sporting Goods, JCPenney, Macy's, Sears
2012Glimcher Realty Trust 10-K, 2013-02-22WestShore Plaza Tampa, FL
match: exact
1,073,679
in-line 785,172
100.0% occupied$405AMC Theaters H&M JCPenney Macy’s Old Navy Saks Fifth Avenue Sears
2009Glimcher Realty Trust 10-K, 2010-03-11WestShore Plaza Tampa, FL
match: exact
1,058,661
in-line 769,878
100.0% occupied$370

Site context

Housing permits, Hillsborough County (FL), 20244,555 units in 5+ unit buildings, 96 in 2–4, 4,402 single-family; 2023: 6,975 in 5+Census BPS
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 5 within 25 km: Tampa Bay Center (4.3 km)computed
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20234,756 establishments (+8%); 77,369 jobs (+21%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $375,501 (-1% 1 yr, +19% 5 yr); typical rent $1,978/mo (-0% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)24,500 vehicles a day on N WESTSHORE BLVD (minor arterial, 5 lanes); 16 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

WestShore Plaza opened as a mall and has remained operating. In July 2026 it was sold to an unnamed local real estate firm with plans to demolish the mall and build a mixed‑use development. The site is currently still operating pending that transaction.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall remains operating but is under contract for sale to an unnamed local real estate firm slated for demolition and mixed‑use redevelopment.

For a planner

  • 54‑acre site previously used as a mall, now targeted for large‑scale mixed‑use redevelopment.
  • Opp_reasons indicate the project is already “in play” – under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans.
  • Policy tools or incentives used are not detailed in the record.
  • Open questions include the exact timeline for demolition, the specifics of the approved housing program, and any required zoning or entitlement changes.

For a developer

  • Site size: 54 acres.
  • Control: under contract to an unnamed local real estate firm (buyer in 2026 sale).
  • Entitlement stage: described as “already in play” – likely approved or under construction for housing‑mixed use.
  • Context‑layer constraints (flood risk, transit access, environmental factors) are not specified in the record.
  • Market signal: opportunity score of 5.0, reflecting the 54‑acre size and active redevelopment status.

What we do not know yet

  • Opening date and original anchor tenant mix are not provided.
  • No information on anchor losses, competition, or debt that may have motivated the sale.
  • Environmental constraints (flood zone, wetlands, contamination) are absent from the record.
  • Transit accessibility and surrounding land‑use context are not detailed.
  • The buyer’s identity is unnamed, and the exact housing‑mix program is unspecified.
  • Data verification status is “draft,” indicating the record may be incomplete or unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Winter Park Mall, Winter Park, FL · Malls · similar size (40 acres); also in FL
  • Ledgewood Mall, Ledgewood, NJ · Malls · similar size (51.6 acres)
  • Regency Square Mall, Jacksonville, FL · Malls · similar size (74 acres); also in FL
  • Shore Mall, Egg Harbor Township, NJ · Malls · similar size (73 acres)

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
  • 54 acres
  • county grew 8.0% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,543

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Acres54.0public reporting
CountyHillsborough County
Census division5 · South Atlantic
NotesRecord created from a 2024+ transaction, listing or loan report; no retrofit recorded.

Not yet recorded: GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Sources

More in Florida