Malls · District of Columbia
The Shops at Georgetown Park
Georgetown Park mall underwent an $80M renovation 2012‑2015; its current status and ownership are unknown per the draft record today. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile17 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
On Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/111529825554666 overture · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …https://www.georgetownpark.com overture / http check · all sites with this100k+ jobs within 45 min by transit
This site: 737,597 epa-walkability · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 26 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 44,749 on INTERSTATE 66 BN fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 101 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,484/mo zillow · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $152,059 census-acs · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: INTERSTATE 66 BN fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.19 cdc-svi · all sites with thisNational Register place within 500 m
This site: Vigilant Firehouse; Georgetown Market nps-nrhp · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -1.8% census-acs · all sites with thisTract income flat or down since 2013
This site: +2% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 19.3 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikipedia reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “The Shops at Georgetown Park” and “Washington” (14 hits, first 14 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (weak) | VORNADO REALTY TRUST (VNO, VNORP, VNO-PL, VNO-PM, VNO-PN, VNO-PO) | 6 | 2014-11-03 to 2017-02-13 | 10-K 3, 8-K 2, 10-Q 1 |
| Public owner (weak) | VORNADO REALTY LP | 6 | 2014-11-04 to 2017-02-13 | 10-K 3, 8-K 2, 10-Q 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 53: 1000 THOMAS JEFFERSON STREET; 1025 THOMAS JEFFERSON, INC; 1050 THOMAS JEFFERSON STREET; 1238 WISCONSIN AVENUE, NW; 3401 K STREET NWEPA FRS |
| Census tract 11001000202 | 3,964 people, 13,223 per sq mi; median household income $152,059; median gross rent $3,361; 27% renters; 7.3% vacant units; 9.8% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 19.3 of 20; 358 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 131 m; land-use mix 0.9; 409,094 jobs within 45 min by car, 737,597 by transit; 19% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 11 schools, 33 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 21 civic, 113 food and drink; 101 cycleway segments, 346 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| National Register places within 500 m | 10: Vigilant Firehouse; Georgetown Market; Quality Hill; Forrest-Marbury HouseNPS |
| Housing permits, Washington DC (DC), 2024 | 1,506 units in 5+ unit buildings, 85 in 2–4, 146 single-family; 2023: 2,779 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.19; socioeconomic 0.10; housing and transport 0.80; 14% below 150% of poverty; 29% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 26 within 10 km, 52 within 25 km: 1000 and 1050 Thomas Jefferson Street NW (0.3 km); Valero gas station (0.6 km); Colonial Village (2.0 km); Pentagon Centre (2.4 km); Greenleaf Gardens (2.6 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place The Shops at Georgetown Park (shopping_mall, confidence 0.77, from Foursquare, Overture); building footprint 9,046 m², 32.4 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.georgetownpark.com (alive); archived 2000–2026 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 66,654 since 2015; 6,129 in the last 12 months (-16% vs the prior 12); peak 2015-07 with 1,069Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -18% (4,866 → 3,964); median income +2% ($149,375 → $152,059); renters 33% → 27%; median home value +63% ($1,000,001 → $1,626,300)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 33.7); expected annual loss $1.2M; high: heat wave; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 0 jobs in 1,969 establishments; employment location quotient 0.00; employment +0.0% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 6,101 jobs; 1,189 in retail trade, 1,325 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 11001000202)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 42th income percentile as adults; 0.1% incarcerated at the 2010 count (45 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 16.8%; median family income $250,001; 18 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | District of Columbia Public Schools (PK-12); 7 public schools within 1 mile: Duke Ellington School of the Arts; School Without Walls HS; Hyde-Addison ES; Hardy MSNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 51 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 291 county-logged events: 149 thunderstorm wind, 60 flood, 55 flash flood, 19 hail; $29,188,500 property damage reported; 3 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 20007, 2026-09 | median list price $1,121,750 (-3.8% on the year); 156 active listings; median 55 days on market; 16% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 1,653 establishments (-5%); 21,170 jobs (+4%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $567,289 (-1% 1 yr, -10% 5 yr); typical rent $2,484/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2021 | 468 (2000 = 100); -1.6% 1 yr, -2% 5 yr, +20% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 44,749 vehicles a day on INTERSTATE 66 BN (freeway or expressway, 6 lanes); 660 trucks; 40 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
The Shops at Georgetown Park opened as a mall in the Georgetown historic district of Washington, D.C. It underwent an $80 million renovation between 2012 and 2015. Its current status is listed as unknown in the record.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site's status is unknown and no controlling entity is specified in the record.
For a planner
- Located in a historic district, suggesting preservation guidelines apply
- Mixed‑use and condominium components indicate existing zoning for residential‑retail blend
- Open questions include future use, ownership, and any pending entitlements or incentives
For a developer
- Site size and parcel boundaries are not provided
- No information on current ownership or control
- Entitlement stage and any approved plans are unknown
- Context layers such as flood risk, transit access, or environmental constraints are absent from the record
What we do not know yet
- Exact opening date and original anchor tenants are missing
- Current ownership, management, or controlling party is not stated
- Present status (vacant, partially occupied, redeveloped) is unknown
- Site acreage, building footprint, and unit counts are not provided
- Entitlement status, any pending permits, or approved master plan are absent
- Environmental, flood, or transit constraints are not documented
- Market signals such as local rent trends, vacancy rates, or demographic data are not included
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- The Shops at Georgetown Park commons.wikimedia.org
- The Shops at Georgetown Park flickr.com
- The Shops at Georgetown Park Main Street Georgetown Washington DC … alamy.com
- The Shops at Georgetown Park - a photo on Flickriver flickriver.com
- 2024The Shops at Georgetown Park购物攻略,华盛顿The Shops at Georg… touch.travel.qunar.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- median rent $1,900
- housing in the record
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| County | District of Columbia |
|---|---|
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Georgetown Park is a mixed-use development and condominium complex in the Georgetown historic district of Washington, D.C.. The Shops at Georgetown Park was located at 3222 M Street, NW. In 2012 through 2015, the shopping center received an $80 million renovation.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Sources
- Wikipedia: The Shops at Georgetown Park · 2026-06-25 · CC BY-SA 4.0
More in District of Columbia
Waterfront MallWashington, DC · 2007Redeveloped · Regreened · Redevelopment: mixed use, restored street Partial regreening: green…1000 and 1050 Thomas Jefferson Street NWWashington, DCRedevelopment, proposed1313 L St.Washington, DCReinhabitation, under construction · newly finished apartments
Center Market, Washington, D.C.Washington, DC · 1931DemolishedFort Dupont AdditionsWashington, DCRedevelopment, proposed · completely torn down and rebuiltGreenleaf AdditionsWashington, DCRedevelopment, proposed · completely torn down and rebuilt