Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Utah

Layton Hills Mall

Imported, unreviewedOperatingLayton, UT

Layton Hills Mall, operating opening, sold Aug 2024 to Second Horizon Capital for $37.1M; future use uncertain and needs review. · summary, model-written

Reach the owner Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Map view. No verified photo yet. Send one.

Site profile3 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Finance and pipeline
Sold since 2020This site: 2024 Second Horizon Capital research-deals · all sites with this
Place
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 135,486 on I - 15 NB FWY fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: I - 15 NB FWY fhwa-hpms · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusOperatingpublic reporting reported

Deals and debt

DateEventPricePartiesSource
2024-08Sold$37.1M closedSecond Horizon Capital ← CBL Propertiesshoppingcenterbusiness.com 2024-08-12

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Layton Hills Mall” and “Layton” (260 hits, first 100 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). Common name: these matches are unreliable. No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (strong)CBL & ASSOCIATES PROPERTIES INC (CBL)982006-01-18 to 2026-03-038-K 62, 10-K 24, 10-Q 7, 8-K/A 3
Public owner (strong)CBL & ASSOCIATES LIMITED PARTNERSHIP522014-02-05 to 2021-11-168-K 35, 10-K 9, 10-Q 5, 8-K/A 2

As reported by the owner

Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.

Year endFilerName in filingGLA sq ftOccupancyYearsShareSales psfAnchors listed
2016CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2017-03-01Layton Hills Mall Layton, UT
match: exact
557,333
in-line 211,366
99.0% leasedbuilt 1980 / acquired 2006 / renovated 1998100.0%$353Dick's Sporting Goods, JC Penney, Macy's
2009CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2010-02-22Layton Hills Mall Layton, UT
match: exact
620,742
in-line 190,478
100.0% leasedbuilt 1980 / acquired 2006 / renovated 1998100.0%$360JCPenney, Macy's, Mervyn's (vacant), Sports Authority
2006CBL & Associates Properties 10-K, 2007-03-01Layton Hills Mall Layton, UT
match: exact
628,164
in-line 191,882
100.0% leasedbuilt 1980 / acquired 2005 / renovated 1998100.0%$388JCPenney, Macy’s, Mervyn’s, Sports Authority

Site context

Housing permits, Davis County (UT), 2024508 units in 5+ unit buildings, 40 in 2–4, 920 single-family; 2023: 828 in 5+Census BPS
Other atlas sites nearby0 within 10 km, 2 within 25 kmcomputed
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)16,510 jobs in 940 establishments; average annual pay $41,407; employment location quotient 1.16; employment -2.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 20225,769 jobs; 1,409 in retail trade, 1,558 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 49011125805)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 44th income percentile as adults; 2.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (594 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)low-access at 1 mile, not low-income; 9% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 7.3%; median family income $73,157; 212 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsDavis School District (PK-12); 4 public schools within 1 mile: Central Davis Jr High; Crestview School; Lincoln School; North Layton Jr HighNCES EDGE
Elevation4,442 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-202562 county-logged events: 45 thunderstorm wind, 9 hail, 3 flood, 2 flash flood; $1,629,000 property damage reported; 1 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 84041, 2026-09median list price $466,325 (+1.5% on the year); 111 active listings; median 55 days on market; 26% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023953 establishments (+15%); 16,474 jobs (+27%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $553,103 (+2% 1 yr, +15% 5 yr); typical rent $1,763/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)135,486 vehicles a day on I - 15 NB FWY (Interstate, 7 lanes); 22,385 trucks; 34 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Layton Hills Mall opened as a mall and has remained operating. In August 2024 it was sold for $37.1 million to Second Horizon Capital from CBL Properties.

Why. not stated in the record

Where it stands. The mall is currently operating and controlled by Second Horizon Capital following the 2024 sale.

For a planner

  • No policy tools or precedents are mentioned in the record.
  • Open question: what zoning or land-use regulations apply to the site.
  • Open question: whether any incentives or environmental reviews are pending.
  • Open question: future reuse plans for the property are unknown.

For a developer

  • Site size is not specified in the record.
  • Control: owned by Second Horizon Capital after the August 2024 sale.
  • Entitlement stage: not indicated in the record.
  • Constraints from context layers (flood, transit, environment) are not provided.
  • Market signals from tract data are not available.

What we do not know yet

  • Opening date unknown.
  • Anchor tenant status and competition unknown.
  • Debt levels or financial encumbrances unknown.
  • Demolition or renovation history unknown.
  • Zoning, entitlements, and site size unknown.
  • Context-layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) unknown.
  • Market signals from tract data unknown.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • county grew 7.7% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,516

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

CountyDavis County
Census division8 · Mountain
NotesRecord created from a 2024+ transaction, listing or loan report; no retrofit recorded.

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.

Sources

More in Utah