Malls · Minnesota
Brookdale Center
Brookdale Center opened 1962, declined, closed 2010, demolished except Sears, redeveloped as Shingle Creek Crossing housing plans in Brooklyn Center · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.
Site profile18 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
JCPenney
This site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with thisSears
This site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with thisOn Facebook
This site: …https://www.facebook.com/160852840601455 overture · all sites with thisWebsite dead or redirecting
This site: …http://www.brookdaleshoppingcenter.com overture / http check · all sites with this100k+ jobs within 45 min by transit
This site: 160,795 epa-walkability · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 5/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 10 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 66,192 on 100 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisBike network nearby
This site: 46 ways openstreetmap · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -12% census-cbp · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 1 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisHigh heat wave risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh inland flooding risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisHigh social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)
This site: 0.84 cdc-svi · all sites with thisHigh tornado risk
This site: Relatively High fema-nri · all sites with thisInterstate or freeway within 600 m
This site: 100 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 15.3 epa-walkability · all sites with thisRedeveloped
This site: extraction · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Retrofit builtextracted, unreviewed documentedExcept for the Sears store, the mall was demolished in 2011 before being redeveloped into the Shingle Creek Crossing development. |
|---|---|
| Strategy | Redevelopedextracted, unreviewed documentedExcept for the Sears store, the mall was demolished in 2011 before being redeveloped into the Shingle Creek Crossing development. |
Site context
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
|---|---|
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 28: ASPEN DENTAL - BROOKLYN CENTER; BIG O TIRES #4837; BLACKS PHOTOGRAPHY 808; BROOKDALE CORNER LLC; FIRESTONE TIRE & RUBBER - BROOKLYN CENTEREPA FRS |
| Census tract 27053020400 | 5,050 people, 3,409 per sq mi; median household income $60,625; median gross rent $1,144; 41% renters; 4.5% vacant units; 3.2% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 15.3 of 20; 61 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 304 m; land-use mix 0.86; 224,729 jobs within 45 min by car, 160,795 by transit; 9% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 5 of 6 daily needs: 1 grocers, 2 schools, 7 parks or playgrounds, 1 health, 0 civic, 12 food and drink; 46 cycleway segments, 57 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Hennepin County (MN), 2024 | 1,739 units in 5+ unit buildings, 126 in 2–4, 2,054 single-family; 2023: 3,772 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.84; socioeconomic 0.86; housing and transport 0.71; 32% below 150% of poverty; 5% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 10 within 10 km, 25 within 25 km: Four Seasons Mall (7.2 km); Apache Plaza (7.8 km); Northtown Mall (9.0 km); Block E (9.3 km); Minneapolis City Center (9.4 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | place Brookdale Center (shopping_mall, confidence 0.57, from Overture, meta); building footprint 18,422 m², 7.754482269287109 mOverture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | www.brookdaleshoppingcenter.com (down or redirecting, status 0); archived 2001–2023 (Wayback) · social: facebookOverture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 33,251 since 2015; 2,638 in the last 12 months (-15% vs the prior 12); peak 2021-04 with 1,994Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population +18% (4,276 → 5,050); median income +52% ($39,819 → $60,625); renters 42% → 41%; median home value +83% ($150,300 → $275,100)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively moderate overall (score 70.6); expected annual loss $2.5M; high: tornado, inland flooding, heat wave, cold wave; community resilience very highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | noneHUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 65,774 jobs in 3,548 establishments; average annual pay $47,428; employment location quotient 0.72; employment -2.5% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 2,763 jobs; 284 in retail trade, 405 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 27053020400)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 43th income percentile as adults; 0.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (434 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; 1% of residents more than 1 mile from a supermarket; poverty rate 21.2%; median family income $65,000; 333 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Robbinsdale Public School District (PK-12); 11 public schools within 1 mile: School #538; New Millennium Academy Charter; KIPP North Star Academy; KIPP North Star PrimaryNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 850 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 308 county-logged events: 139 thunderstorm wind, 122 hail, 25 heavy rain, 16 flash flood; $18,687,200 property damage reported; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 55430, 2026-09 | median list price $270,000 (-11.5% on the year); 65 active listings; median 36 days on market; 38% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 3,714 establishments (-12%); 74,922 jobs (+1%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $386,707 (+1% 1 yr, +8% 5 yr); typical rent $1,784/mo (+4% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 370 (2000 = 100); +7.9% 1 yr, +37% 5 yr, +96% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 66,192 vehicles a day on 100 (freeway or expressway, 4 lanes); 4,857 trucks; 23 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Brookdale Center opened in 1962 with Sears and JCPenney, added Dayton's as a third anchor in 1966 and Donaldson's as a fourth anchor in 1967. After a long decline, the mall closed in 2010; except for the Sears store, it was demolished in 2011 and redeveloped into the Shingle Creek Crossing development.
Why. The record cites a long decline as the reason for the 2010 closure; specific causes such as anchor loss, competition, or debt are not stated.
Where it stands. The site is built and redeveloped as Shingle Creek Crossing, currently under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans (per the record).
For a planner
- Part of the "The Dales" series alongside Southdale, Rosedale, and Ridgedale malls.
- Record shows a redevelopment strategy with housing plans indicated.
- Open questions include exact zoning, entitlement status, and affordable housing provisions.
For a developer
- Site size and current ownership are not provided in the record.
- Entitlement stage and any approved plans are unspecified.
- No context-layer data (flood, transit, environment) or tract-level market signals are included.
What we do not know yet
- Exact acreage or parcel boundaries are missing.
- Current owner/developer name is not stated.
- Zoning, entitlement details, and timeline of redevelopment are unknown.
- Floodplain, transit access, and environmental constraints are not provided.
- Market indicators such as vacancy rates or rent trends beyond the median rent figure are absent.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- University Mall, Little Rock, AR · Malls · opened 1967; closed 2007; same strategy: redevelop
- Bay Center Mall, Wayzata, MN · Malls · same strategy: redevelop; also in MN; 18 km away
- Oakdale Mall, Oakdale, MN · Malls · same strategy: redevelop; also in MN; 30 km away
- Cottonwood Mall site, Holladay, UT · Malls · opened 1962; closed 2008; same strategy: redevelop
Elsewhere on the web
Retail history: Brookdale Mall on DeadMalls.com photos, field notes and visitor memories since 2000; matched by name and city; nothing copied here
Pages with photos
- 2 Men Save Images Of Brookdale Center's Animal Signs minnesota.cbslocal.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- retrofit already built
- already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
- median rent $1,439
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1962extracted, unreviewed |
|---|---|
| Closed | 2010extracted, unreviewed |
| Original developer | Dayton-Hudson Corporationextracted, unreviewed documentedBrookdale Center was part of 'The Dales', what was referred to as the four 'Dale' centers circling the Twin Cities, originally developed by Dayton-Hudson Corporation. |
| Anchors | JCPenney, Sears, Dayton's, Donaldson's |
| County | Hennepin County |
| Census division | 4 · West North Central |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Shingle Creek Crossing, formerly Brookdale Center, is a regional shopping mall in Brooklyn Center, Minnesota. It became the third enclosed shopping mall in the Twin Cities, after Southdale Center and Apache Plaza. The mall opened in phases beginning with Phase One in March 1962 which included anchor stores Sears and JCPenney. Phase Two opened in 1966, adding Dayton's as the third anchor. Donaldson's became the fourth anchor in September 1967. Brookdale Center was part of "The Dales", what was referred to as the four "Dale" centers circling the Twin Cities, originally developed by Dayton-Hudson Corporation. The others are Southdale Center in Edina, Rosedale Center in Roseville and Ridgedale Center in Minnetonka. After a long decline, the mall closed in 2010. Except for the Sears store, the mall was demolished in 2011 before being redeveloped into the Shingle Creek Crossing development.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1962 Opened Phase One with Sears and JCPenney
- 1966 Phase Two added Dayton's as third anchor
- 1967 Donaldson's became fourth anchor
- 2010 Mall closed
- 2011 Mall demolished except Sears store, redeveloped
Sources
- Wikipedia: Brookdale Center · supports: original developer, status, strategy, year closed, year opened
10 quoted sentences
The mall opened in phases beginning with Phase One in March 1962 which included anchor stores Sears and JCPenney.
After a long decline, the mall closed in 2010.
Brookdale Center was part of 'The Dales', what was referred to as the four 'Dale' centers circling the Twin Cities, originally developed by Dayton-Hudson Corporation.
Except for the Sears store, the mall was demolished in 2011 before being redeveloped into the Shingle Creek Crossing development.
More in Minnesota
Mankato Place MallMankato, MN · 2012Reinhabited · Reinhabitation, government office
Maplewood MallMaplewood, MNPartial RegreenedOakdale MallOakdale, MN · 2012Redeveloped · Regreened · Redevelopment: retail, senior residential Partial regreening:…602-634 S. Front St. and 112 W. Liberty St.Mankato, MNRedevelopment, proposed · a six-story building, which would house 150 apartments, a…