Malls · Mississippi
Greenville Mall (Greenville)
Opened 1972.
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile13 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisClosed per a 2014 list or a Wikipedia category, unchecked
This site: …closed import, no source · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/160286093994179 overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://www.mygreenvillemall.com overture / http check · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -23% census-cbp · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)
This site: Relatively High; tornado, inland flooding, heat wave, hail, strong wind, cold wave, lightning fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $44,510 census-acs · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -7.2% census-acs · all sites with thisTract income flat or down since 2013
This site: -0% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | ClosedEsri 2014 layer reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Greenville Mall” and “Greenville” (80 hits, first 80 sampled, 12 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2004-03-16 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2016 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | BEAR STEARNS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC | 1 | 2004-04-14 to 2004-04-14 | 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | JP MORGAN CHASE COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP | 1 | 2004-03-16 to 2004-03-16 | 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Morgan Stanley Capital I Trust 2016-UBS9 | 1 | 2016-03-09 to 2016-03-09 | 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | Rouse Properties, Inc. | 33 | 2013-03-07 to 2016-05-05 | 8-K 16, 10-Q 10, 10-K 7 |
| Public owner (weak) | COLONIAL PROPERTIES TRUST | 6 | 2006-03-14 to 2008-02-29 | 10-K 6 |
| Public owner (weak) | COLONIAL REALTY LIMITED PARTNERSHIP | 6 | 2006-03-16 to 2008-02-29 | 10-K 6 |
| Public owner (weak) | SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC /DE/ (SPG, SPG-PJ) | 5 | 2002-05-17 to 2003-05-08 | 8-K 5 |
| Public owner (weak) | JMB INCOME PROPERTIES LTD V | 1 | 2002-08-14 to 2002-08-14 | 10-Q 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | no NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 3: KROGER #429-25; SEARS # 2326/7386; WAL MART STORES INC, GREENVILLEEPA FRS |
| Census tract 28151000701 | 3,190 people, 1,290 per sq mi; median household income $44,510; median gross rent $1,130; 42% renters; 14.3% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 9.2 of 20; 85 intersections per sq mi; no transit stop within the EPA search radius; land-use mix 0.67; 6,861 jobs within 45 min by car; 6% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Washington County (MS), 2024 | 0 units in 5+ unit buildings, 0 in 2–4, 7 single-family; 2023: 10 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.74; socioeconomic 0.57; housing and transport 0.79; 24% below 150% of poverty; 10% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Greenville Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 1.00, from Overture, Overture-signals, meta); building footprint 31,192 m², 5.320235729217529 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.mygreenvillemall.com (down or redirecting, status 0) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -9% (3,512 → 3,190); median income -0% ($44,538 → $44,510); renters 40% → 42%; median home value -2% ($80,700 → $78,700)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively high overall (score 85.0); expected annual loss $1.9M; high: tornado, inland flooding, heat wave, hail, strong wind, cold wave, lightning; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 2,007 jobs in 182 establishments; average annual pay $30,018; employment location quotient 1.40; employment -2.3% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,253 jobs; 282 in retail trade, 261 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 28151000701)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 40th income percentile as adults; 2.9% incarcerated at the 2010 count (461 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | low-income, low-access tract (1 mile urban / 10 miles rural); 16% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 25.8%; median family income $56,604; 302 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Greenville Public School District (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: AKIN ELEMENTARY SCHOOLNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 124 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 140 county-logged events: 85 thunderstorm wind, 26 flash flood, 22 hail, 4 flood; $4,666,200 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 38701, 2026-09 | median list price $173,625 (-4.2% on the year); 68 active listings; median 90 days on market; 12% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 180 establishments (-23%); 2,028 jobs (-32%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $53,685 (-2% 1 yr, -49% 5 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2021 | 149 (2000 = 100), +18% 5 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 22,559 vehicles a day on MS HIGHWAY 1 (principal arterial, 4 lanes); 970 trucks; 17 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Greenville Mall opened in 1972 and operated as a regional mall with a peak of 35 stores and approximately 308,439 square feet of gross leasable area. The site is currently listed as closed, with no further operational details provided in the record.
Why. The record does not specify the reasons for closure; it only notes that the mall is closed or demolished per category and mentions a county population decline of 7.2% from 2018 to 2023.
Where it stands. The mall is currently closed, and the record does not identify an owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- No documented precedents or policy tools are recorded for this site.
- Open questions include appropriate zoning for future use and potential incentives for redevelopment.
- Lack of data on current ownership and condition limits planning analysis.
For a developer
- Site size is 308,439 sq ft of former GLA.
- Control and entitlement stage are unknown per the record.
- No context-layer data (flood, transit, environment) are provided, so constraints are unclear.
- Market signals from surrounding tract data are not available in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Cause of closure is not stated in the record.
- Current ownership and controlling entity are unknown.
- Zoning, land‑use entitlements, and any existing approvals are not documented.
- Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, contamination) are not mentioned.
- Transit access and nearby market demographics are absent from the data.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Fairfield Commons Mall, Glen Allen, VA · Malls · similar GLA (335,000 sq ft); opened 1968
- New Harbour Mall, Fall River, MA · Malls · similar GLA (385,000 sq ft); opened 1971
- Signal Hill Mall, Statesville, NC · Malls · similar GLA (357,900 sq ft); opened 1973
- North Park Mall, Villa Park, IL · Malls · similar GLA (333,596 sq ft); opened 1973
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- The Mid-South Retail Blog: Greenville Mall, Greenville, MS (Bonus ... midsouthretail.blogspot.com
- Greenville, Ms. Greenville Mall Inside Walk Around. youtube.com
- Hobby Lobby Highlights Gree… ddtonline.com
- Greenville Mall – Mississippi Crappie Trail fishcrappie.com
- GREENVILLE MALL - Update… yelp.com
- Greenville Mall | Malls and Retail Wiki | Fandom malls.fandom.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- closed or demolished per category only, +0 until sourced
- county shrank -7.2% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1972Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Gross leasable area | 308,439 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 35Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Sears, McRae's |
| Address | Hwy. 1 South & Bowman Blvd. |
| County | Washington |
| Census division | 6 · East South Central |
| Notes | Listed as a closed mall in Esri's 2014 Closed_US_Malls layer (Directory of Major Malls data). Current status to be checked. |
Not yet recorded: acres, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Timeline
- 1972 Opened
Sources
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Mississippi
Oxford MallOxford, MS · 2013Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: educationTupelo MallTupelo, MS · 2014Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: healthcareCorporate SquareBrookhaven, MS · 2025Redevelopment · Regreening, approvedGreenwood Municipal Airport (Old)Greenwood, MSRedeveloped · light industrial estate