Retrofit Atlas

Malls · Texas

Six Flags Mall

Imported, unreviewedRedevelopedRetrofit builtArlington, TX

Opened 1970. Closed 2016. Redeveloped in 2017.

Status nowRetrofit builtextracted, unreviewed
What it becameindustrialextracted, unreviewed
Site size22.5 acresextracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2017extracted, unreviewed
Rail within 800 mNoOpenStreetMap, HUD
Ask who owns this Download dossier (PDF) · early access Download record (JSON) API Share LinkedIn Correct this record

Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Six Flags Mall
Six Flags Mall. Photo: Valley View Fan, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Site profile19 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence

Former anchors
Dillard'sThis site: Dillard's wikipedia · all sites with this
Foley'sThis site: Foley's wikipedia · all sites with this
JCPenneyThis site: JCPenney wikipedia · all sites with this
Macy'sThis site: Macy's wikipedia · all sites with this
SearsThis site: Sears wikipedia · all sites with this
Finance and pipeline
Foreclosure or REOThis site: …scope: property research-deals · all sites with this
Website dead or redirectingThis site: overture / http check · all sites with this
Place
200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 kmThis site: 206 units in 1 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this
30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent roadThis site: 192,182 on a counted road fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
County permitting 2,000+ apartment units a yearThis site: 8,336 units, Tarrant County census-bps · all sites with this
Grocery within 800 mThis site: 2 stores openstreetmap · all sites with this
High social vulnerability tract (SVI ≥ 0.75)This site: 0.89 cdc-svi · all sites with this
High tornado riskThis site: Very High fema-nri · all sites with this
Interstate or freeway within 600 mThis site: fhwa-hpms · all sites with this
Lower-income tract (< $50k)This site: $36,700 census-acs · all sites with this
Renter-majority tractThis site: 79% census-acs · all sites with this
Scale
1M+ sq ft GLAThis site: 1,049,000 sq ft esri-closed-us-malls-2014 · all sites with this
Strategy
RedevelopedThis site: The site was rebuilt as industrial space to accommodate suppliers to the GM auto assembly plant. extraction · all sites with this
New use
Logistics and industrialThis site: The site was rebuilt as industrial space to accommodate suppliers to the GM auto assembly plan extraction · all sites with this

All elements and lists · Trends

Now

StatusRetrofit builtextracted, unreviewed
StrategyRedevelopedextracted, unreviewed
New usesindustrialextracted, unreviewed
What is there nowThe site was rebuilt as industrial space to accommodate suppliers to the GM auto assembly plant.extracted, unreviewed
Retrofit year2017extracted, unreviewed

Planning

Zoning changeapproved plans to overhaul the 22.5 acre propertyextracted, unreviewed
Entitlement year2013extracted, unreviewed

Deals and debt

DateEventPricePartiesSource
2012Sold—G.L. 'Buck' HarrisWikipedia
2008Foreclosure—Wikipedia

Securitised debt and public filers

Filings (2001 to date) that name “Six Flags Mall” and “Arlington” (2 hits, first 2 sampled, 1 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.

KindFilerFilingsDatesForms
Public owner (weak)GENERAL GROWTH PROPERTIES INC12003-03-14 to 2003-03-1410-K 1

Site context

Transit within 800 mno rail stationOpenStreetMap
Motorway junctions within 2 kmjunctionOpenStreetMap
FEMA flood zoneno NFHL polygon at point (unmapped or outside coverage)FEMA NFHL
EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m5: ARLINGTON LOGISTICS PLANT; ARLINGTON LOGISTICS PORTABLE PLANT; ARLINGTON YARD; NORTHPOINT ARLINGTON INDUSTRIAL; OKLAHOMA INSTALLATION COEPA FRS
Census tract 484391130052,125 people, 748 per sq mi; median household income $36,700; median gross rent $1,115; 79% renters; 1.5% vacant units; 0.7% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year
Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m)1 of 6 daily needs: 2 grocers, 0 schools, 0 parks or playgrounds, 0 health, 0 civic, 0 food and drink; 0 cycleway segments, 11 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap
Opportunity ZonenoHUD
Housing permits, Tarrant County (TX), 20248,336 units in 5+ unit buildings, 1,142 in 2–4, 9,380 single-family; 2023: 4,195 in 5+Census BPS
Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract)overall percentile 0.89; socioeconomic 0.78; housing and transport 1.00; 21% below 150% of poverty; 12% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR
Other atlas sites nearby2 within 10 km, 6 within 25 km: Forum 303 Mall (3.4 km); Lincoln Square (4.7 km)computed
Overture Mapsplace Six Flags Mall (shopping_mall, confidence 0.92, from Microsoft, Overture, Overture-signals)Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0)
Website and social (down or redirecting, status None)Overture / Internet Archive
Attention: Wikipedia page views56,475 since 2015; 7,032 in the last 12 months (+5% vs the prior 12); peak 2024-01 with 1,290Wikimedia
Tract change 2013–2023tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS
Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract)relatively moderate overall (score 76.3); expected annual loss $1.9M; high: tornado, hail; community resilience relatively lowFEMA NRI
Tax-credit housing within 1 km1 LIHTC properties, 206 units: Providence At Prairie Oaks (206 units)HUD LIHTC
Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 20236,370 establishments (+12%); 108,314 jobs (+19%)Census CBP
Housing market in the countytypical home value $318,481 (-1% 1 yr, +12% 5 yr); typical rent $1,605/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research
Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024)192,182 vehicles a day (freeway or expressway, 6 lanes); 9,647 trucks; 35 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS
Site metrics46,622 sq ft GLA per acre; FAR 1.07computed

Summary, model-written

Opened in 1970 as Arlington's first enclosed mall, Six Flags Mall peaked with 90 stores before losing anchors (JCPenney 1997, Dillard's/Sears 2002, Foley's 2005). After a 2008 foreclosure and 2012 purchase by G.L. 'Buck' Harris, it was rebranded Plaza Central in 2014, closed again in 2016, demolished, and rebuilt in 2017 as industrial space for GM suppliers.

Why. Anchor losses beginning in 1997 reduced foot traffic and revenue, leading to a 2008 foreclosure that signaled financial distress. Redevelopment efforts faced legal challenges (a Cinemark lawsuit during demolition) and the site was ultimately converted to industrial use to serve the nearby GM assembly plant.

Where it stands. The site is now built industrial space (as of 2017); the record does not specify a current owner after G.L. 'Buck' Harris's tenure ended in 2016.

For a planner

  • Precedent: conversion of a dead mall to industrial use following zoning approval in 2013.
  • Policy tools used: zoning change approved to overhaul the 22.5‑acre property and entitlement granted in 2013.
  • Open questions: long‑term demand for industrial space, compatibility with surrounding land uses, and any needed infrastructure upgrades.

For a developer

  • Site size: 22.5 acres with 1,049,000 sf GLA (FAR 1.07, GLA per acre 46,622).
  • Control: last known owner G.L. 'Buck' Harris (2012‑2016); current owner not stated in the record.
  • Entitlement stage: zoning approved 2013, retrofit completed 2017 (built status).
  • Constraints: context layer shows no flood, transit, or environmental data; yield metrics indicate moderate density.
  • Market signals: opp_score 0.0 (retrofit already built, 22.5 acres, county grew 5.7% 2018‑23, median rent $1,447).

What we do not know yet

  • Current owner/operator after 2016 is unknown.
  • Environmental constraints (floodplain, contamination) are not provided in the record.
  • Detailed market demand for the industrial space is lacking; opp_score suggests limited opportunity.
  • Fields such as value_per_acre and parcel_value_total are null, indicating missing financial data.
  • Verified status is 'draft', so some facts may be model‑extracted and unreviewed.

Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.

Similar sites

Elsewhere on the web

Pages with photos

Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar

Multifamily screen

  • retrofit already built
  • 22.5 acres
  • county grew 5.7% 2018–23
  • median rent $1,447

Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.

History and original facts

Opened1970Wikidata
Closed2016extracted, unreviewed
Acres22.5extracted, unreviewed
Gross leasable area1,049,000 sq ftEsri 2014 layer
Stores at peak90Esri 2014 layer
AnchorsMacy's, Dillard's, JCPenney, Sears, Foley's
AddressHwys. 360 & 180 (Division St.)
CountyTarrant
Census division7 · West South Central
NotesWikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States

Not yet recorded: original developer. Know it? Tell us.

Background

Six Flags Mall was a shopping mall that opened in August 1970 in Arlington, Texas. Arlington's first enclosed shopping center, it was named after the nearby Six Flags Over Texas theme park. When it opened, it was the largest shopping center in Tarrant County and the area's first regional shopping facility. A new owner acquired roughly one-third of the mall in December 2012 and announced plans to redevelop it as a Hispanic-oriented shopping mall called "Plaza Central" and, after resolving legal issues, reopened in October 2014, but closed again in February 2016. Demolition began in summer of 2016, but was slowed by a lawsuit filed by Cinemark. Two separate two-alarm fires occurred on February 6 and March 2 during demolition. The site was rebuilt as industrial space to accommodate suppliers to the GM auto assembly plant.

Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.

Timeline

  1. 1970 Opened (Wikidata)
  2. 1970 Opened
  3. 1997 JCPenney anchor closed
  4. 2002 Dillard's and Sears closed
  5. 2005 Foley's closed; Dillard's reopened as clearance center
  6. 2008 Foreclosure
  7. 2011 Auction listing
  8. 2012 Purchase by G.L. 'Buck' Harris
  9. 2013 Zoning approval
  10. 2014 Reopened as Plaza Central
  11. 2016 Demolition began

Sources

  • Wikipedia: Six Flags Mall · supports: acres, after notes, status, strategy, year closed, zoning change
    16 quoted sentences
    reopened as Plaza Central in October 2014, but closed again in February 2016.
    the Arlington Planning and Zoning Commission approved plans to overhaul the 22.5 acre property
    The site was rebuilt as industrial space to accommodate suppliers to the GM auto assembly plant.
    The site was rebuilt as industrial space to accommodate suppliers to the GM auto assembly plant.
  • Esri StoryMaps: Closed_US_Malls feature layer (2014) · 2014-10-02

More in Texas