Malls · District of Columbia
Mazza Gallerie
Mazza Gallerie, a 1970s upscale DC mall, closed retail in 2022, was rebuilt as a six‑story apartment with ground‑floor retail. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile11 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Website dead or redirecting
This site: …https://parking.com/washington-dc/lot/mazza-gallerie?utm_source=Yext&utm_medium= overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 21 within 10 km computed · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 48 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,484/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 6 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $222,692 census-acs · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.22 cdc-svi · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Garden Club of America Entrance Markers at Wisconsin Avenue nps-nrhp · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -1.8% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Mazza Gallerie” and “Washington” (69 hits, first 69 sampled, 5 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (weak) | SECURITY CAPITAL GROUP INC/ | 1 | 2002-04-15 to 2002-04-15 | 10-K/A 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 35: AMAZON FRESH - MAF1; ANDREW C COBB DDS; BANK OF AMERICA - WISCONSIN AVE/ FRIENDSHIP HEIGHTS; BARLOW BUILDING THE; BLOOMINGDALES CHEVY CHASEEPA FRS |
| Census tract 11001001004 | 3,959 people, 6,966 per sq mi; median household income $222,692; median gross rent $1,464; 24% renters; 7.1% vacant units; 23.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 6 grocers, 1 schools, 46 parks or playgrounds, 11 health, 5 civic, 25 food and drink; 48 cycleway segments, 513 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 1: Garden Club of America Entrance Markers at Wisconsin AvenueNPS |
| Housing permits, Washington DC (DC), 2024 | 1,506 units in 5+ unit buildings, 85 in 2–4, 146 single-family; 2023: 2,779 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.22; socioeconomic 0.04; housing and transport 0.66; 14% below 150% of poverty; 26% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 21 within 10 km, 63 within 25 km: Bethesda Crescent (2.9 km); The Shops at Georgetown Park (6.4 km); 1000 and 1050 Thomas Jefferson Street NW (6.6 km); Valero gas station (6.6 km); Colonial Village (7.3 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Mazza Gallerie (shopping_mall, confidence 0.59, from Microsoft, Overture); building footprint 8,217 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | parking.com (down or redirecting, status 404)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 78,312 since 2015; 6,298 in the last 12 months (-21% vs the prior 12); peak 2019-08 with 1,665Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 20.5); expected annual loss $891,562; high: heat wave; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 0 jobs in 1,969 establishments; employment location quotient 0.00; employment +0.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,385 jobs; 377 in retail trade, 207 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 11001001004)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 49th income percentile as adults; 0.3% incarcerated at the 2010 count (126 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 4.7%; median family income $237,619; 0 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | District of Columbia Public Schools (PK-12); 6 public schools within 1 mile: Murch ES; Jackson-Reed HS; Deal MS; Janney ESNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 317 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 291 county-logged events: 149 thunderstorm wind, 60 flood, 55 flash flood, 19 hail; $29,188,500 property damage reported; 3 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 20015, 2026-09 | median list price $1,032,250 (-27.0% on the year); 46 active listings; median 36 days on market; 8% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,653 establishments (-5%); 21,170 jobs (+4%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $567,289 (-1% 1 yr, -10% 5 yr); typical rent $2,484/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 857 (2000 = 100); -1.2% 1 yr, +32% 5 yr, +49% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 20,555 vehicles a day on WESTERN AVE NW (minor arterial, 4 lanes); 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Mazza Gallerie opened as an upscale mall in 1975 (per record) with 300,000 sq ft of retail, a parking garage and direct Metro access. The last retail tenant left in December 2022, after which the building was partially demolished in 2023 and rebuilt as Mazza, a six‑story apartment building with ground‑floor retail.
Why. The record shows the mall’s retail vacancy (last store closed Dec 2022) leading to its demolition and redevelopment; no explicit anchor loss, competition, debt or other causes are stated.
Where it stands. The site now contains the Mazza residential building with ground‑floor retail, but the record does not identify the current owner or controlling entity.
For a planner
- Transit‑oriented development leveraging the direct Friendship Heights Metro connection.
- Housing‑focused reuse noted in the opportunity score (median rent $1,900, housing in the record).
- Precedent of converting a struggling mall to residential with ground‑floor retail.
- Open questions: long‑term residential demand, affordability mix, and any needed zoning adjustments.
For a developer
- Site comprises roughly 300,000 sq ft of former retail space on three levels.
- Ownership and control are not specified in the record.
- Entitlements appear completed, as the building was rebuilt as Mazza in 2023.
- Transit advantage: direct link to Friendship Heights Metro station; no flood or environmental constraints are mentioned.
- Market signal: median rent of $1,900 cited in the opportunity reasons.
What we do not know yet
- Exact opening year conflicts (record says 1975, narrative says 1977).
- Current owner or controlling entity is not stated.
- Details on the extent of demolition and any remaining structural elements are missing.
- No information on floodplain, environmental reviews, or soil conditions.
- Data are thin: only one source and the record is marked as draft.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Laurel Mall, Laurel, MD · Malls · opened 1979; 25 km away
- Rockville Mall, Rockville, MD · Malls · opened 1972; 15 km away
- Tysons Corner Center, Tysons Corner, VA · Malls · opened 1968; 13 km away
- Old Post Office Pavilion, Washington, DC · Malls · also in DC; 9 km away
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- 8 Things We Miss About Mazza Gallerie - Washingtonian washingtonian.com
- Washington, DC (2021) | Mazza Gallerie is a shopping mall in… | Flickr flickr.com
- Mazza Gallerie commons.wikimedia.org
- Mazza Gallerie details: luxury penthouses, restaurants and another TJ Maxx – WTOP News wtop.com
- Mazza Gallerie в Вашингтоне предлагает уникальный шопинг и развлечения ... rentcharterbuses.com
- Mazza Gallerie Expected to be Redeveloped as Apartments : r/washingtondc reddit.com
- Designed for the human scale 3xn.com
- Mazza Gallerie, DC | a boujee dead mall with four levels and one tenant | ExLog 87 youtube.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- median rent $1,900
- housing in the record
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1975Wikidata |
|---|---|
| County | District of Columbia |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Mazza Gallerie was an upscale shopping mall located along Wisconsin Avenue in the Friendship Heights neighborhood of northwest Washington, D.C. at the Maryland border. Opened in 1977, it had 300,000 square feet (28,000 m2) of retail space on three levels, a parking garage, and a direct connection to the Friendship Heights station of the Washington Metro. The last retail business closed in December 2022. The building was partially demolished in 2023 and rebuilt as Mazza, a 6-story apartment building, with retail on the ground floor.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1975 Opened (Wikidata)
Sources
- Wikipedia: Mazza Gallerie · 2026-08-28 · CC BY-SA 4.0
More in District of Columbia
Waterfront MallWashington, DC · 2007Redeveloped · Regreened · Redevelopment: mixed use, restored street Partial regreening: green…1000 and 1050 Thomas Jefferson Street NWWashington, DCRedevelopment, proposed1313 L St.Washington, DCReinhabitation, under construction · newly finished apartments
Center Market, Washington, D.C.Washington, DC · 1931DemolishedFort Dupont AdditionsWashington, DCRedevelopment, proposed · completely torn down and rebuiltGreenleaf AdditionsWashington, DCRedevelopment, proposed · completely torn down and rebuilt