Retrofit Atlas

Other · Ohio

Dayton Arcade

Imported, unreviewedReinhabitedOperatingDayton, OH

Opened 1904. Closed 1991. Reinhabited in 2021.

Status nowOperatingextracted, unreviewed
documented
Dayton Arcade officially reopened to the public Aug. 6 and 7th, 2021 with a two-day Arcade Festival.

en.wikipedia.org

What it becamehousing, office, retail, education, civicextracted, unreviewed reported
Retrofit year2021extracted, unreviewed reported
Walkability16.7 of 20 · 15-minute 6 of 6EPA, OpenStreetMap
Rail within 800 mNo · Opportunity ZoneOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Dayton Arcade
Dayton Arcade. Photo: Photo by Greg Hume (Greg5030), CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile24 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Place
100k+ jobs within 45 min by transitThis site: 151,858 epa-walkability · all sites with this
15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 449 units in 4 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
Bike network nearbyThis site: 60 ways openstreetmap · all sites with this
County lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012This site: -10% census-cbp · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High inland flooding riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
High natural hazard risk (FEMA NRI)This site: Relatively High; inland flooding, hail, strong wind, ice storm fema-nri · all sites with this
National Register place within 500 mThis site: Commercial Building; Eagles Building nps-nrhp · all sites with this
Opportunity ZoneThis site: 39113001501 hud-oz · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 72% census-acs · all sites with this
Tract income up 60%+ since 2013This site: +201% census-acs · all sites with this
Walkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)This site: …index 16.7 epa-walkability · all sites with this
Policy tool
Affordable housing creditsThis site: …historic tax credits and low-income housing credits The developers obtained $5 million in historic tax extraction · all sites with this
Historic tax creditsThis site: …historic tax credits and low-income housing credits The developers obtained $5 m extraction · all sites with this
Public grant or loanThis site: …h seven market-rate and the rest affordable housing meeting HUD restrictions. Four of the arcade’s nine interconnected buil extraction · all sites with this
Tax abatement or incentiveThis site: …historic tax credits and low-income housing credits The developers obtained $5 m extraction · all sites with this
Strategy
ReinhabitedThis site: Four of the arcade’s nine interconnected buildings offer apartments: the Fourth Street building (39 units); the Lindsey building (36); the Ludlow building (21)… extraction · all sites with this
New use
Civic and governmentThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
EducationThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Entertainment and sportsThis site: Four of the arcade’s nine interconnected buildings offer apartments: the Fourt extraction · all sites with this
HousingThis site: Four of the arcade’s nine interconnected buildings offer apartments: the Fourth Street building (39 units); the Lindsey buildin extraction · all sites with this
OfficeThis site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this
Retail (continued)This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusOperatingextracted, unreviewed
documented
Dayton Arcade officially reopened to the public Aug. 6 and 7th, 2021 with a two-day Arcade Festival.

en.wikipedia.org

StrategyReinhabitedextracted, unreviewed
documented
The new Arcade owners, Gunther Berg and Wendell Strutz said they would begin work on the Arcade in 6 months to restore the building to its former glory (with mixed-use developments - housing, offices, restaurants, and commercial space).

en.wikipedia.org

New useshousing, office, retail, education, civicextracted, unreviewed reported
What is there nowFour of the arcade’s nine interconnected buildings offer apartments: the Fourth Street building (39 units); the Lindsey building (36); the Ludlow building (21) and the Commercial building (14).extracted, unreviewed
documented
Four of the arcade’s nine interconnected buildings offer apartments: the Fourth Street building (39 units); the Lindsey building (36); the Ludlow building (21) and the Commercial building (14).

en.wikipedia.org

Retrofit year2021extracted, unreviewed reported
RedeveloperMiller-Valentine Group and Cross Street Partnersextracted, unreviewed reported

Planning

Public purchase or subsidyhistoric tax credits and low-income housing creditsextracted, unreviewed
documented
On January 28, 2016, the City of Dayton announced that a Memorandum of Understanding with the development team of Miller-Valentine Group and Cross Street Partners has laid the groundwork for the first stage of the redevelopment of the Dayton Arcade.

en.wikipedia.org

Entitlement year2016extracted, unreviewed reported
Planning notesThe developers obtained $5 million in historic tax credits and $20 million in low-income housing credits for the first phase, planned to create 126 apartment units in phase one and 32 micro-apartments in phase two; four buildings offer apartments totaling 110 units, with seven market-rate and the rest affordable housing meeting HUD restrictions.extracted, unreviewed reported

Site context

FEMA flood zoneX · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m29: ADMIRAL BENBOW (FORMER HOTEL); AT & T DAYTON; CLEMONS DEVELOPMENT; COMMERCIAL BUILDING; CONRAIL DAYTON SHOPEPA FRS
Census tract 391130015014,027 people, 3,640 per sq mi; median household income $55,074; median gross rent $940; 72% renters; 10.0% vacant units; 1.6% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Walkability (EPA, block group)index 16.7 of 20; 72 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 42 m; land-use mix 0.7; 79,070 jobs within 45 min by car, 151,858 by transit; 33% of households without a carEPA Smart Location
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)6 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 5 schools, 108 parks or playgrounds, 4 health, 23 civic, 46 food and drink; 60 cycleway segments, 577 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity Zoneyes, tract 39113001501 (rural)HUD
National Register places within 500 m15: Commercial Building; Eagles Building; First Lutheran Church; Mutual Home & Savings Association BuildingNPS
Housing permits, Montgomery County (OH), 2024423 units in 5+ unit buildings, 161 in 2–4, 349 single-family; 2023: 520 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.45; socioeconomic 0.52; housing and transport 0.76; 28% below 150% of poverty; 28% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby1 within 10 km, 3 within 25 km: Moraine Industrial Land and Moraine Assembly Plant (6.2 km)computed
Overture Mapsno place match; building footprint 2,600 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Attention: Wikipedia page views73,863 since 2015; 3,396 in the last 12 months (-20% vs the prior 12); peak 2019-04 with 1,677Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023population +9% (3,696 → 4,027); median income +201% ($18,274 → $55,074); renters 84% → 72%; median home value +16% ($194,100 → $224,400)Census ACS 5-year
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively high overall (score 93.5); expected annual loss $3.8M; high: inland flooding, hail, strong wind, ice storm; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km4 LIHTC properties, 449 units: The Biltmore Apts (230 units); The Dayton Arcade (103 units); Dayton Ywca (96 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW)23,419 jobs in 1,536 establishments; average annual pay $38,454; employment location quotient 0.94; employment -0.7% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private
Jobs located in the tract, 202220,842 jobs; 212 in retail trade, 1,063 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 39113001501)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022
Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract)children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 38th income percentile as adults; 4.5% incarcerated at the 2010 count (144 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights
Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract)not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 37.7%; median family income $48,264; 556 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS
SchoolsDayton City School District (PK-12); 13 public schools within 1 mile: City Day Community School; Emerson Academy; Dayton Business Technology High School; Dayton SMART Elementary SchoolNCES EDGE
Elevation741 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP
Storm events in the county, 2016-2025288 county-logged events: 180 thunderstorm wind, 48 hail, 27 flood, 22 flash flood; $502,954,800 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events
Homes for sale in ZIP 45402, 2026-09median list price $130,000 (-16.1% on the year); 57 active listings; median 68 days on market; 31% with a price cutRealtor.com Research
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20231,505 establishments (-10%); 24,015 jobs (-7%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $202,892 (+3% 1 yr, +33% 5 yr); typical rent $1,284/mo (+2% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
House price index, tract, 2023284 (2000 = 100), +38% 5 yr, +76% 10 yrFHFA
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)7,001 vehicles a day on W 3RD ST (principal arterial, 5 lanes); 242 trucks; 38 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS

Summary, model-written

Opened in 1904 as a market arcade, the Dayton Arcade operated as a retail center until closing in 1991. After years of vacancy, it was redeveloped starting in 2016 and reopened in 2021 with mixed‑use housing, office, retail, education and civic spaces.

Why. The record does not state specific causes such as anchor tenant loss, competition, debt or demolition for the 1991 closure.

Where it stands. The arcade is currently operating and is controlled by the developers Miller‑Valentine Group and Cross Street Partners, with ownership held by Gunther Berg and Wendell Strutz.

For a planner

  • Utilized historic tax credits and low‑income housing credits to finance redevelopment
  • Entitlement secured in 2016 via MOU with developers
  • Adaptive reuse of nine historic buildings under a reinhabit strategy
  • Open question: how will long‑term affordability be maintained after credit periods expire?

For a developer

  • Site comprises nine interconnected buildings; exact acreage not specified in record
  • Controlled by Miller‑Valentine Group and Cross Street Partners with entitlement granted in 2016
  • No context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are listed in the record
  • Market signals from surrounding tract data are not provided

What we do not know yet

  • Exact site size and parcel boundaries are missing
  • Context‑layer data (floodplain, transit access, environmental conditions) are not provided
  • Tract‑level market data (demographics, income, vacancy) are absent
  • Ownership chain after 2009 relies on extracted text and may need verification
  • The status of phase two (32 micro‑apartments) completion is not confirmed in the record

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

  • Dayton Mall, Miami Township, OH · Malls · same strategy: reinhabit; also in OH; 14 km away
  • 1800 N. Clybourn, Chicago, IL · Malls · closed 1993; same strategy: reinhabit
  • Salem Mall, Trotwood, OH · Malls · same strategy: reinhabit; also in OH; 10 km away
  • 100 Oaks Mall, Nashville, TN · Malls · closed 1991; same strategy: reinhabit

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • housing in the record

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1904extracted, unreviewed
Closed1991extracted, unreviewed
documented
financial success gradually eluded Arcade Square, and it was closed to the public in 1991.

en.wikipedia.org

Original developerEugene J. Barneyextracted, unreviewed
documented
It was conceived by Eugene J. Barney of the Barney & Smith Car Company

en.wikipedia.org

ArchitectFrank M. Andrews
AnchorsUniversity of Dayton Entrepreneurial Center, Culture Works, The Contemporary Dayton
CountyMontgomery County
Census division3 · East North Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: acres, GLA. Know it? Tell us.

Background

The Dayton Arcade is a collection of nine historic buildings in Dayton, Ohio. The architecturally elegant complex in the heart of Dayton's central business district was built between 1902 and 1904. It was conceived by Eugene J. Barney of the Barney & Smith Car Company and consists of nine interconnecting buildings topped by a glass-domed rotunda, 70 feet (21 m) high and 90 feet (27 m) in diameter, below which two balconied upper floors circle the central enclave. As president of the Arcade Company, Barney made sure the Arcade had the latest innovations, including elevators, a power plant and a cold-storage plant. The architect was Frank M. Andrews, known also as architect for many of NCR's factory buildings and the American Building at Third and Main Streets in Dayton.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1902 Construction commenced
  2. 1904 Construction completed
  3. 1952 Sold to Robert Shapiro
  4. 1974 Placed on National Register of Historic Places
  5. 1980 Reopened as Arcade Square retail center
  6. 1991 Closed to the public
  7. 2009 Sheriff's sale purchased by Dayton Arcade, LLC
  8. 2016 MOU with Miller-Valentine Group and Cross Street Partners for redevelopment
  9. 2021 Reopened to public after redevelopment

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Dayton Arcade · supports: after notes, original developer, public subsidy, status, strategy, year closed, year opened
    16 quoted sentences
    The construction of the splendid group of buildings, known as the Arcade, was commenced on March 1st, 1902 and completed on March 1st, 1904.
    financial success gradually eluded Arcade Square, and it was closed to the public in 1991.
    It was conceived by Eugene J. Barney of the Barney & Smith Car Company
    Four of the arcade’s nine interconnected buildings offer apartments: the Fourth Street building (39 units); the Lindsey building (36); the Ludlow building (21) and the Commercial building (14).

More in Ohio