Malls · Texas
Greenspoint Mall
Greenspoint Mall opened 1976, lost anchors, faced competition, closed 2024; redevelopment plans shelved, status unknown awaiting clear ownership and future. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile25 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Dillard's
This site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with thisLord & Taylor
This site: Lord & Taylor wikipedia · all sites with thisLord & Taylor/Mervyn's
This site: Lord & Taylor/Mervyn's wikipedia · all sites with thisMacy's
This site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with thisMontgomery Ward
This site: Montgomery Ward wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisWebsite alive
This site: …https://www.bathworks.us overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 266,095 on 45 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 8,623 units, Harris County census-bps · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 3 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh hurricane risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.86 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: 45 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisLower-income tract (< $50k)
This site: $33,025 census-acs · all sites with thisOpportunity Zone
This site: 48201240100 hud-oz · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 90% census-acs · all sites with this1M+ sq ft GLA
This site: 1,700,000 sq ft esri-closed-us-malls-2014 · all sites with thisBuilding footprint 50,000+ m²
This site: 111,208 m² overture · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: extraction · all sites with thisHousing
This site: There are plans for apartments and retail stores to take its place; however, these plans w extraction · all sites with thisLogistics and industrial
This site: …new_use field extraction · all sites with thisRetail (continued)
This site: There are plans for apartments and retail stores to take its place; however, these plans were shelved extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed documentedThe mall site will be redeveloped into an industrial park, set to open in 2028. |
| New uses | industrialextracted, unreviewed reported |
Planning
| Planning notes | There are plans for apartments and retail stores to take its place; however, these plans were shelved.extracted, unreviewed reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Greenspoint Mall” and “Houston” (16 hits, first 16 sampled, 8 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2005-06-01 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2012 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | J.P. Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2012-C8 | 4 | 2012-10-12 to 2012-10-18 | 8-K 4 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | BEAR STEARNS COMMERCIAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES INC | 1 | 2005-06-01 to 2005-06-01 | 8-K 1 |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 8: CITY NORTH RETAIL EXTERIOR IMPROVEMENTS; KING RANCH INC; MIDCON OFFSHORE, INC.; MOBIL EXPLORATION & PRODUCING US INC; MONTGOMERY WARD LLC 2490EPA FRS |
| Census tract 48201240102 | 1,553 people, 2,093 per sq mi; median household income $33,025; median gross rent $903; 90% renters; 13.0% vacant units; 3.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 3 grocers, 1 schools, 2 parks or playgrounds, 3 health, 1 civic, 15 food and drink; 6 cycleway segments, 24 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | yes, tract 48201240100 (rural)HUD |
| Housing permits, Harris County (TX), 2024 | 8,623 units in 5+ unit buildings, 1,226 in 2–4, 20,087 single-family; 2023: 13,263 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.86; socioeconomic 0.95; housing and transport 0.64; 45% below 150% of poverty; 11% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 12 within 25 km: Cumberland Oval (9.2 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Greenspoint Mall (lingerie_store, confidence 0.97, from BrightQuery, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 111,208 m², 12.1 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.bathworks.us (alive); archived 2006–2026 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 149,407 since 2015; 15,070 in the last 12 months (-21% vs the prior 12); peak 2024-08 with 4,709Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 69.7); expected annual loss $1.7M; high: hurricane, tornado, inland flooding; community resilience very lowFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 210,476 jobs in 13,134 establishments; average annual pay $44,568; employment location quotient 0.87; employment -0.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 5,624 jobs; 173 in retail trade, 443 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 48201240102)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 37th income percentile as adults; 1.8% incarcerated at the 2010 count (423 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 0% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 26.6%; median family income $32,750; 374 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Aldine Independent School District (PK-12); 3 public schools within 1 mile: PREMIER H S - HOUSTON (GREENSPOINT); SST EXCELLENCE; TRINITY CHARTER SCHOOLS - HOUSTON CAMPUSNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 88 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 489 county-logged events: 176 thunderstorm wind, 143 hail, 92 flash flood, 33 tornado; $10,324,991,000 property damage reported; 54 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 77060, 2026-09 | median list price $230,500 (+15.3% on the year); 32 active listings; median 120 days on market; 9% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 13,613 establishments (+8%); 213,745 jobs (+11%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $276,524 (-2% 1 yr, +11% 5 yr); typical rent $1,583/mo (-0% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 266,095 vehicles a day on 45 (Interstate, 8 lanes); 20,406 trucks; 36 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Greenspoint Mall opened in 1976 as a regional shopping center anchored by multiple department stores. Over time it lost key anchors (Lord & Taylor/Mervyn's in 1989, JCPenney 1999, Montgomery Ward 2000, Sears 2010) and faced competition from the 1994 opening of Woodlands Mall. The mall closed in 2024; redevelopment plans for apartments and retail were shelved, and the site is now slated for industrial use.
Why. Anchor store losses and competition from newer malls are visible causes in the record; debt or financial distress is not stated.
Where it stands. Current status is unknown; the record does not specify who controls the site.
For a planner
- Precedent of anchor loss leading to decline
- Competition from Woodlands Mall as a market shift
- Planning notes show shelved apartments/retail redevelopment
- Open question: current ownership and control
For a developer
- Site size: 1,700,000 sq ft GLA
- Control: unknown from record
- Entitlement stage: strategy listed as redevelop, new_use industrial
- Market signals: county grew 3.4% 2018‑23, housing demand noted
- Constraints: flood, transit, environment not detailed in record
What we do not know yet
- Owner/controlling entity not specified
- Current physical condition and environmental status unknown
- Transit access and flood zone details missing
- Exact entitlements/zoning for industrial use not confirmed
- Verification status is draft, indicating possible data gaps
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Lakeside Mall, Sterling Heights, MI · Malls · similar GLA (1,550,000 sq ft); opened 1976; closed 2024
- Town & Country Mall, Houston, TX · Malls · opened 1983; same strategy: redevelop; also in TX
- Macroplaza Mall, Pasadena, TX · Malls · opened 1982; same strategy: redevelop; also in TX
- Saks Fifth Avenue Center of Fashion, Houston, TX · Malls · opened 1974; same strategy: redevelop; also in TX
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Greenspoint Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- Demolition begins at mega mall once anchored by Sears and JCPenney ... the-sun.com
- Greenspoint Mall demolition begins as developers build indu… houstonchronicle.com
- Greenspoint Mall Had Trees Indoors And 160 Stores. Now It'… bestattractions.org
- 10 Greenspoint Mall, Houston, TX 77060 | LoopNet loopnet.com
- Demolition begins at Houston's former Greenspoint Mall for $150M ... msn.com
- Greenspoint Mall alamy.com
- Greenspoint Mall site to be redeveloped into $150 million CityN… abc13.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- 1,700,000 sq ft GLA (large site)
- county grew 3.4% 2018–23
- housing in the record
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1976Esri 2014 layer |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2024extracted, unreviewed documentedOn May 23, 2024 it was announced that the mall would be closed on June 30, 2024. |
| Gross leasable area | 1,700,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer reported |
| Stores at peak | 135Esri 2014 layer reported |
| Original developer | Federated Department Storesextracted, unreviewed documentedanchored by Sears, Houston-based Palais-Royal, and Foley's, the latter of which was owned at the time by Federated Department Stores who developed the mall. |
| Anchors | Macy's, Dillard's, Vacant, Sears, Lord & Taylor, Palais Royal, Montgomery Ward, Premiere Cinemas, Lord & Taylor/Mervyn's |
| Address | I-45 & N. Beltway 8 |
| County | Harris |
| Census division | 7 · West South Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Greenspoint Mall was a shopping mall located in the Greenspoint neighborhood of Houston, Texas, at the northeast corner of Interstate 45 and Beltway 8. The mall was historically anchored by Macy's, Palais Royal, Dillard's, Sears, Premiere Cinemas, Lord & Taylor/Mervyn's, and Montgomery Ward.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1974 Plans for mall announced under name 'Greensgate Mall'
- 1976 Opened
- 1976 Grand opening
- 1988 Planned $7 million renovation
- 1989 Lord & Taylor sold anchors to Mervyn's
- 1994 Opening of competing Woodlands Mall
- 1998 Mervyn's departs
- 1999 JCPenney closes
- 2000 Montgomery Ward closes; owners buy closed anchor spaces
- 2006 30th anniversary and renovation announced
Sources
- Wikipedia: Greenspoint Mall · supports: original developer, strategy, year closed
13 quoted sentences
On May 23, 2024 it was announced that the mall would be closed on June 30, 2024.
anchored by Sears, Houston-based Palais-Royal, and Foley's, the latter of which was owned at the time by Federated Department Stores who developed the mall.
The mall site will be redeveloped into an industrial park, set to open in 2028.
In November 1974, plans for the mall were announced, initially under the name 'Greensgate Mall'.
- Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02
More in Texas
Baybrook MallHouston, TX · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment, lifestyleCrossroads MallBalcones Heights, TX · 2011Partial Reinhabited · Partial Reinhabitation: retail, “little shops,” and healthcareDeauville MallKingwood, TX · 1991Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: healthcareHeartland MallEarly, TX · 2010Partial Reinhabited · Partial reinhabitation: education
Highland MallAustin, TX · 2012Partial Redeveloped · Regreened · Reinhabited · Reinhabitation, education Partial redevelopment, office and…